We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #78 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is the second time I have used this hotel. The welcome, as always, was superb, from the doorman to the gentleman on reception, both were polite and efficient; I was lucky enough to get early access to my room which I was not expecting. I stayed in a suite and the room was lovely, modern and spacious but comfortable with a superking bed. I was impressed with the emergency kit and the additional coffee machine. Nice to see semi skimmed milk in the room as most hotels only have UHT whole milk. The concierge was very well informed on the history of the hotel and was very helpful. This hotel has a great bar / restaurant attached downstairs and the bartender remembered our drinks and brought them to the table - nice touch. I did not have a full meal but I had bar snacks/ light bites they were great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am proud to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in the room make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis and we are looking forward to pamper you once again with our hospitality.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    564
    133
    37
    18
See reviews for
220
1,320
101
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of these rare places where I, if given the chance, would not hesitate to sprinkle at least twice as many stars as allowed. Interior, service, flexibility. Everything absolutely perfect. From the booking procedure, through check in, to the lovely club room, and the fantastic staff, and lovely breakfast at the Jugged Hare, everything was absolutely outstanding. And oh, I forgot to mention great value for money. Can't see a reason for me to stay anywhere else when visiting London.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rune A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us; thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

Our team here at the Montcalm London City consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.

I am sure that your recent visit will encourage you further to stay with us on the regular basis.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is worthy of its price, which is very boutique and modern. I like the decoration of it ,which is very and comfortable and fashionable. The facilitates are more than other hotels. The lobby has changed the flowers in the hotel, which leaves me good impression. It cares much on details. The location is good and in a quiet area. Btw, I love the candies and biscuits the hotel provides.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 珈仪 武
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback.

We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests

Our friendly and attentive staff will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

Rest assured I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, who was delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

1st night we had to move rooms as 206 was very loud and some sort of generator next door was shaking windows and thrumming stopping us from sleeping. At 1am moved to lower grade room but was quiet.

In morning bleary eyed spoke to GM and she apologised and offered to upgrade us to a suite which was a fair resolution to the issue. Suite was lovely but some other minor niggles stops me from rating it as an excellent hotel. We would certainly consider staying again and staff were on whole very good. Club room breakfast was good and snacks at night OK to help keep you covered until a proper meal.

I would also ensure you look out of the windows in the inner courtyard to get some appreciation of the historic building as inside it has been pretty much removed so you would not know you were in such a historic building.

Finally the rooms do not believe in proper draws for clothes so be prepared to hang them or find some open shelving space. Storage is a bit tight.

Room Tip: Avoid 206 if still has noise issue. Check the room before unpacking and I would check rest of room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely thoughts about the hotel and team. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It’s always a great pleasure to receive valuable feedback. It helps us to improve our service and product.

The Montcalm London City is built within a listed property; and used to be the Whitbread Brewery. So its quirky layout is due to original features, this, together with our modern décor, gives our property a charm which is unique

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.


Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It's a very nice hotel with friendly staff. We arrived quite early at 9 a.m. but were delighted that we already got a room. The room was perfectly clean, a comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom. It was quite dark because we were at the back of the building and only had a small window. But we would definetly book the hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ellen,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We are glad that we exceeded your expectation and hope to be of your service again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is really fantastic, classy and cozy with very friendly and accommodating staff which made our stay a remarkable one. Thanks to Tim and Simona who were very helpful, pleasant and welcoming. The concierge team was also lovely and helped us plan a nice day out in the city. The english breakfast was a perfect start for each day as it was
really good with a variety of choices. The location was perfect as it is very close to the Barbican station and close to the top London city attractions. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Darcy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback.

We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests and that location was convenient for the purpose of your stay.

Tim and Simona were over the moon when they heard their names were mentioned on this forum.
Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Montcalm London City at the Brewery.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a modern hotel that has been thoughtfully fitted into an old building so be prepared for it not being the usual endless corridors of homogenous rooms. This does bring with it some interesting quirks such as needing to take a lift, walk along a corridor, up a couple of steps and then up a flight of stairs to get to your room. It is worth it though.

The rooms are on the small side but that is normal for central London. The room had everything I needed, including the option to have either a shower or a bath and the bath was new enough and pristine enough for me to actually consider using it.

One thing I really liked about this hotel is that the bar and restaurant both have entrances on the street - a passerby might not even realise the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms was part of this hotel. The bar at the other end looks just like your average London gastropub which, by the way, serves an excellent breakfast - part buffet, part a la carte, all included in my room rate.

I don't think I heard a single English accent from staff the entire time I was in the hotel, but that didn't matter - ALL the staff were very friendly, very helpful and made me feel at home.

Although I stayed here because I had meetings in the City (the financial district) the transport connections to the rest of London are good with Liverpool St, Moorgate and Barbican stations all nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your recent visit and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

I will surely pass on your positive and encouraging feedback to Megha so that we can serve you with our utmost dedication and sincerity on all your future visits.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,068 in London
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,068 in London
1,901 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Property: The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing