We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central London Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #85 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central London Gem!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at The Montcalm at the Brewery for 6 nights and just loved it. Describing the staff as attentive is an understatement. They were always friendly with a smile, a hello and you were never looking for assistance as there was always someone on hand.

Rooms in London are typically small and The Montcalm wasn't much of an exception, but the rooms we had were stellar nonetheless. Well appointed and very quiet. The only downside, from a room standpoint, that I can recall was figuring out what light switch controlled what lights. Honestly, I would have believed they even changed over time.

Beds were comfortable and towels/linens were excellent.

I liked the push button security feature that put a signal outside for do not disturb and housekeeping. Not having to worry about putting a flyer on the door was nice.

At the end of the rather long days (especially suffering from jet lag), it was really nice to enter the room in the evening with the tv tuned to classical music, some fresh fruit placed out and hotel slippers placed out should I want them (I didn't really, but it was a nice touch).

Wifi was complementary and gave me no issues. Didn't even require passcodes, which is easiest of all. (Maybe that's a bad thing?)

Room service was timely and the food was decent. But why do that when London has so many great restaurants to discover? The nearest tube station was Moorsgate, only a few blocks away.

Can't wait to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Reginald,

Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate that you mentioned our services and amenities.
I have passed your comments to the team who was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In regards to the lighting system I will discuss with our team for a way of making it more user friendly.
We hope to have you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,839
    547
    126
    37
    18
See reviews for
214
1,278
100
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at The Montcalm as we were attending a function at The Brewery.
The staff were extremely helpful and courteous ,We had a club room which was excellent although a little dark.We only had breakfast which was good. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City while attending event at The Brewery.

Our team here consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

one of the best hotel i have stayed in excellent services it is truly 5* i attended a wedding with my family there was 9 of us and nothing was to much trouble.
i would recommend this hotel it was luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Maxine,

Thank you for your brief but amazing review.
I am thrilled to know that you and your family had such a great time with is.
We would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our families has an amazing stay at The Montcalm. We were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome. The service was impeccable and the rooms most comfortable. Breakfast was served in The Jugged Hare and was quality- a varied choice of hot and cold food.
I would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrardEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Gerrard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review here.
I really appreciate that you mentioned our services.
I have passed your comments to the team who is thrilled to learn that we have already won you over as a returning guest.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Montcalm is an excellent property in the center of the financial district. The hotel is well appointed and the service impeccable. The staff brings to mind an age of service and tradition that you do not experience in more common properties. The amenities rival any hotel from the perspective of a business or casual traveler. Loved the stay!

Room Tip: It is a bit of a rabbit warren so if that bothers you ask the staff to put you in an easy to find ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your king words. It was lovely to have you here with us.
Our staff is amazing and never hesitate in going the extra mile.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the third time I've stayed at this location and it is truly a special place. Located very close in proximity to the tech center and our London offices, this is a home away from home for me while traveling on business.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating for whatever needs you may have during your stay. I was thoroughly impressed with their attention and it was a pleasure to meet some of the managers of the hotel in the lounge.

The rooms are quiet, comfortable, and the details impeccable for what you would expect out of a luxury hotel. I really can't express this enough -- top notch on all accounts. I'm looking forward to staying here regularly on future visits.

Room Tip: The Club Rooms are very nice and worth asking about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to have you back once more and we can’t wait to have you back again.

Our always attentive staff is really amazing and nothing is too much for them and our highly trained Managers are always looking at opportunities to help our guests with their special requests and needs.

The entire team strives to ensure that he Montcalm London City is a home away from home to each of our guests.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Montcalm Brewery for the Jean Paul Gaultier exhibition at the Barbican - which is literally across the road from the hotel. The hotel is instantly impressive from the exterior let alone the delicious surrounds of the interior in the reception area.

Adding a really nice personal touch, each guest is escorted to their charming room by one of the many professional staff while receiving an informative overview of the hotel's facilities and amenities. This is something most hotels fail on.

I had the good fortune of meeting the Front Office Manager Megha who was an absolute delight to converse with and based on her hospitality & charisma alone will stay at this property again when I am next in need of somewhere to pamper myself in London.

As well as its great location to the Barbican, Old Street and Moorgate the hotel is a 3 minute walk to wonderful Whitecross Street with its many great "food trucks" and cafes. Or simply grab a bite and something to drink in their cosy bar & restaurant.

Well done Montcalm Brewery - you've won me over!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and thoughts on this forum.
I am delighted to learn that you had such a great stay and Megha was thrilled to learn that her name was mentioned here personally.
We can’t wait to be able to pamper you again.

Kind regards,

Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing