We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded out expectations- beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #85 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceeded out expectations- beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We are literally just leaving Liverpool st after a fantastic weekend at the montcalm. This hotel is absolutely stunning, we felt like royalty but the atmosphere is far from stuffy or pretentious. All the staff were amazing- they even sent up a bottle of wine as we were celebrating my husbands birthday, even though it was a month ago! We loved the club lounge- it's definitely worth upgrading your room if you can. Excellent service and drinks as well as a light finger buffet in the evenings. Breakfast was great too! Hot drinks were made for us as well as our toast. I'm sorry I didn't catch the name of the guy that served us both Saturday and Sunday- he was extremely professional.

We will most definitely return to this hotel on our next stay in london. Well done to all that work there, this is how to run a hotel! And we have stayed at top hotels in Las Vegas, and the montcalm at the brewery is definitely on par!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBtwenty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for staying at The Montcalm London City for your special occasion.

I am thrilled to learn that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your husband’s birthday and we have made this special occasion a memorable one and the hotel team has managed to meet your expectations .

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    547
    126
    37
    18
See reviews for
214
1,276
99
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Montcalm at the Brewery London City is great place. Very quirky and the map of hotel is great as you will get lost! Location is great for transport links to anywhere you may want to get to. The room and hotel have some lovely touches. Breakfast was great. Will return again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williemac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Williemac,

Thank you for taking your time to share your lovely review on this forum.

Since you have enjoyed Breakfast in our restaurant Jugged Hare so much, why not try, on a future occasion, Jugged Hare for Lunch or Dinner and also our sister restaurant Chiswell Street Dining Rooms.

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have stayed here a number of times, the rooms are fantastic, reception staff are friendly and helpful. Some very good places to eat too. Only one drawback is no irons in the rooms, and sometimes take a while to get one into your room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Simon,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We had a brief trip to london and chose this hotel based upon the trip advisor reviews. We stayed over night Friday 22nd August 2014. My husband checked in and was shown to our room and them as we had a club room enjoyed the complimentary club lounge food and drink before going out into town for the evening. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the tube, and walking distance from old street and shoreditch. The bedroom was excellent, the bed really comfy, heard no noise from the surrounding rooms and the rain shower was great. We didn't pay for the cooked breakfast as there's a continental one included in the room which was again excellent- I had smoked salmon- and the service from the gentleman overseeing breakfast was great. The hotel refurbishment is beautiful I think for the price and location this hotel is outstanding.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baggers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share such a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

I am thrilled to learn that you have chosen to stay with us and we have made this stay a memorable one and the hotel team has managed to meet your expectations .

The location of the hotel is very convenient indeed. The Liverpool station also presents excellent connections with the underground network and offers a wide connection with the national rail service, including the Stansted Express.

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the nearest future.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel weekend 16th August for a family wedding. From arrival to departure the staff were wonderful, calm & professional even under pressure. The rooms were lovely & the dining rooms looked beautiful. A big thank you must go to the unseen heroes, the chefs as the food was AMAZING! Many thanks also to the housekeeping staff who were so helpful & calm in a crisis.
Would definately return to this hotel as Sabine & her wonderful staff made it a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

It is with pleasure to hear that our team made your stay so enjoyable and room facilities were up to your high standards that were met with your astonishment.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We would like to thank you for bringing your valued feedback to our attention and hereby also would like to take the opportunity and thank you for taking this time to share the experience at Montcalm London City.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

From the great moment of welcome for a returning guest as you walk in through the front door, through to the personal walk around the room (It was the WOW suite and its certainly a wow! Lovely 4 poster bed, huge room and thanks fo for the upgrade guys) through to the friendly service at all times with nothing being too much of a bother. This makes staying at the Montcalm the treat that it is and we had a great stay yet again, see you next week!

Room Tip: Try one of the town house roms acros the road - they are equally good and a bit different - but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domo273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to show our sincere appreciation for your detailed comments on your recent visit.

It is with pleasure to hear that the stay was so enjoyable and the surprise to been upgraded to the WOW Suite was met with your astonishment.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

At the end of a mad trip through Europe, we stayed at Montcalm at the Brewery before returning home. The newly renovated hotel is a 7 minute walk from Barbican tube station on a quiet back street of central London. Newly arrived guests are made to feel very welcome by a polite and well-informed staff. Late afternoon wine, coffee and delicious snacks, served by a very courteous staff member were much appreciated. This was included in the package I booked online.
I also pre-booked a full English breakfast - approximately $40 for two - and it was well worth the money. Breakfast was served in the dining room of the lovely old pub next door, with full service.
As for the rooms, we had the next level up from standard. No views but a lovely, good-sized room, with an excellent, brand-new bathroom. There was even a rain shower. Loved it. Our bed was very comfortable and overall, a terrific hotel. If I could think of a fault, I would have written it.

Room Tip: Choose a level one up from standard, if you can. Standard rooms would be quite small, as is normal i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share this lovely review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

It gives us great joy and pleasure to know that our guests are walking out of the hotel door with a smile on their face along with a sense of content and satisfaction.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#43 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing