We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MStay Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #102 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The room was compact but clean and modern with everything you need for an overnight stay ie hairdryer complimentry toiletries, kettle tea coffee and small fridge. We had the room next to reception which proved to be rather noisy, the breakfast was adequate continental style again nice clean modern dining room. The staff were polite but not very friendly, which was fine for a one night stay but might have been a bit off putting if staying longer. Location was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bindy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed for one night because I was at a conference at Olympia - a stones throw away. It was actually quite neat, nice room, cramped in the en-suite but very smart. I've stayed in plenty of HIltons that are just the same as this, especially if ou arrive at the end of the evening. All the staff were speaking in east european languages but their english was fine. Breakast was good, continental. 24 hour reception - I got in at around 2am and everything was open with a guy on reception doing the security. Good firm bed!
As for the "noise" that people mention here... well this is central London guys, what do you expect?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainjjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Only open for nine months this old Victorian house has been split into 20 modern but tiny rooms. I had 202, a so called double, but honestly by the time you add two people with luggage, especially things to hang up, this room would be impossible to move around in. No access to one side of the bed, a small corridor floor space, five hooks but impossible to hang more than three coats, no wardrobe. The coffee shelf has a safe underneath(unfixed) and a fridge, strangely for UHT milk. That doesn't leave much room for a bag.
The bed was comfortable but the lighting is harsh and poorly placed, if working. Air con is standard and cools or heats the room pretty quickly and very quietly.
The shower room is tiny. The shower door is a full door (not folding) making it impossible to open fully as it hits the sink. large people beware, though the shower is a good size, hot and plenty of water, you will struggle to fit through the part open door.
The sink is tiny, turn on the tap and it fills in less than 30 seconds, turn it on full and the water spalshes easily over the side and soaks the floor. No room for a shave or a wash really. Bend over and you have to open the door behind you to create enough room.
Access to the loo is tight to, and the towel rail and hair dryer occupy the space immediately above. Don't drop either!
The bathroom had nice tiles, but not finished (grouting missing) and dark finishes. The lighting was terrible, poor LED and twinkly tungsten lamps combining to create sick looking skin tones and not enough light to shave, or put in contacts lenses.
Overall the rooms are poorly laid out, designed for maximum profit and minimum floor space, and not particularly good value compared to other London hotels.
Finally, if you want a peaceful night, forget it. I spent two hours hearing every word of multiple phone conversations from next door, word for word. Privacy is terrible noisewise so don't go here for a private conversation or romantic night away!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maclighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed in the basement triple room and cannot fault it. I must say reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive. Yes there was building work taking place in the reception area but this did not distrupt our stay at all. We were all extremely pleased with the size, standard, cleanliness and comfort of the room. It did not feel crowded at all and there were three adults in the room and the bathroom was spotlessly clean large and big enough to allow getting ready together to go without arguing, something which has taken place in other hotels in the past as they are usually not big enough to swing a cat around in. There was everything you could need in the room. Full tea/coffee facilities, fridge, safe table and chairs, wardrobe etc. Beds extremely comfy. The breakfast room is lovely and clean and a typical continental breakfast, nicely presented, freshly cooked and plentiful. Full marks. The staff were very nice, and approachable and provided iron/board when requested no problem. We were able to leave luggage while we went out on the last day no problem. It is fantastic proximity to Olympia, only a few minutes walk away. My only critisism has nothing to do with the hotel at all, but with the tube at Olympia. We booked this hotel for it's close proximity to Olympia and the tube. However we did not realise that the tube to Olympia is run on a restricted timetable. 15-23 minute in between tubes. Not a big deal if you are not restricted by time but as we were not aware of this and were running to a schedule we ended up walking from Earls court. With cases, this seemed a very long way. Getting into the city centre at night and back again was a problem around theatre times. We got a taxi back from Earls Court for eight pounds. A taxi from the hotel to Euston train station late on the Thursday night cost twenty pounds. So if you are not in a rush just allow your self an extra 3/4 hour to comfortably get to/from centre from Olympia, by tube. So apart from the difficulty with the tube I am pleased to say we would all highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If there are three adults sharing as we were you could not go wrong with this triple room in the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy203Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I recently stayed at the Russell Court Hotel for 2 nights with my mum and sister. We had a basement triple room, which was surprisingly bright and pleasant and we initially had no complaints.

On the first morning there was a cockroach in the room...not very nice. Breakfast was basic and disappointing. Limited selection of food, stale croissants and as noted by another reviewer, UHT milk was served with the tea which seemed unnecessary.

The building is still under construction with a team of builders onsite. Work started early on both mornings of our stay. On the second stay of our trip we returned to the room during the afternoon. At that time, a maintenance man entered the room to access the back garden. It was clear that there was another access point to the garden as there were builders out there but it seemed this guy wanted to take a more scenic route through our room. I wasn't at all happy and went straight to the reception to complain. I was told not to worry but no apology came. We realised then that there was soil on the carpet inside the back door so it was likely that someone had already come through our room from the building site. I was worried about the safety of our belongings in our absence. Still no apology just a plastic smile and again "don't worry".

Russell Court is on a very nice street in Kensington and it is a lovely building. Comfortable beds and new clean bathrooms. It has a way to go in terms of customer service and the quality of the breakfast could be a lot better.

Directions are poor on the site. Kensington (Olympia) is the nearest tube station which is 5 mins away. Cross bridge over the rail line onto Russell Road and turn right if you must stay here...not recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotty4Cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Although this hotel was too new to have been reviewed, I decided to risk it on the basis that it would be at least clean and in good condition, as it was. Reception staff were generally helpful and friendly, and it is in a convenient location very near to Olympia.

But there was little else to recommend it. The room I had was described as a "small double", but while it was just about tolerable for one person, it would have been impossible for two. There was literally just enough room for a small double bed, and with two people one would have had to crawl over the other to get to the toilet. There was no wardrobe or anywhere to put clothes, just a few hooks to hang up coats; no table or anywhere to sit apart from the bed; no tea or coffee-making facilities; even the bedside shelves were too small to fit much more than a telephone on one side and a lamp on the other. The ensuite facilities were very cramped: it was impossible to open the shower door properly as the wash basin was in the way. I know single rooms are generally small, especially in London, but this was taking the p***! It was also inadequately soundproofed: although people in neighbouring rooms were not especially noisy, I could hear coughing and running water clearly.

Breakfast was very limited: one type of cereal, although there were two dispensers, only white bread, croissants and some ham and cheese. Staff seemed to lack even basic English - e.g. they didn't understand "hot water" or "brown bread". This might be understandable if it was in Prague or Warsaw, but this was the centre of London! Also is it too much to ask that in the capital of the UK staff should be trained to make tea properly? (i.e in a pot with extra hot water when needed and proper milk, not a cup of hot water with a tea bag and sachets of UHT milk in the saucer).

I have looked at reviews for other hotels owned by this company (Magic Stay), and they have similar complaints about small rooms, poor breakfast and staff unable to speak English.

The building has a lot of potential - a pleasant VIctorian villa in a good location - but it seems this potential has been wasted by skimping on costs. It wasn't even particularly cheap: I got a special deal for £59 a night, which I thought was too much for the quality of the accommodation, and the normal price, over twice this amount, would have been exorbitant.

LIked: good location, helpful reception staff.
Disliked: very small room, limited breakfast, staff unable to speak English.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank slash83_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#536 of 1,081 in London
389 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#702 of 1,081 in London
2,798 reviews
Barry House
#72 of 580 in London
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72qt Guest House
#85 of 580 in London
178 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
W12 Rooms
W12 Rooms
#52 of 580 in London
285 reviews
Saba Hotel London
#195 of 580 in London
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MStay Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MStay Russell Court Hotel

Address: 9 Russell Road, London W14 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £52 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MStay Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's opening in 2011, the MStay Russell Court Hotel has been pleasing many guests as a budget hotel and continues to do so. It is situated just off Kensington High Street, a mere mile away from Earl's Court and Kensington Olympia Exhibition Centre, and just a few minutes walk from Kensington Olympia Station. All rooms are decorated to the highest of modern standards and pride themselves on being some of the most cosy and comfortable rooms a guest could ever wish for. The MStay Russell Court Hotel staff are on hand 24/7 to make sure guests' needs are fulfilled. Looking for the ideal budget hotel in central London? Then look no further than the MStay Russell Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MStay Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing