We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #83 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

Fourth stay at this hotel. My expectations have been met or exceeded each time. Superb location for business in Moorgate. High spec, very comfortable rooms. Very quiet. Staff are professional and friendly. On my last visit I was upgraded to a Club Suite which was great. Nice room to grab a quick breakfast before setting off. Yes, the layout is like a rabbit warren but this adds to the charm and feeling of calm.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for this fantastic review and we are very happy, that the Montcalm London City with its facilities and services is up to your satisfaction and that you enjoy every time you stay with us.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

Thank you once again for your great feedback. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,267 - 2,273 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Booked for a one night stay. Upgraded to a duplex room with a lounge downstairs and a bedroom upstairs (with 2 bathrooms both with showers)

Fantastic hotel and impeccable service. Ate at the Jugged Hare (part of the building) and charged to my room - wonderful food!

Will definitely be back when next looking to stay in London!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Mark,

First of all we would like to show our sincere appreciation for your valuable comments on your recent visit.

It is with pleasure to hear that the stay was so enjoyable and the surprise to been upgraded to the Barbican Duplex Suite was met with your astonishment.

Thank you so much for recommending one of our restaurants, the Jugged Hare. May I suggest, for a future stay, that you might like to try our sister restaurant, the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms, another great place to dine.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed at The Montcalm at the Brewery as part of a business trip to London, end of August 2014. As often the case when travelling, arriving late and staying one night, doesn't give you the time to really benefit from a hotel like this. I arrived by metro via Moorgate which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Service (even for a 23h30 arrival) was really very good and pleasant with a can do attitude from check-in to check-out. Continental breakfast was included in my rate and was very good quality. The building was cavernous but my room was situated in an annex building across Chiswell Street. Just a few gripes - the room was great but there was nowhere to put anything down as every surface had something on it, magazines, glasses, cups, etc and the AC was a bit noisy. none of this was earth shattering though and I can recommend this hotel and the helpful, agreeable staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Stephen,

We are delighted to hear that we have made this business trip truly memorable and enjoyable.

Our friendly and attentive team will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you again for choosing our hotel and would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of August 2014. Booked through Booking.com for a late arrival (~0100hrs). Received an email at 2330 stating that my booking had been cancelled by the hotel. No attempt was made to make personal contact regarding this matter. Called the hotel and rebooked the room. Arrived to find no record of my having rebooked and the staff sniffily informing me my card had been declined. Subsequently booked for the 3rd time, and made payment without any difficulty using the same card with which the original booking was made. No apology for the confusion and repeated cancellation was offered, and the attitude of the receptionist was surly at best - not the welcome to a luxury hotel one should expect.

Room service was prompt and the food provided excellent.

The hotel itself is clean and well presented. The continental breakfast was poor value at £25/head; for that price surely a cooked breakfast could be provided, or table service at the very least.

I would not recommend this hotel; equivalent comfort and better service are available elsewhere in London at a lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Jon,

Thank you for your valued feedback which is much which is most valuable to us as it helps us enhance our products and service.

The Montcalm London City is known to have a great variety of rooms that are very quiet; therefore, it disappoints us that we didn't make a positive impact whilst you were staying with us.

Our team is always willing to help our guests to receive their preferred room type or in this case give some special attention to the rate would a request be placed in advanced or during your stay.

We would like to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City; perhaps you could give us another opportunity to make it up to you, and provide you the exceptionally high standard of service you would rightly expect from us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

First class service. We completely screwed up our booking but the mgt team sorted everything for my wife's 40th birthday. I can't thank them enough. Above and beyond.... We had a fabulous stay.... As we have on prior occasion. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuHelsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Stu,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us for your wife’s birthday and your lovely comments about our team.

We are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality and make you feel like home.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked this for a special birthday celebration. (we went out to eat and used the hotel as a base) - so we didn’t mind paying for something with a bit of oomph and glamour. And this has both!

We waited a while at reception to get checked in - the desk was small, there was insufficient staff and the place was rather busy. But after the check in (which went smoothly and agreeably once we got served) we were taken to our room which was in the main building (some rooms are in adjacent buildings so if you have mobility issues try to get a room in the main building.) Our room was a bit small, but it was perfectly furnished, and it felt quite opulent. It had a large, comfortable bed, and a good bathroom.

The ‘restaurant’ is in a pub called the Jugged Hare (situated a minute’s walk from the reception - down the street - (although you can negotiate a maze of hallways to get to the pub without getting wet ... it was lashing down during our stay!) This seemed a strange set-up. But the Jugged HAre was perfectly nice. Other buildings (that make up the hotel) - are situated around an old stable-yard - which was once a brewery area. This makes the place seem a bit chaotic and maze-like.

The service at this hotel was excellent - the door man saluted as each time, as we left. And the place exudes charm and ostentation. The area is rather quiet - a little way from the Barbican - and in an area that’s safe and secure.

This is quite a good choice if you have the money (this hotel can be very pricey) - so search on-line for a good deal. And you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a walk - try to get a roo in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neilmach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Neilmach,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts following your recent stay.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

On behalf of entire Montcalm London City Team, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Good location in the city of london, with just a short walk to Royal Exchange and the rest of the finance district. Perfect location for meetings around town. Nice rooms and bath rooms, and super helpful staff. However the AC and hallway was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tanner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Tanner,

First of all we would like to show our sincere appreciation for your valuable comments on your recent visit.

I was delight to read that location was convenient for your stay.

We would like to welcome you back to the Montcalm London City; perhaps you could give us another opportunity to make it up to you, and provide you the exceptionally high standard of service you would rightly expect from us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#50 of 1,077 in London
1,048 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#89 of 1,077 in London
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £120 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing