We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #82 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent two nights at the hotel with my sons (18 and 20 years old). The rooms were very nicely equipped, clean and sufficiently spacious. My only complaint was the outdoor noise that woke me each morning. Staff was very helpful. We had Club Lounge access, which provided a nice continental breakfast and snacks and beverages in the evening. Loved the Jugged Hare restaurant and pub next door!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64LeeC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely thoughts about the hotel and team. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    542
    121
    33
    16
See reviews for
210
1,248
92
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a birthday celebration. On arrival, we had been upgraded to a club room and had a mini bottle of Moët in the room which was a nice touch. The room was lovely and despite being quite compact and having a small double bed, it was nice and cosy and very comfortable. The staff were very polite and helpful and we had a very nice continental breakfast on departure day. Only a few minutes walk from the tube station so a great location. I would recommend this hotel for a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Jacqui,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us for special occasion; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

this hotel is excellent placed in the financial area of the town, but also amazingly closed to the Shard, St. Paul`s Cathedral, Barbican center, and many other beautiful places to be discovered wile in London. the staff is really great, eager to help, always smiling and always polite. my personal thanks goes to Adrian, who helped me with directions ad recommended some restaurants. the room is very quiet , and the bed is just perfect for sleeping. i would totally recommend this hotel to anybody that is visiting London .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotir_loredana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your excellent feedback which will be shared with all our staff.

Adrian was over the moon when he saw his name mentioned on this forum as our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here for business in July 2014. Whilst the hotel is ok I don't think its five stars (the room was fine but the public areas are very pokey) and I had two major gripes:

(i) there is no sound proofing between the rooms - consequently I was woken up during the night and at 6.30am each morning by my next door neighbour watching television and chatting; and
(ii) I was in a Montcalm club room. This entitled me to use the club lounge for breakfast and evening drinks/canapes. However every time I went for either of these I was challenged as my name wasn't on their list. Each time reception confirmed I was indeed in a club room but it was very tiresome to have to go through this process every day to get a beer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveD1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City. Your feedback is most valuable to us as it helps us enhance our products and.

I regret to learn that you felt the need to express your concerns this way.

The Montcalm London City is known to have a great variety of rooms that are very quiet; therefore, it disappoints us that we didn't make a positive impact whilst you were staying with us.

We hope you will give us another chance to impress you with the excellent service we do provide.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here Friday through Monday for a weekend away for his 40th Birthday. The staff were amazingly helpful in arranging a birthday cake, bottle of Moet & a 2 step free room upgrade prior to us arriving - such a lovely thing to have done, they really well above and beyond.
Our room was awesome, impeccably clean, lovely Elemis toiletries which were fully re-stocked every day.
I would recommend this Hotel and the Team that run it to everyone, a fantastic experience and we will definitely be back - Thanks again Montcalm @ The Brewery!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salbirdcinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Greg,

Thank you for your great & encouraging words for the team.

It gives us great pleasure in knowing the fact that we are able to provide our valued clients with professional & personalised customer service.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery in the near future & we would certainly work our way forward to make sure every guest feel special and I am thrilled that your expectations were met.

Once again thank you for your time & motivating feedback.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Ives, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, this hotel has excellent meeting facilities and restaurants as part of the site.

The rooms, whilst not huge were well appointed and very functional. No traffic noise ensured good nights rest.

The rooms were clean and well maintained and the staff were very helpful not only about the hotel, but importantly they were very knowledgeable about how to move around London.

Would definitely stay there again.

I was part of a group of 40 attending a conference and the food and beverage was excellent and catered for all dietary needs. The hotel also provided excellent wifi reception that was fast no matter where you were around the hotel.



Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Greg,

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback.

We are very glad to know that we could provide you with a very satisfactory & comfortable holiday in London.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and I am thrilled that your expectations were met.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here last Friday and Saturday night, and were very impressed.

The location was perfect for our needs, as we were going to an event in the Barbican on the Saturday night. About 90 seconds walk! Couldn't get much closer if we tried! I also didn't realise how close a) the hotel was to the Barbican tube station, and b) how close the Barbican was to King's Cross (where I had caught the train down from Edinburgh).

The service was excellent, and, when we said that we were here for our wedding anniversary, we found a little bottle of Moet had been put out for us. Lovely! The staff were very helpful, and gave us a room upgrade, which we weren't expecting. They were very attentive and solicitous of our needs.

The room was on the second floor, which was easily accessible via a lift (never did find the stairs!). We thought it a pretty good size, considering we were in the CIty. It overlooked a cobbled passageway, but was relatively quiet as it was not at the front of the building. The decor was minimalistic, but very nicely done. The bathroom was lovely - lots of light and mirrors against the black tiles with silver detailing. The bath products were Elemis, which we were very happy with. The shower was great - loved the choice of rain shower or normal one. My only niggle was that it was not possible to have the hand-held shower as a fixed shower, too - which would've been better when I didn't want to wash my hair. However, the shower cap also included a wee hair bobble - first time I've seen anything like that! There was a glass wall between the bathroom and the rest of the bedroom, which was good for light; there was also an electric blind so that you didn't have to see your partner do everything! My husband loved the hairdryer, and is thinking of getting one himself; high praise indeed, I can tell you!
The bed was very high, but very comfortable. The pillows were like sinking into clouds, and the duvet was lush. We had two nights of good sleep.

We had breakfast in the Jugged Hare, which was very good indeed, and a dinner with friends at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms, which will be getting their own 5* review.

Have already recommended this hotel to a friend who stays a lot in the City - we loved it. Definitely one to come back to!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your encouraging & motivating feedback.

Such feedbacks would always help our team to work in the right direction & continue to maintain our standards for all our present & future clients.

We have definitely noted your feedback regarding the Shower Head & will try our best to resolve at earliest in order to ensure that all our guests experience a comfortable & hassle free stay.

It gives us great pleasure to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#49 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing