We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #80 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a fabulous hotel and the staff exceed in every way. My husband brought me here for my birthday for the weekend and the hotel staff made sure it was one to remember. Club rooms are amazing, beds so comfy and everything you need.
The breakfast is a must, very delicious :-)
Thanks so much montcalm at the brewery will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share such a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

I am thrilled to learn that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your birthday and we have made this special occasion a memorable one and the hotel team has managed to meet your expectations .

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    564
    133
    37
    18
See reviews for
220
1,322
101
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just brilliant,friendly staff , the room, fully air conditioned, free wifi, ideal size, excellent !!
Then down the stairs into the adjoining Chiswell Street Dining Rooms for champagne reception, then back into the hotel, for speeches and cutting of the cake, then into another large room for live band and disco.
Then in the morning another treat, full English breakfast served in the Jugged Hare :)
A superb weekend, faultless service, thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, Front Office Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Montcalm London City for your special occasion.

We feel very happy and glad that we are successful in providing a comfortable and satisfactory stay to all our guests and we would aim to keep up the good work at all times & at all levels.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great hotel in a great location. The hotel staff was quite helpful, and greeted me quite friendly and without fuss. The hotel is a former brewery that was rearranged into an hotel, which leads to a sometimes confusing maze of corridors and passageways to access your room. I was in room 322, which is almost on top of the adjacent pub, the Jagged Hare, which means that I had to use 2 different lifts and walk a bit to get to, but this is part of the charm.

The room was a little small, but very well equipped and with a great bathroom. Air conditioning was quite efficient during this week end which turned out to be one of the hottest this year, although a bit noisy.

I dined at the Jugged Hare, which is certainly one of those gastro pub, the food was excellent and the service friendly, if only a bit slow. The noise level however is quite high and not suitable to a date or a quiet evening.

A little turn down: we experienced two fire alarm malfunctions, one during dinner which lasted a very long 10 mn and one at 7:30 am on Saturday morning, both quite annoying. I hope this has been fixed.

Note that Chiswell street is undergoing repairs and is barred: be aware of this if you are not mobile for any reason (luggage, handicap).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Nico,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Since you have enjoyed our restaurant Jugged Hare so much, why not try, on a future occasion, our sister restaurant Chiswell Street Dining Rooms.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Superb hotel, friendly staff and a fantastic base for visiting London, comfortable beds and air conditioned rooms, brilliant location within walking distance to Liverpool street and easy to find. Would highly recommend and hope to stay again,

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homebird65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts following your recent stay with us and for your high recommendations.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a bit of a maze, which is OK since we are in London as space is both old and limited. Pay attention though, we were all the way up on the fifth floor and if we didn't commit the way to our room to memory, we would've been lost. The room was generously sized, clean and just fine. The real success story is the staff at the concierge. We emailed them from out of the country ahead of our arrival as we needed special transportation needs and they were all over it. A very special thanks to Vlad and Kalin. This was my wife and my first time staying in Europe and these two gentleman made the logistics of travel easy. Also, as part of our booking, we were granted access to the 'Club Room' which boasted free continental breakfast and drinks and cocktails in a very loungy atmosphere, however, this review lost a perfect score due to the lack of enthusiasm by the staff in the Club Room. The breakfast girl seemed annoyed, and the evening drink/cocktail server had to be reminded of his duties by management before he served us a drink. Too bad. Otherwise very memorable and a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

Vlad and Kalin were over the moon to see their names mentioned on this forum as our friendly and attentive team will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A lovely weekend stay at this refined but very friendly hotel. I had told them that we were booking a weekend there to celebrate my wife's recovery from intensive surgery for a very serious illness and they immediately offered us an upgrade to one of their club rooms. I was touched by this gesture and we really appreciated the superior feel to the room we were given. All the staff were attentive and friendly but the best part, in my opinion, was the absolute quiet at night which is something you dont often get in a busy hotel in a large city. We will definitely book again whenever we are visiting London. Thank you, again, to everyone there who looked after us.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the club rooms which we would always book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Dave,

I am delighted to learn you had another wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

Our friendly and attentive staff will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Where to begin with this superb Hotel... Stayed here for my Girlfriend's Birthday, from the moment we walked around the corner we was greeted and our bags taken upstairs. The staff were all full of smiles and attend my every needs. The receptionist greeted my partner, and asked if she was the Birthday girl, kindly upgraded us to The Club House. on arrival to my room, was a lovely card accompanied by some champagne nice little touch from them.. They even asked if I needed any help planning her Birthday... This hotel cannot be faulted and when ever I return to London this will always be my No'1 choice....

Thank you very much..... To all the staff that made me celebrate such a good Birthday...

Kind Regards..

Christopher Charles

Room Tip: Always upgrade to the club house.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Chrissi,

First of all, we wish your Girlfriend a belated many happy returns of the day .

We feel very happy and glad that we are successful in providing a comfortable and satisfactory stay to all our guests and we would aim to keep up the good work at all times & at all levels.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,068 in London
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,068 in London
1,902 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing