We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #81 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and stylish”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautiful, new Hotel in an old brewery, interesting architecture and great location two steps from Barbican Center.
I got a "cosy" room (cosy means also very small), which was basically ok, except for the noise the house keeping did in the morning (opposite to my room was a house keeping room, so they started working at 6:30am, making a bit of noise).
The service at the reception is very attentive, helpful and I got a complimentary breakfast for my stay - thank you again!
Otherwise quite calm and comfortable.
Small room service menu, but good service and very nice personal.

Room Tip: I have one of the smallest rooms, 216. Very clean and pleasant, very small indeed. Beautiful bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Kindly allow me to thank you for your positive & constructive feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the noise issue from the Housekeeping Office near to your room.

We are happy to know that we did not leave any stone unturned in order to ensure that you were very well looked after in all respects during your stay.

It gives us great joy & pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied & walk out of the hotel with a sense of content & a feeling of home away from home.

We will be more than happy to assist you on your next visit which we hope will be soon to provide you a great stay at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,856
    553
    127
    37
    18
See reviews for
216
1,292
100
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Simply excellent. All the staff I met could not have been more helpful. The disabled access room was large, luxurious and worked well for us. We ate in the attached fine dining restaurant in the evening - excellent food and service. Breakfast in the Jugged Hare - again excellent. We walked to the South Bank of the Thames the following day - a great day out.
All in all the birthday treat was a notable success, the complimentary bubbly being an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

First of all, we wish you a belated many happy returns of the day.

We really hope that you had one of the best days of your life & had a great time staying with us at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

We wish to see you soon & hopefully help you to celebrate another important occasion of your life.

Once again, we thank you so much for the encouraging words which will help the team to perform at their best at all levels.

We will be more than happy to assist you on your next visit which we hope will be soon to provide you a great stay at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As far as hotel stays go this was by far the best. The service was second to none. The room was well laid out with a stylish look. The bed was amazing, so comfortable.

I am a young guy who was visiting London with my girlfriend. It was our first trip away and the hotel was perfect for us. Close to the tube station we found it easy to get around to see the sights and enjoy the nightlife. Highly recommended, would certainly go again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davejones89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept our heartfelt thanks for your valuable feedback.

We always aim to ensure that we can improvise on all feedbacks given by our valuable clients.

We feel very happy & glad that we are successful in providing a comfortable & satisfactory stay to all our guests & we would aim to keep up the good work at all times & at all levels.

We will be more than happy to assist you on your next visit which we hope will be soon to provide you a great stay at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife for our anniversary weekend and have to say we were blown away by this hotel. Good location near Barbican so short walk to Liverpool St / Shoreditch area and close to tube / railway etc. The hotel is the converted former Whitbread brewery and because of this it has many charming features not least its vaulted ceilings in reception. Because it's a former working building it's a little higgledy-piggledy but this is part of its charm and most unusual for new hotels.

We were greeted by very friendly reception staff. They very kindly upgraded our room to a Club Room which was very spacious with ipod dock, good TV, robes and all the things you'd expect from a 5* hotel. The bathroom wall is glass so you can see in and out of the bathroom which is a bit weird. There is an electrically powered screen for privacy but I'm not sure what the point of the glass wall is. Nevertheless it's a talking point and didn't detract from the great experience we had,

The adjoining pub, the Jugged Hare, is really nice (but small) with attentive, polite staff. We had a nightcap or two there both nights. They didn't even sneer at my wife's unexpected request for a Martini and Lemonade!!!

One slight issue is the rather small reception area which, when busy, was a little chaotic so I would urge them to do something about this. No big deal really.

No wonder this new hotel has made a great impression with its guests. 5/5 - well done Montcalm!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shareholdersmeeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

It gives us great joy & pleasure to know that you had a great time staying with us at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery especially considering the fact that it was your anniversary weekend & we could give you a gift of a wonderful stay.

We will be more than happy to assist you & your family on your next visit which we hope will be soon to provide you a great stay at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Montcalm at the Brewery was very busy for the duration 0844 453 7443 stay and yet every member of staff was fantastic. All smiled, all did their job with cheerful efficiency. My room was good and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are very thankful for your generous feedback..

We are happy to know that we did not leave any stone unturned in order to ensure that you were very well looked after in all respects during your stay.

It gives us great joy & pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied & walk out of the hotel with a sense of content & a feeling of home away from home.

We will be more than happy to assist you on your next visit which we hope will be soon to provide you a great stay at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The perfect hotel only 5 minutes walk from the tube. Everybody in the hotel was warm and welcoming and tuned into every individual to make there experience unique and personal. A huge thank you for acknowledging my wife's birthday and upgrading our room and as I final surprise coming back after a fantastic night at miss Saigon to a card and a bottle of bubbly for my wife. It's the little things that make a difference and we will certainly be using the Montcalm on our next trip to London. Thank you for a great experience

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank howemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am thrilled to learn that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday and we have made this special occasion a memorable one and the hotel team has managed to meet your expectations.

It is with pleasure to hear that our staff made your stay so enjoyable and the surprise to been upgraded to a higher category room with some special amenities was met with your astonishment.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a friend was getting married at the same venue. Lovely decor in the lobby area and welcoming staff. Our room was lovely if a little on the small side but it was the standard room so understandable in London. Overall we really enjoyed our stay would recommend if in the area.

No parking but you can park 2 mins walk from the hotel in a NCP for reasonable prices.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tegan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your short but effective feedback.

We hope you had a great time at the occasion as well for your stay at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

It gives us great joy & pleasure to know that our guests are walking out of the hotel door with a smile on their face along with a sense of content & satisfaction.

Please do let us know when you visit London on your next campaign in order to ensure that we can give you more reasons to smile & be happy.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#39 of 1,067 in London
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing