We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #85 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked this hotel the night before i was due to go to London and wow what a great find. The hotel has brilliant with period features and the friendliest of staff to those on reception, walking the floor and in breakfast. I got an unbelievable last minute deal and phoned the hotel that day to say I was going to be late checking in but would it be possible to have a free upgrade. On my arrival I was upgraded so it always pays to ask. I was in a wow suite and it certainly made me go wow. Thanks guys for an enjoyable stay even though I was only there for 12 hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SICOUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts following your recent stay with us.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

I am glad to know that upgrade which was available for your stay made your stay more enjoyable.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,831
    546
    126
    36
    18
See reviews for
214
1,273
99
657
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having stayed at the Montcalm last night I was very disappointed with the experience! It is more like a 3star hotel with shoebox sized rooms. I could barely sleep due to the walls being really thin and constantly hearing doors banging shut. The hotel is incredibly overpriced as I have found budget hotels to have bigger rooms than the ones that the Montcalm has. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

I regret to learn that you felt the need to express your concerns this way.

The Montcalm London City is known to have a great variety of rooms that are very quiet; therefore, it disappoints us that we didn't make a positive impact whilst you were staying with us.

We would like to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City; perhaps you could give us another opportunity to make it up to you, and provide you the exceptionally high standard of service you would rightly expect from us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we arrived until we checked out the staff made us feel comfortable and relaxed. We were upgraded to a Club Room as my wife and I were celebrating a special occasion. We therefore had access to the Club Suite with complimentary canape's and breakfast in the morning. The little touches of detail in the room and a small treat of Red Wine when we checked in were great. Shame we could only stay the one night as we had the most pleasurable stay in a long, long time.
Thank you to all at the Montcalm and see you again on our next trip to London!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Alex,

I am delighted to learn you had another wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

It is with pleasure to hear that our team made your stay so enjoyable and the surprise to been upgraded to a higher category room with some special amenities was met with your astonishment.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery as we wish that all our guests would visit us back and we can provide a comfortable stay with us in future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the 1st time and liked it a lot. Staff is friendly and helpful. Its clean. To London standards not even that expensive for the quality. The rooms were a bit small, where the bathroom was perfect. Beds were good.
Will definitely come back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AvE3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to show our sincere appreciation for your valuable comments on your recent visit.

Our friendly and attentive team will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once again with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is just stunning, they have managed to work the hotel around the original architecture of the brewery, and the room I stayed in had the original brickwork ceiling visible.

The welcome from staff was warm and honest, we were guided to our room by a friendly and warm member of staff (the guide was needed as due to the building's design the route to our room required going up one floor, going across this floor and then up and across again!)

The room itself was spacious and clean. The nespresso machine in the room is a very nice touch as was the free WiFi. The only slightly unusual feature was the moveable blind between the bedroom and bathroom, but it did add a romantic touch.

Both of the restaurants attached to the hotel are wonderful and worth a visit.

My main reccomendation is to book a Montcalm club room if possible. The extra cost is more than justified by the extra space, the free evening canapés and drinks (wine, beer and soft drinks all free) and the wonderful club breakfast (fruits, cereal, pastries and more) included in the room rate!

Room Tip: Club room or Montcalm club are well worth the extra spend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldcont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that we have made this special occasion truly special and memorable.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories. I am glad to hear that the surprise to been upgrade was met with your astonishment.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was staying on a cheap weekend rate and wanted a hotel nr Liverpool Street. Reception and checking in was a bit chaotic as the layout is poor. Rooms are spread around the old Brewery Building, which some may find interesting but there is no way you can tell once in your room. The room itself was average to small size, but very well furnished and a good bathroom. Check out was as chaotic as checking in and in general the service given was just not as good as other hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

As the hotel is busy during the weekend with leisure guests, our team always ensures that all early check in preferences are met and sorry you felt that it was chaotic.

We would like to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City; perhaps you could give us another opportunity to make it up to you, and provide you the exceptionally high standard of service you would rightly expect from us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderful, polite greeting, followed by our bags being carried to our room. The guy showed us how everything worked in our room and was a absolute pleasure. The room was modern, very clean, comfortable and had all the amenities you could ask for. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollibob484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many guests.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories. I am glad to hear that the surprise to been upgrade was met with your astonishment.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing