We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with a few flaws and some "bad luck events"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #84 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary with a stay in London and choose The Montcalm at the Brewery after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor.

Overall a very nice hotel, the best hotel I’ve stayed at in London yet to date. A few small flaws and some “bad luck events” lowers the score.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the doorman who also helped us with the bags.
Check-in was fast and smooth. We were guided to our Club room (which was much needed, it’s easy to get lost) and also shown the facilities in the room. Room was not that big but nice, clean and functional. It had all the facilities you need including slippers and a bathrobe.
The beds were super comfortable. I don’t recall I’ve slept that good in a hotel ever. The rain shower was also great. Free WiFi and a lot of TV-channels. The rooms are quiet. Standing in the bathroom we could hear some noise from The Jugged Hare but with the door closed to the bedroom we heard nothing.

As guests in Club rooms/suites you have access to the Club lounge where complimentary breakfast is served in the mornings, and sandwiches, canapés, snacks and drinks in the afternoon 5:30-7:30.

We thought the location was good. The area is very peaceful and feels safe. Just a five minute walk to Barbican tube station. By tube it takes about 25 minutes to Oxford Circus. Westfield Stratford City shopping mall is just 12 minutes away. The Museum of London is very close. I recommend paying a visit. It was excellent.

So, the small flaws and “bad luck events” I mentioned earlier.

We requested an iron and iron board three times before we got it.

We got the wrong toiletries in our Club rooms. It should have been toiletries from Hermés, we got Elemis.

First night the safe run out of battery. It had to be opened manually by the staff and they changed batteries the morning after.

Second night there was technical issues throughout the whole hotel. First the TV was down for a couple of hours, and then the WiFi was down.

Sunday morning a dripping sound from the bathroom woke us up at 6:30. There was water dripping from two spots in the ceiling. Apparently there was a pipe leaking from above.

That said The Montcalm handled it very well. All our appreciation to duty manager Alice for excellent customer service skills. She really took care of the situation. After the leakage incident she upgraded us to a spacious and very cool WOW Suite. She also offered us breakfast at The Jugged Hare and she talked to us in the morning after and also during check-out.

When checking out I filled out a customer satisfaction questionnaire. My feed back was pretty much the same as this review. Our flight departed late in the evening so we used the luggage storage at the hotel during the day. When returning back to get our bags Alice had read our questionnaire and immediately responded to it. We even get a goodie bag with Hermés toiletries.

Finally a few suggestions for improvement:

In our “first” room it would be great with a wall-mounting bracket for the TV so you could turn the TV towards the bed.

The first evening we got a bottle of water and some fruits in the room which was nice. However, in my opinion the guest should get that every evening, also one bottle of water to each guest not just one per room.

It was nice to have sandwiches, snacks and drinks in the Club lounge in the afternoons. I would prefer that the time for this service was longer, preferably 24-7.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank HisSword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts following your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is most valuable to us as it helps us enhance our products and service.

We thank you for your praising words about our very attentive Duty Manager Alice, who will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

We would like to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City; perhaps you could give us another opportunity to make it up to you, and provide you the exceptionally high standard of service you would rightly expect from us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,325 - 2,331 of 2,801 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent hotel , the staff were lovely.
Our stay was a very special celebration and the staff looked after us incredibly well.
A fabulous up grade to a duplex suite and champagne in the room.
Thank You.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tink014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I Stayed here from the 20th July 2014 to 21st July 2014.
Everything was perfect, we were welcomed by the doorman who helped us with our bags, check in was quick and a concierge man showed us to our room.
The room was beautifully modern and up to date with the latest gadgets although the docking station was still a 16 pin for iphone4 etc. Had a great coffee machine and a lovely bowl of fresh fruit. Great variety in the mini bar although we didn't eat from it.
The bed were incredibly comfy, superbly comfy pillows and duvet.
We didn't have breakfast but were very please with the service provided from all the staff we came in contact with.
Fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunshineGirl26186315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

It gives us great joy & pleasure to know that our guests are walking out of the hotel door with a smile on their face along with a sense of content & satisfaction.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Fantastic - service was excellent - nothing was too much trouble.
We checked in after booking for our 10th Anniversary at the Montcalm - a little upmarket to the normal but a special occasion. We were greeted at the door then went through the check in with the delightful receptionist who then upgraded us to room 404 a Club room which was really lovely.
Would highly recommend the Montcalm - just such a special stay.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesandLisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear James and Lisa,

Thank you for taking some time out of your busy schedule to write a great feedback about your recent visit at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked this hotel the night before i was due to go to London and wow what a great find. The hotel has brilliant with period features and the friendliest of staff to those on reception, walking the floor and in breakfast. I got an unbelievable last minute deal and phoned the hotel that day to say I was going to be late checking in but would it be possible to have a free upgrade. On my arrival I was upgraded so it always pays to ask. I was in a wow suite and it certainly made me go wow. Thanks guys for an enjoyable stay even though I was only there for 12 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SICOUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts following your recent stay with us.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

I am glad to know that upgrade which was available for your stay made your stay more enjoyable.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having stayed at the Montcalm last night I was very disappointed with the experience! It is more like a 3star hotel with shoebox sized rooms. I could barely sleep due to the walls being really thin and constantly hearing doors banging shut. The hotel is incredibly overpriced as I have found budget hotels to have bigger rooms than the ones that the Montcalm has. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

I regret to learn that you felt the need to express your concerns this way.

The Montcalm London City is known to have a great variety of rooms that are very quiet; therefore, it disappoints us that we didn't make a positive impact whilst you were staying with us.

We would like to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City; perhaps you could give us another opportunity to make it up to you, and provide you the exceptionally high standard of service you would rightly expect from us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we arrived until we checked out the staff made us feel comfortable and relaxed. We were upgraded to a Club Room as my wife and I were celebrating a special occasion. We therefore had access to the Club Suite with complimentary canape's and breakfast in the morning. The little touches of detail in the room and a small treat of Red Wine when we checked in were great. Shame we could only stay the one night as we had the most pleasurable stay in a long, long time.
Thank you to all at the Montcalm and see you again on our next trip to London!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alex,

I am delighted to learn you had another wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

It is with pleasure to hear that our team made your stay so enjoyable and the surprise to been upgraded to a higher category room with some special amenities was met with your astonishment.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery as we wish that all our guests would visit us back and we can provide a comfortable stay with us in future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,077 in London
1,061 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#251 of 1,077 in London
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £108 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing