We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #89 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is stunning , the staff very friendly. The one and the only reason I haven't given 5 across the board is , the breakfast was mayhem ! Took a while to be given a table and even though the chef was doin all he good you had to wait for items and the items that were ready was only just warm. I have to state though highly recommended hotel with fantastic staff !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Andy,

Thank you for such an amazing feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

Our friendly and attentive staff will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,452 - 2,458 of 2,835 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

great hotel, great staff, great location!!!!!!!! we stayed at the montcalm for the weekend as a mini break, the whole experience was amazing the hotel staff were extremely helpful and the room service was perfect. I will defiantly be returning!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Angie,

Thank you for your amazing review following your recent stay.

I am thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful time with us and I really appreciate that you took the time to write about our services and facilities.

I hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We only stayed one night but the Room & Service was excellent. Very friendly & helpful staff. Look forward to returning for a longer stay. The food in the Jugged Hare was very good and of excellent quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Graham,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share such a wonderful review following your stay with us.

Since you have enjoyed our restaurant Jugged Hare so much, why not try, on a future occasion, our sister restaurant Chiswell Street Dining Rooms.

The Montcalm London City team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything about our stay at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City was superb. The service we received from the minute we arrived until we left 2 days later was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we couldn't recommend staying at this hotel highly enough! We will definitely stay at the Montcalm at the Brewery again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59RMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience with us and I am truly happy that you had another enjoyable stay at the Montcalm London City.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, attentive staff, great location. Made us feel very special nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was delightful also. Only downside for some guests might be the number of steps up and down. The hotel is like a rabbit warren and although there is a lift you still need to negotiate steps around the hotel. This does add to its charm though.!! Perhaps ask for a room on the ground floor. Very nice experience and would highly recommend

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gina_wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Gina,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend for our anniversary. As usual the staff were friendly and obliging. Our Club Room was beautiful with a brick vaulted ceiling matching that in the reception area and a bed so big my wife and I were sleeping in different postcodes. Wonderful. We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boothers_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mr Boothers,

Thank you for staying with us at the Montcalm City at the Brewery.

We are delighted to hear that we won you over as one of our returning guest.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery as we wish that all our guests would visit us back & we can provide a comfortable stay with us in future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The best part about the Montcalm is the location- right in the city and very close to many financial services offices. Service was all around excellent. The price for the room was fair for the location. The rooms were new, with good bathrooms but quite small and mine overlooked a wall with little natural light. The location of some of the rooms, including mine on the 5th floor require taking two elevators and walking down a couple of corridors. The odd layout of the hotel, understandable due to its conversion from a very old building, is a labyrinth. The attached Jagged Hare pub is a great feature- excellent beer and pub fare, nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window that gives natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind & motivating feedback.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery strongly believe in engaging personally with all our clients in order to ensure that we take care of the smallest yet very important needs of all our clients.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback & we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#47 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#225 of 1,076 in London
1,593 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing