We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 5-Star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #245 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Extremely disappointed with the experience last week when my group of 22 checked in at around 10:45pm on Monday night.

- Poorly designed stairs at the front door where we would have expected some help with our bags upon check in, it's very disappointing that the staff were hanging around and just watching our tiring group dragging the suitcases into the lobby. (No intention to offer help at all)

- Obviously no Group check-in procedure and the front desk staff were not prepared. (e.g. keys not ready, rooms not allocated and just like they weren't expecting our arrival at all!!!) The staff didn't even have a arrival guest list on hand and didn't have common sense to search the names by the Group when some names (they claimed) couldn't be found.

- It took an hour to get the room keys due to inexperience staff and no help from others. Even we raised our concerns, the other two staff (one of them looks like a manager) still didn't help the juniors to speed up the check in process. They were just chatting at the side and didn't even care their hotel guests are horribly tired.
Everyone of us were exhausted and dying to get the room key at that time, I've never had such experience in any of the 4 or 5 Star hotels.

- While waiting for the room keys, I was trying to take some photos at hotel lobby but got told that's not allowed. (This is the only thing the manager looking person was doing, nothing else!!!)
Hotel guest is not allowed to take photos in lobby?? What a joke....What a 5 Star attitude!!!

- The shower door is poorly designed. It couldn't be closed properly. Water leaking out each time during shower.

It's the first time my family and I stayed at this hotel, this is definitely not the experience I wanted. With such level of service standard, I'm not convinced to pay the same rate again to stay in this hotel. It's definitely NOT worth it!!!

Stayed end of May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all of your concerns have been noted and we apologise that you were not fully satisfied on this occasion. We do have both ramp and step access to the hotel. After a long day it may seem that your check in process was longer than expected however our records indicate that all guests were checked in within 24 minutes. This is not typical of our usual high standards and we hope you will come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,036 - 2,042 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 1-night with my girlfriend, wanting to be somewhere near London Bridge area.

LOCATION
Close to Aldgate & Tower Hill tube stations (both walking distance) it is well placed to access surrounding areas.
We got a taxi from London Bridge (£8) the evening we arrived but walked back to London Bridge station the following morning - roughly a 10/15 minute walk but you get to walk over Tower Bridge so not a bad view!

RECEPTION
Modern, well presented and attentive. Bar & seating area available (we used both) and prices were reasonable for London (£9 for a beer and vodka & coke). Clean and good information provided at check-in.

THE ROOM
We booked the 'superior room' through lastminute.com - large bed, big room and wifi. The bathroom is well equipped with a powerful shower and separate bath, along with toilet. Loads of cushions on the bed, super thick curtains and plenty of room. Wine glasses supplied, as well as water glasses - a nice touch.

PRICE / BOOKING
Booked through lastminute.com - one of their 'secret hotels' at a cost of £103 for the night (room only, no breakfast). Exceptional value for money at that price. Would I be happy at £250 a night or something similar? Possibly, but I'd expect other London hotels are available that would be similar or better priced. At £103 though it was a steal.

POOL / GYM / LEISURE
Didn't use any - sorry!

TIPS
Weatherspoons at the end of the road - we didn't go to it but handy if anyone wants a cheap drink nearby. No concerns over neighbourhood, safe and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surreygent32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We thank you for your kind review and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this 5 star hotel on Friday 16 and Saturday17 May. This was a celebratory weekend for my Big Birthday and we had booked a number of vists throughout London. We left the hotel at 10am on the Saturday morning and took off the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on our door which was a button which activated a flashing light outside. My husband and I had not seen one like this and we're checking how it worked so know it was off - we both witnessed this. We had a tight time schedule and returned to our room at 4pm for a quick shower and change. On returning to our room we were surprised to find it had not been serviced but thought they had just not got round to it. We used the 'do not disturb' whilst we showered and left the room 45 minutes later switching the sign off again. We returned at 11.30pm to find our room had still not been serviced and a card under the door asking us to contact Reception for this to be done. By this time we had been out for around 13 hours so were very tired and did not want to wait again for our room to be done. We made our bed, managed with well used towels and dirty cups. The following morning on check out we explained the problems to the staff and they asked if we wait to talk to customer services but they chose not to talk to us and the Receptionist explained. They said that as we had the 'Do not Disturb' sign on their policy was that the room was not done. They indicated was on all day but we confirmed this was only for 45 mins at 4pm which was very late anyway. It appears no further attempts were made to service it in the 13 hours we weren't in it. They insisted this was because the sign was on and we insisted it was not on but they did not accept this. After a long conversation which was clearly going nowhere they said they had our details and would contact us. They did after a few days and a similar conversation was had on the phone with their duty manager. The problem centres around the sign and they clearly considered we were lying when we insisted it was off. They also mentioned that housekeeping finish at 10pm so our room could not have been done at 11.30pm. Their many times repeated offer and my many times refusal was for us to make another visit with a few 'extras' included but it would have still cost us a substantial amount to travel and stay again. They would not consider any refund so I asked them to escalate this as in effect they had not offered anything of benefit to me - they would be the ones benefitting .from another visit if we took up their offer. They contacted us by email offering the original deal so still considered us liars. We will not be taking this us needless to say. Premier Inns can off a money back guarantee if you are not completely satisfied but a 5 star hotel will argue repeatedly until the guest backs down. In many years of staying in hotels all over the world I have never not had my room serviced. A very disappointing end to what was meant to be a special weekend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay - we have responded to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I wrote to the hotel a couple of weeks before my sons 12th birthday asking if we could have a room with a view and a few balloons blown up which I sent by post. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly, helpful and happy staff. We had been upgraded and on entering the room we saw the balloons and they had even left him a little birthday cake! Such a lovely and thoughtful thing to do! The room had an amazing view of the Gherkin, the Shard, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. We were on the 13th floor! The room was spotless and a good size! The spa was lovely where we enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool. On our return, the beds were turned back and chocolates left on the pillow. Nice touch. Breakfast was a continental and we had pain au chocolat, croissants, fruit salad, cereal and tea and hot chocolate. All was very tasty and in lovely surroundings. The location was good but a little walk to the DLR Station or tube station. All in all we had an amazing 2 days and a birthday for my son which he will never forget! Thank you staff at GrangeTower Bridge hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flower2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and the spa and that we were able to assist in making your son's birthday so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for another celebration in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I attended a 1 day training seminar here today and can vouch for the very friendly and attentive staff. They are most attentive and even remembered what we had to drink at the many breaks that we had.
The facilities are excellent. The projector was very modern and nice and quiet. The audio wqs really good in the morning but we experienced some audio feedback later in the day.

All in all a nice place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Scott830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear that your business meeting was successful and thank you for your kind comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in room 1112 and it was fantastic. It was of a very hi quality, spacious and clean. The view out of the full length windows was of London Tower and the Shard. The room was very wheelchair friendly as was the bathroom. The bed was a little high to climb on and was very firm to lie on, but everything else in the room was spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 as I got a special deal online - otherwise this hotel would have been way out of my normal price range! It's a pristine hotel, very smart and clean with quality furnishings etc. The staff were very professional and helpful.
My room was very spacious, with an enormous comfy bed and a huge window, which is a bonus in London where daylight can sometimes be hard to come by. It was also silent, I couldn't hear any noise from the other rooms or from outside. The bathroom was spacious too with a shower and a separate bathtub.
I loved the gym and pool facility, in the basement of the hotel. The gym was fairly busy on the two midweek mornings that I used it, the pool a little less so, which was brilliant as I could do my lengths in peace. The staff can lend you towels and a locker, and there's a water cooler, so just take your gym/swim kit and go for it.
The hotel is clearly making an effort to be a bit eco-friendly, using its own bore-hole water and eco-friendly design.
The location is interesting - the streets around the hotel aren't the prettiest but you are just 5 minutes walk from Tower Bridge, the Tower of London, and Tower Hill tube/DLR. If you do stay here, you really should spend a day visiting the Tower of London and the crown jewels, which is one of the top tourist sites in London! If you're in London on business it's probably a covenient location for getting into the City.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#373 of 1,081 in London
2,991 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#362 of 1,081 in London
4,505 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#206 of 1,081 in London
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#264 of 1,081 in London
7,338 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,081 in London
4,176 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,081 in London
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £108 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing