We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pull out bed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pull out bed!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute as I had to go over to London for an exam and I have stayed here previously and it has been relatively ok.

As usual, the check-in staff were a little cold although concierge was helpful as always.

However, upon going up to my room, I discovered that I had been given a pull out bed. Seriously. A 4* hotel in central London with a pull out bed!? I called down to reception and was advised that there was another room available but it was a twin. I asked to be moved and was. This room had real beds in it thank goodness.

The showers in this hotel are amazing but that is pretty much the only good thing.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a pull out bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    1,142
    334
    125
    71
See reviews for
485
1,506
101
720
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We originally found this hotel on lastminute.com, but actually we ended up getting it cheaper on the hotel's website! And a continental breakfast was also included, so worth having a scout around to check you really are getting the best price. We live in London anyway but thought we'd treat ourselves to a one night stay in a nice hotel, and we were not disappointed. Everything was excellent from the moment we walked in.

The service was fantastic, staff were always friendly and helpful. The spa was brilliant too, we were there on a Saturday afternoon and so hardly had the place to ourselves, but it was a good size and definitely didn't feel crowded in any way. The gym looked small but well equipped as well although we didn't use this service.

After being recommended to do so in a few of the TA reviews, we wrote in the comments box when booking that we would like to have a room on one of the higher floors if possible, for a good view. As you don't book directly with the hotel, but with the hotel brand's general website, I wasn't sure if the request would follow through. But when we arrived earlier than the noted check-in time, instead of putting us into the next available room the receptionist told us that we had already been allocated into a nice room on the 11th floor and that it would be ready in about an hour. We were very impressed.

The room was really lovely, much better than in the photos where I thought some of it came across a bit cheap looking. Huge bed, good magazines to read, floor to ceiling windows, brilliant. Breakfast was also good quality and not busy. As we already had a continental breakfast we were able to upgrade to a Full English for only £5 each, which I thought was really good value. Also, check-out is officially at 11am but when checking in you are able to request a complimentary extra hour to take you up until 12, which we really appreciated. Then it is £20 per extra hour.

All these extra touches are to be expected in a 4/5*, but I have stayed in quite a few upmarket hotels before and this honestly felt more personal and less 'corporate' somehow. And as we got it at such a bargain price of £86 for a double room, we thought 'well, somethings got to give'. But it didn't, it really was great.

I'd say the only down side would be it's location. Only a few minutes walk from Tower Bridge it was in a great setting, but being in the City the area can be rather quiet at weekends, a bit of a ghost town. OK for us as we weren't bothered about going out but if you want to go out for drinks/dinner you'll have to venture a bit further out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors. In the left-hand side tower you should get views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Excellent hotel, a 5 minute walk to Tower Hill tube station, massive bed and plenty of space in the room. The toiletries were lovely as was the tea/coffee. This is my 2nd stay at this hotel and would stay again when visiting London.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcarman861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

A last minute booking to this hotel worked perfectly for my husband and two teenage sons. Having spent a day in London it was a great way to relax. The pools and sauna were a welcome treat as were the drinks and very comfortable rooms. Breakfast was included and substantial enough as they were continental. Overall a great stay in a hotel with comfort and good location for all of Londons highlights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view but at extra cost. Rooms all have blackout blinds which were very effecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westover, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

First, thank you to the wonderful staff at the hotel. They were ready with directions, suggestions, assistance with tour companies, printing out boarding passes. You name it, they were on it! As for location, there are great local pubs close by, walking distance to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. Really close the the Circle Line on the Underground. The Circle Line gives direct access to the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, etc. Wonderful place to stay. The staff could not have been more helpful. A++++ The only complaint that we had was the extremely hard mattress. We had continental breakfast included and had the option of upgrading to an American Breakfast. Honestly, we would not have even considered it if cost had not been a factor. The continental had hot and cold cereal, lots of breads and pastries, lots of fruit, cheese, meats, etc. Great way to fill up before a long day of site seeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We booked two rooms for a week at this hotel; the rooms are spacious, clean, with a modern decor. The bathrooms were small, but included a shower and bath tub. Everyone enjoyed the free WIFI with easy reception (which sometimes can be a challenge, but not here). Our mornings began with a trip to the Fitness Center which is well equipped; the pool was an added bonus. I ran out of time, but would have liked to try the spa which was on site. The safe had plenty of room for the ipad, passports, etc) I recommend booking the room with the breakfast. The breakfast included a large variety of choices to start off your day. A quick walk to the Tower Hill Tube and we started the days sightseeing. Plenty of staff available for questions/assistance. We also walked to Tower Bridge for the views, and the Tower of London Tour ... and enjoyed a daily trip to Starbucks. Note: do your homework; booking through the hotel direct, was the better room rate which included breakfast and coupons for the hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a corner suite with a view of the Tower Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHawk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Have just returned from spending three nights at this hotel..did not want to leave! The room had a fantastic view, huge comfy bed, very clean, lots of lovely toiletries, coffee, tea, trouser press, iron/board, 2 hair driers,luxury bathroom with seperate shower. The staff were very polite and professional. The breakfast had everything you could wish for. The pool/spa was a lovely treat on the sunday afternoon. The location of the hotel is brilliant, and felt very safe. Will definitely book here again.....great value for money. ps...the bar furniture is horrible...not at all comfy for a drink after dinner....could do with some cushions.

Room Tip: high floor for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#338 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#319 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,074 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#79 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#256 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,315 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#172 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing