We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MStay Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #146 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“more than adequate”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Perfect small hotel for short, working stay 2 minutes away from Olympia Exhibition Centre. Rooms are small but clean and breakfast is good. I had a small double which was ideal for one person but think it would have been cramped with 2 people. Colleagues had reserved a twin room and also found it to be more than satisfactory. I have stayed at a number of other 3 star hotels in this area before and so far this is the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    83
    37
    16
    11
See reviews for
22
60
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I booked a room for one night for one person. The hotel room was a little on the small side although there was a double bed in the room (not easily accessible for two people and very low to the ground which would not be suitable for anyone with back issues!) plus the bathroom was 'cosy' but it was generally clean and suitable as a room for sleeping in. The continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed in October for a conference at Olympia, it really is very handy location wise. A station is a 2 minute walk away for getting into the city centre etc.

After reading reviews we requested we be given a decently sized room as I suffer from claustrophobia. No complaints on room size at all. Nice big bed, comfy, too. Clean and well decorated. Breakfast decent. VERY efficient housekeeping, so efficient in fact that every day they insisted on putting our clothes back into our suitcases, including the ones that needed washing...a little odd, but hey, the room was spotless.

Now the negatives. There were only 2 pillows, both rock hard. On asking the receptionist for 2 more we were informed there were none spare as the hotel was full! The lift was a death trap and we only braved it once in spite of the five flights of stairs every time we went back to or left the room, not that it mattered as it broke down the first night and wasn't repaired until when we left 4 days later. The bathroom was TINY. The sink splashed water everywhere if you put the tap at more than a dribble. The shower was interesting to get into, one almost had to open the bathroom door itself in order to manage it. As people have said, it opens against the sink and you have to be pretty slim to get in the cubicle.
BRILLIANT air-con, BTW, cooled the room down in about a minute.
The fridge was a bit strange, given that it was actually hot inside and not, as by tradition most fridges are, cold inside.
Sleeping was difficult a lot of the time, we could hear the people in the next room having extremely noisy sex in the shower. Most mornings the builders in the house next door starting drilling into the wall at 7.30am so even when we got to sleep we never got to have a lie-in.
It's tricky giving a rating, really. Bed was good, room nice, location great, housekeeping insanely efficient (on leaving we were told we had to take the lift rather than go down the stairs as the extremely zealous Polish cleaning lady got most irritated at the idea of having to stop hoovering the top stair for a second) I'd give it a two and a half, but I can't do halves so...yes...it was definitely different!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room or you may never get out again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The room was compact but clean and modern with everything you need for an overnight stay ie hairdryer complimentry toiletries, kettle tea coffee and small fridge. We had the room next to reception which proved to be rather noisy, the breakfast was adequate continental style again nice clean modern dining room. The staff were polite but not very friendly, which was fine for a one night stay but might have been a bit off putting if staying longer. Location was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bindy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed for one night because I was at a conference at Olympia - a stones throw away. It was actually quite neat, nice room, cramped in the en-suite but very smart. I've stayed in plenty of HIltons that are just the same as this, especially if ou arrive at the end of the evening. All the staff were speaking in east european languages but their english was fine. Breakast was good, continental. 24 hour reception - I got in at around 2am and everything was open with a guy on reception doing the security. Good firm bed!
As for the "noise" that people mention here... well this is central London guys, what do you expect?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainjjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Only open for nine months this old Victorian house has been split into 20 modern but tiny rooms. I had 202, a so called double, but honestly by the time you add two people with luggage, especially things to hang up, this room would be impossible to move around in. No access to one side of the bed, a small corridor floor space, five hooks but impossible to hang more than three coats, no wardrobe. The coffee shelf has a safe underneath(unfixed) and a fridge, strangely for UHT milk. That doesn't leave much room for a bag.
The bed was comfortable but the lighting is harsh and poorly placed, if working. Air con is standard and cools or heats the room pretty quickly and very quietly.
The shower room is tiny. The shower door is a full door (not folding) making it impossible to open fully as it hits the sink. large people beware, though the shower is a good size, hot and plenty of water, you will struggle to fit through the part open door.
The sink is tiny, turn on the tap and it fills in less than 30 seconds, turn it on full and the water spalshes easily over the side and soaks the floor. No room for a shave or a wash really. Bend over and you have to open the door behind you to create enough room.
Access to the loo is tight to, and the towel rail and hair dryer occupy the space immediately above. Don't drop either!
The bathroom had nice tiles, but not finished (grouting missing) and dark finishes. The lighting was terrible, poor LED and twinkly tungsten lamps combining to create sick looking skin tones and not enough light to shave, or put in contacts lenses.
Overall the rooms are poorly laid out, designed for maximum profit and minimum floor space, and not particularly good value compared to other London hotels.
Finally, if you want a peaceful night, forget it. I spent two hours hearing every word of multiple phone conversations from next door, word for word. Privacy is terrible noisewise so don't go here for a private conversation or romantic night away!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Simply Rooms & Suites
#582 of 1,069 in London
244 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#488 of 1,069 in London
350 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#684 of 1,069 in London
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
The Kensington Studios
#134 of 554 in London
160 reviews
Crown and Sceptre
#161 of 554 in London
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MStay Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MStay Russell Court Hotel

Property: MStay Russell Court Hotel
Address: 9 Russell Road, London W14 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MStay Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's opening in 2011, the MStay Russell Court Hotel has been pleasing many guests as a budget hotel and continues to do so. It is situated just off Kensington High Street, a mere mile away from Earl's Court and Kensington Olympia Exhibition Centre, and just a few minutes walk from Kensington Olympia Station. All rooms are decorated to the highest of modern standards and pride themselves on being some of the most cosy and comfortable rooms a guest could ever wish for. The MStay Russell Court Hotel staff are on hand 24/7 to make sure guests' needs are fulfilled. Looking for the ideal budget hotel in central London? Then look no further than the MStay Russell Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your MStay Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing