We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One is still way too high” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
National Hotel
Ranked #929 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One is still way too high”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The staff is great, the hotel is horrible, no wifi in the rooms you have to come down to the lobby, no a/c in the rooms, the tv HA even worse, they did a fire drill today and never told anyone above the first floor, I asked for the manager he/ she or whoever is in charge out the hotel. I will never use priceline again for a hotel. I would leave here except I have paid in advance. I'm roughing it, it's bad, it's really bad.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kirbykirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    36
    33
    40
See reviews for
27
38
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights for a recent convention at Ally Pally.
It was close, I didn't have my stuff stolen from the room, so my experience wasn't terrible.
(You have t leave your hotel key at the desk when you leave, which made me quite uncomfortable)

However, the shower and sink were right next to my bed in my tiny room, the wardrobe door was barely fixed on and the pillowcases/sheets weren't changed (and neither were my tea cups once used) over the weekend (although my bed was made with some of my belongings UNDERNEATH the sheet) The whole place stank of stale cigarettes and just mustyness. Oh, and my door handle was broken and the shower was full of mould.
(my friend also had blatent holes in his wall).

One positive, my friend asked to be put near me in his booking and we got rooms next to each other which was good,

Breakfast was okay, but our table was dirty. The service was very rude (at one point the chef said something in Polish to the waitress about me and they both laughed) but I mean, it did the job.

They offer free WiFi which doesnt work AT ALL, and all the "codes" they give you don't work. Also the "hairdryer" mentioned must be borrowed and returned to the front desk, it's not in your room...


I'm not going to lie, in the last night I was so tired, I caved and peed in the sink.

I'm not the first person to do this, and I'm sure I won't be the last.

I wouldn't stay here again. I've paid a lot less for a lot nicer hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very basic, fine for a cheap overnight accommodation, if you get a bargain less than 60 per night for 2 it's ok but would not rush back! Breakfast held in a room like a student hall, basic chairs tables etc. this is definitely no frills hotel. There are better hotels around if you book early.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor high up away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here at the end of last year for a night in between digs.

Clean, safe with a maze-like layout, this was perfectly adequate for one night.

But I asked to be away from the main road and the staff member who checked me in had an English problem and put me on the very noisy Queens Avenue...by the time I heard the traffic I was too tired to complain. Thankfully I'd brought ear plugs.

And the location...my God, the location. I love most of north London and Muswell Hill is a glorious place with many great eateries and amenities. Can't understand why anyone would want to eat here, in all honesty. Doesn't take long to get to Muswell Hill either, just take the 43 bus from London Bridge or Angel, or get the northern line to Highgate and get a bus from there which takes about ten minutes at the most.

No, it isn't a palace - it's a 2* hotel and I think many moany reviewers are asking for too much. It doesn't matter if you pay £40 a night (as I did), or £140 - a 2* hotel is a 2* hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalcitizen_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The facilities are very basic and quite frankly below par on a number of levels (kettle that you had to hold the lid down to make it boil, trickling shower, sewerage coming up from the depths, a hot rap where the whole tap twists). Beds were highly uncomfortable and you are limited to one pillow per person! Full English breakfast consisted of a rasher of bacon, a sausage, an egg and beans. Cereal was bran flakes or cornflakes. Service from staff was hit and miss - one very helpful person to most who were not interested in helping. No lift so had to drag bags up the stairs. Parking was hair-raising due to low, narrow tunnel. On the plus side the location was brilliant. A minute's walk to the bus stop (134 takes you to Highgate underground) and lots of places to eat nearby. So, if you want a basic, cheap dive with parking and access to central London then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockett007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked this location as it is on a bus route to where our daughter lives. She doesn't really have room to put us up, so we decided to book somewhere to stay overnight for two nights. It's only two star so we were not expecting five star facilities.

The biggest problem we had was car parking. There are four parking spaces at the front of the hotel reserved for 'large vehicles'. There is a decent sized car park at the rear of the hotel which is reached by driving through a 'tunnel' which has been created by removing a central section of the ground floor of the hotel, from front to rear. We were concerned that we would not be able to get our large car safely through this narrow tunnel, so arrangements were made for us to have a place reserved at the front of the hotel which we took when we arrived. However, on returning later in the evening, we were asked to manoeuvre our car through said tunnel to the rear car park, to accommodate two large vans who were parked in the front. This was, to say the least, a bit of a fiasco, resulting in a scratched wing mirror and considerable stress! Suffice to say the next night we parked at the front of the hotel as arranged.

The room and breakfast were adequate for the price we paid. The shower cubicle was tiny and there was a serious danger of scalding because there was no hot water safety control, or warning signs that the water is extremely hot.

As other reviews have said, this hotel is ok if you just want a basic place to rest your head for a night or two and a bit of breakfast. If you want to park a car, make sure it's no more than average width! There is free roadside parking but there were no spaces!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#414 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#653 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
6.9 mi away
CityStay Hotel
CityStay Hotel
#942 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#499 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Archway
Premier Inn London Archway
#83 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
7.6 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#859 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Property: National Hotel
Address: 17-19 Queens Avenue | Muswell Hill, London N10 3PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #929 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — National Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing