We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart, Modern and Impressive Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #212 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Smart, Modern and Impressive Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Had a great stay at the Grange Tower Bridge, in a Twin Executive room on 12th floor, with breakfast, booked directly through the hotel's website.

The room was particularly spacious with two queen beds, a sofa, easy chair and high quality fixtures and fittings, including excellent lighting and mirrors. High quality bedding and plenty of pillows too. The carpeted bedroom was also nicely soundproofed and had a full length window with views across London towards Tower Bridge and beyond. Super shiny bathroom with separate shower and bath and it was nice to have a decent hairdryer in the bathroom and in the bedroom too. One minor niggle was that the air conditioning was surprisingly noisy.

Check in was efficient and friendly and every member of staff from the very helpful concierge, to the housekeeping and restaurant staff, gave us a smile and a warm greeting at all times.

Buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese and smoked salmon and the service was particularly courteous.

There are some completion works at the hotel and there was an occasional delay at busy times with only two lifts operating, but this was not a major problem and the hotel's current "soft rates" make up for any small inconvenience, thereby offering good value for money. There is free parking available on the surrounding streets from Friday evening until early Monday morning.

Room Tip: Twin Exec room on 12th floor was very spacious and had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menorcafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    1,128
    332
    124
    70
See reviews for
480
1,484
100
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was a rela comfortable hotel and they have thought about everything when it comes to tv/audi communications. Was great to plug my android hdmi phone into the TV and listen to my music and videos. Lovely bathroom though small, showers is especially nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidwukLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Booked as part of a theatre break. Good sized room, twin room for myself and my daughter consited of two double beds. Within easy walking distance of Tower Hill tube station and a direct line to the theatre in Victoria. I was a little concerned about catching the tube back at 10.30 pm but we had no problems.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadlerkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The service was very good and the staff was friendly. We requested a room higher up in the building. Since we arrived in the morning, the room was not ready.
When coming back after doing some shopping in in London they did not have a room for us as we requested, but as compensation, we got a Executive room (with large windows) on the 2nd floor instead (#209). It was very nice, fresh and clean. The bathroom was excellent with both a shower and bathtub. One strange thing was that the water in the pipes from the room above could be heard in our room. It sounded like it was raining outside.
The location of the hotel was good, a 3 minute walk to the Tower Hill tube station.
Best: Room!
Least: Elevators. Only two working and extremely poorly programmed. We had to wait for 5 minutes (average time) each time...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

nice hotel , check in wasnt until 2.00 but we went to drop bags off and our room was ready so we checked in at 10.00 , room was very nice with a nice view , staff were very polite , hotel is still not finished but it will be very nice when it is , in the morning we went over the road to a little bar next to the church and go down some steps its called the crypt , breakfast with tea and toast £6.00 well worth the money you get loads and service was very nice , we went there as hotel breakfast was a bit expensive , in my opinion . we would go back again bar prices in hotel was very reasonable

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here on Monday night this week to go to a concert in the city. We always try to book the Apex, but being midweek was so expensive. I found this hotel on lastminute and thought give it a go.
We walked from the tube station which took no longer than 5 mins and were checked in straight away, no queues like others have suggested.
We had a twin room on the 9th floor, and again, no wait for the lift as others have suggested!
Our room was great!
You could see Tower Bridge and the Gherkin from our room.
We had two double beds and double toiletries in the bathroom.
Also tea and coffee facilities.
I agree that it is not in the best part of london. The Apex is also tower hill, but you turn left and not right and the walk did not feel quite so safe, but we had no problems. If this was not the case I would have given it an overall of 5.
I would stay here again and we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We are two couples from Manchester who take a long weekend in London at least 2 or 3 times a year. We stay usually in hotels near the Tower and this is well placed. However views of Tower Bridge are limited to those rooms on the end of the hotel and only visible if you strain your neck to look left!

It was very apparent that the hotel is not ready and as a previous poster said, only two lifts were working for the whole hotel. This involved long waits for the lift at breakfast time and on the morning of check out. Other posters who have said that you wouldn't notice the construction are being disingenuous; there is a strip of unfinished concrete across the front step on Prescot Street, both ends of the building are still cordoned off in places and coils of unconnected wiring stick out from the walls as you enter.

The rooms are good, clean and nicely equipped. The phone does work properly, but it was faintly irking that you couldn't set a wake up call through it and had to use reception. The mini bar wouldn't open and didn't open until the last day after asking reception 3 times. The staff appear to be undertrained before they opened the doors.

Breakfast is ridiculously priced at £24 for English and £18 for continental. The Crypt across the road charges £6 per head and Wetherspoons 50 yards away less than that. Maybe when this place gets its act together, we'd use it again, but not at the moment--not good value.

The moral? Don't open to the public before you can provide what people are paying for and even in London, (renowned for rip off prices) £24 is pushing it a lot for breakfast. £96 for 4 of us as opposed to £19 in Wetherspoons?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lifeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#346 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#320 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,034 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#259 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,200 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#389 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing