We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea...nice enough but not amazing”
Review of Sketch Gallery

Sketch Gallery
Reserve a table
Ranked #2,803 of 24,338 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: sketch Gallery, a vibrant gastro-brasserie, is sketch's artist-conceived restaurant. Celebrated British artist, David Shrigley, has transformed the Gallery at sketch as part of a long-term programme of artist-conceived restaurants. 91 works line the restaurant's walls, forming the largest collection of original drawings Shrigley has ever exhibited. The Gallery is open seven days a week for afternoon tea and dinner. In June 2020, Sketch pioneered the installation of ionising air units to the restaurant's airflow system. The system can dramatically reduce viruses suspended in the air by 95%. I remain confident that we are doing everything possible to ensure Sketch is a safe environment for our customers and employees.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Came here yesterday for afternoon tea - the sandwiches to start were nice, especially the coronation chicken and the salmon. Scones were kept nice and warm and some of the cakes were really tasty. The environment is busy but not in a noisy way.

The food is unlimited, however, we found we had to keep flagging our waitress down, she wasn't very attentive and didn't come to check on us during our 2 hours there.

The Wimbledon theme was quite subtle, just one cake with a tennis ball icing on top, and tennis balls in the toilets. Considering it was an extra £23 for the themed afternoon tea, it wasn't justified.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,449 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We went to Sketch for afternoon tea. A bit overpriced - I think they put the cost up by 20 pounds because of the Wimbledon tennis. A great experience to eat here because of the amazing interiors. Our meal was also accompanied by lovely live violin music. However, the sandwiches and cakes were pretty standard. Scones were nice - and the tea selection was good. Awesome toilets!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank P8544MHaliceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Food was really nice and service was great! Love the interior design of the place - love the waiter and waitresses uniform so cute!

Food was nice - starter portions are a little small but they're very filling. Wasn't majorly impressed with my veal but I liked my friend Cod.

The service was brilliant though and that matters a lot to me!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LondonGirl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The reason you go to Sketch is for the gallery and the toilets. For that reason, it is worth a visit. But don't expect the best quality food. It was perfectly edible but the prices are too high for what it is, and there are much better restaurants out there for a more reasonable price. Service was pretty slow too, and staff were fairly inattentive (though maybe this was part of the gimmick?). In short, an interesting place to go but not if you're a foodie

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank farmersto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this recently on the weekend, with a few friends the food was lovely. Complimentary top ups of food and tea and deserts. Cannot fault the service and the on ambience was beautiful!

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank 613jessicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sketch Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Sketch Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.