We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Nearby Hotels
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,969)
Filter reviews
2,969 results
Traveller rating
2,107
626
161
46
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,107
626
161
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjugged hareclub roomwow suitebarbican centrechiswell streethermes toiletrieslondon cityrose petalson arrivalcomplimentary bottle of winelovely hotelturn down servicean upgradeduty managerbirthday treatbusiness tripfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,466 - 2,471 of 2,969 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is really fantastic, classy and cozy with very friendly and accommodating staff which made our stay a remarkable one. Thanks to Tim and Simona who were very helpful, pleasant and welcoming. The concierge team was also lovely and helped us plan a nice day out in the city. The english breakfast was a perfect start for each day as it was
really good with a variety of choices. The location was perfect as it is very close to the Barbican station and close to the top London city attractions. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Darcy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback.

We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests and that location was convenient for the purpose of your stay.

Tim and Simona were over the moon when they heard their names were mentioned on this forum.
Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a modern hotel that has been thoughtfully fitted into an old building so be prepared for it not being the usual endless corridors of homogenous rooms. This does bring with it some interesting quirks such as needing to take a lift, walk along a corridor, up a couple of steps and then up a flight of stairs to get to your room. It is worth it though.

The rooms are on the small side but that is normal for central London. The room had everything I needed, including the option to have either a shower or a bath and the bath was new enough and pristine enough for me to actually consider using it.

One thing I really liked about this hotel is that the bar and restaurant both have entrances on the street - a passerby might not even realise the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms was part of this hotel. The bar at the other end looks just like your average London gastropub which, by the way, serves an excellent breakfast - part buffet, part a la carte, all included in my room rate.

I don't think I heard a single English accent from staff the entire time I was in the hotel, but that didn't matter - ALL the staff were very friendly, very helpful and made me feel at home.

Although I stayed here because I had meetings in the City (the financial district) the transport connections to the rest of London are good with Liverpool St, Moorgate and Barbican stations all nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I will surely pass on your positive and encouraging feedback to Megha so that we can serve you with our utmost dedication and sincerity on all your future visits.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the montcalm and it was truly amazing, from the moment you walk through the door the staff can't do enough for you. The hotel and the bedrooms are so luxurious this truly is a 5 star hotel. The breakfast offers everything you could possibly want. Everything about this hotel is first class and the staff are a credit to the Montcalm, thank you to everyone, see you soon X

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review following your stay with us at the Montcalm London City.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a birthday treat for me; the staff were very pleasant and did their best to accommodate any requests we had. We also got a miniature complimentary bottle of wine as it was a special occasion, which is always nice. We were shown to our rooms by Georgi the porter who was very helpful and managed to fix our broken scent box! The room was a reasonable size, comfortable large bed with a selection of teas and coffees and biscuits. The bathroom had a rainfall shower which was a nice touch, however the piping around the base of the shower looked like it had never been cleaned. The hotel doesn't have a bar so we were recommended to go to the one a few doors down which was pleasant and not too expensive in comparison to normal London prices. We had complimentary breakfast with our room which we found to be the most disappointing part of our stay, as we both had images of full English breakfasts whereas there was nothing hot served just continental style options such as cereals, toast and pastries. This may be because the hotel doesn't have he facilities to cater for hot options, if so then it could be better for them to partner with the other bar/pub and serve you there instead. We would both return but definitely be heading further afield for breakfast in future!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tammy_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

I am thrilled to read that you had a great stay and you expectations were met by our professional team here at the Montcalm London City. I am so happy you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your special day.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. My husband and I stayed there for my 60th birthday trip to London.We were made to feel extremely special and very welcome.Every single member of the staff from the concierge to the head of housekeeping, Catherine, went out of their way to ensure that every tiny detail of our stay was truly memorable and enjoyable .Sanjeev greeted us upon arrival and brought a pot of tea for us on hearing that our sat nav had broken and we had been driving around London for hours.His dedication to his job was clear .Also, we would like to thank Asim and Zdravko, who also added to the enjoyment of our stay with their kindness and anticipation of our every need even before it was articulated.Alice, on reception,thank you too for your valued input into making our stay at your beautiful hotel very special.The hotel itself is first rate but the people who staff this hotel make it altogether more special than any other hotel we have ever stayed, and we have travelled the world in our 43 years of married life. Well done the Montcalm! We will be staying with you on every trip to London that we make in the future, as will all the friends and family to whom we have recommended The Montcalm.

Room Tip: Any room at the Montcalm is beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goodbuddies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

Catherine, Asim, Zdravko and Alice were very pleased to see their names mentioned on the forum.

I am proud to say our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery as we wish that all our guests would visit us back & we can provide a comfortable stay with us in future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews