We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pull down bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #227 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Grange tower this weekend and we were extremely disappointed. First of all the staff were very unwelcoming and unfriendly from the reception desk to the bar.
The room was standard at best (with the exception of the bathroom) We had a pull down bed which left at gap at the head. This led to an uncomfortable nights sleep as there was nothing to stop the pillows falling off.
The night was very noisy with lots of noise from the corridor, The noise from next door woke us one night and somebody trying the door the next.
£20 for breakfast?? Don't bother. There is a wetherspoons next door who serve a delicious eggs benedict.
Overall we were glad to be home for a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoManchester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

So sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hotel. Your comments have been noted. We hope this will not put you off staying again on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 3,769 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stay here on a fairly regular basis when in London on business.

Although I'm a fan of this chain of hotels - particularly the one located near St Paul's Cathedral, and of the decor, and the general "feel" of the experience, I'm somewhat baffled by the staff at the hotel. Each time I arrive, for example, I'm asked the same question - "Have you stayed with us before?". I realise this may seem like an odd complaint - that they deal with hundreds of different people in a week, but having stayed there at least nine times in the last three months, surely an update of the records should be made and the phrase changed to "Welcome back! Thank you for choosing us out of the hundreds of other options which were open to you, once again!"

One of my most recent experiences saw me being allocated an upgrade to a high level room with disabled facilities (even though I'm not differently-abled in any way) and a stunning view of Tower Bridge and the Shard. It was absolutely superb and I spent the whole weekend with the curtains open.

Another, unfortunately, saw me being allocated Room 213, which had a view of some housing and a gravelled flat-roof. Unsurprisingly, I spent most of my stay with the curtains drawn. The room itself was not up to the standard of other rooms I've been allocated in the hotel - no headboard behind the bed, sheets that didn't fit the bed properly and some chipped and scratched furniture. I could have, and should have complained. No doubt they would have changed my room if one was available, but then - I think to myself - why should I? It's the hotel's job to provide a high quality environment for a paying customer - not the job of the customer to perpetually troubleshoot for body of hotel staff.

On all occasions at some point or other, I've ordered from the room service menu, which was decent enough. The chicken caesar salad is consistently good, and the burgers (particularly the chickenburgers) consistently dry and leathery. Rather than spend a fortune on room service drinks, I invariably pop around the corner to the Tesco to pick up a selection of soft drinks at a fraction of the price.

Am I going to stay here again? I'm not certain - the proximity of a decent car park (Minories Car Park - approximately £22 for 48 hours over the weekend) is a big plus here, but the fact that decent nearby parking springs to mind when you're reviewing a hotel, says bad things about the ongoing quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark01824093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Although we are pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us regularly, we regret that your expectations are not fully satisfied. Your comments have been noted. We hope that you will continue to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed one night and were upgraded to an executive room which was a very good size, the bed was very comfortable and huge and the shower was fantastic.

Check in was seamless and staff were friendly and efficient.

Location wise it's strolling distance to Tower Bridge so handy for sightseeing. We didn't have breakfast and were quite glad as there was a long queue when we headed out - we had breakfast at the nearby Minories pub but there's a Whetherspoons on the doorstep too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshboyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and efficient. We hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed two nights laat week on a business trip to London. The hotels location was great for both Canary Wharf and the City. The room was an executive room which was spaces with two double beds. Room was reasonable well fitted out. Staff at breakfast where a bit unresponsive but nothing to complain about. Location however is the hotels best selling point for me. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank all_I_want4xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your good review. We are pleased you found the hotel and its facilities and particularly location to be ideal for your business needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just a few minutes walk from the DLR and Tower Hill underground, this is a nice hotel, large rooms (although the beds are a bit hard) and is generally quiet at night. Staff at front desk are good, helpful and friendly. Around the area there are good eateries (Wetherspoons across the road, short walk to St Katherines dock for other nice restaurants. This is not a cheap hotel though - probably higher than average, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radarulare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Its good that you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased that the staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Recently spent a weekend at Grange Tower Bridge and was most impressed. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Room was spotless. Only gripe was when I ordered two cocktails at £9.95 each the cost came to £21.89. Presumably a charge for pouring the drinks! Also did not venture into the restaurant for breakfast as this was £20 per head. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Service charge is added, however it is discretionary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked this through 'secret hotels' at laterooms.com

Arrived at the hotel, right next to Towerhill tube station - to be told, that we were staying in a branch down the road...

So not as close as I thought, and the views were looking into a premier inn window.. so not of tower hill as described.

Room was spacious and clean. Shower was AMAZING, massive rainfall head and jets from the walls.

Bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in...amazing sleep!

Not much in the surrounding areas, a tesco express for emergencies.

Breakfast was £20 each, which I thought was expensive for food sitting on hot plates...

Evening meal was delicious though...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and its facilities and particularly the bed - we do get lots of very positive comments about our beds. I regret however that you were not entirely satisfied with the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#363 of 1,077 in London
2,914 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#186 of 1,077 in London
2,446 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#337 of 1,077 in London
4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#259 of 1,077 in London
7,096 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,077 in London
1,489 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £96 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing