We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont expect a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #215 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dont expect a view”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A pleasant smart large modern London Hotel. Nothing outstanding to make it 5 stars.

Unfortunately we [i.e me] booked it in error for the City Grange. I didn't know this one existed and wrongly assumed it was the one between Fenchurch Street And Tower Hill Stations. The GrangeTower is five or ten minutes from the station which is not so good in the wind and the rain.

We changed our room from a boring view to a higher floor with a slightly less boring view. The room was quite pleasant with a smart styling but looking out over office blocks and scruffy housing does not sing 5 star.

The bathroom probably delighted the stylist but the shower cubicle was quite small and had curved doors which would not stay completely closed and one could not help but knock them ajar. The shower unit had a fixed overhead, plus a wander lead and additionally two fixed chest level jets. Unfortunately this unit was positioned directly opposite the opening door and it takes little imagination to guess how much water spews out onto the bathroom floor.

We generally used two extra bathtowels a day to mop up the flood.

The breakfast was very expensive and not included in our [relatively] bargain room rate, so we looked elsewhere. There is the restaurant adjacent to All Hallows which is good and cheap. The Premier Inn opposite could have been good value at least, but ran out of everything, had huge queues and if you wanted a full English it would take three or four trips over a 20 minute period to get the individual items. They couldnt cope with the concept of cooking things at the same time! Not recommended unless they sort out their act!

Room Tip: Unlikely to get a view, but ask as some are worse than others. Possibly higher rooms stand a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,857
    1,153
    337
    126
    72
See reviews for
487
1,524
102
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We normally stay at Grange St Paul's but this was a little more convenient this time. Room pretty much identical. Spotless, modern, appreciate the turndown service BUT the bottom sheet is simply too small for the bed.
It won't tuck in and therefore is crumpled up all the time.
Duvet is pretty unremarkable too. But bathroom is fabulous.
Will certainly use Grange again, but probably we prefer St Paul's.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Comfortable rooms, nice view over the City, very good breakfast, great leisure facilities. I stayed for 4 nights on business and have to say this is also a good hotel for leisure - very close to Aldgate East station and only short ride to all main attractions. I am staying here again next week and can´t wait !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fazeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here with my family and friends on the weekend of the 11th of January. We were early to check in but the receptionist said 2 of our rooms out of the 3 were ready, so we were able to get changed before our Afternoon Tea at the Langham Hotel. We asked if the 3 rooms could be together / next to each other as 2 of the twins were but the double was on the other side of the building. Her reply was simply 'no'. She showed no effort to try and make this happen for us. Her attitude was disgusting. She didn't explain anything sufficiently and we were happy to walk away.

When we went to rooms we were allocated, which were apparently ready for us to use, to find the maid still in there and the room a tip.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel throughout the day as we had a lot planned.

The rooms are very modern and beautifully decorated. I cannot fault them at all. The interior of the hotel is also immaculate and very bright and stylish.

On the evening we came back to have a snack in the bar. We order a Croque-monsieur(which was on the menu), to be delivered a club sandwich. It then took an hour for them to produce the right food we had ordered. The waiter in the bar area was not very friendly or helpful at all.

We were thankful that we only paid £100 for the night for this hotel, as yes the interior and exterior are beautiful but the staff that we dealt with defiantly let the hotel down. Such a shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely hotel and excellent facilities, with good links to travel around the city.

Check in Staff were excellent, Dinner was great although service was not the best.

Would highly recommend the hotel, and would certainly book again. The rate we got was amazing for the Quality and Service that we got

Swimming Pool and Spa Great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing stay, brilliant location. Faultless in every way, breakfast worth every penny. Wetherspoons pub across the road from hotel if you want cheap food and drinks. Close to Tube station, also great if your going to Maltby or Borough Market. Also great if you want the Southbank which is buzzing now..definitely recommend every time. Very clean and spacious rooms, not many hotels still do the turn-down service, little touches add to your stay. This hotel would definitely appeal so people who want a clean and comfortable hotel..Also a must is to get a Oyster card if your staying for a few days, makes he underground so much quicker and easier..closest tube station is Tower Gateway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

wanted something a bit nicer than normal, good job I found a deal online as not worth the extra money otherwise, nothing special other than a nice pool, try the Hotel opposite instead novotel, much better value, not impressed by staff and beds were hard, had to move rooms, very average, avoid the breakfast at £25 each, try weatherspoons over the road at £3.95 just as good

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braxter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#338 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#263 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,432 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing