We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cupcakes? For afternoon tea - why not ”

Soho's Secret Tea Room
Ranked #218 of 392 Dessert in London
Price range: US$7 - US$51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: Soho's very own secret tea room above the Coach and Horses, a secret vintage tea spot to indulge in amazing cakes and sip on carefully selected teas.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cupcakes? For afternoon tea - why not ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Afternoon tea with a twist, well a cupcake of your choice along with the usual suspects, crustless sammies, scones, cake and tea.
All this is served on gorgeous mismatched vintage chinaware and with proper silver cutlery, a nice touch.
To get to this secret tearoom, you go into the pub and ask at the bar. They will allow you behind the bar and up the stairs you go.
My ginger scone was delicious, not huge, a smallish scone, but it had a subtle ginger kick which I liked. I paid an extra 75p supplement to have hot choc instead of tea. It came in a pot and was thick and dark, very nice indeed!
The Sammie's were traditional, egg and cress, yummy, cream cheese and chives, yummy and cucumber, not so yummy! The good thing is you can choose what ones you want, a mixture or all the same.
The only sad thing was the paper tablecloths. I understand that with high turnover in places, paper is becoming the norm. It should not be, fabric feels nicer, looks nicer and you can wash it!!!
It's a very popular secret... So booking in advance is advised.

Helpful?
Thank NZJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    82
    48
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“soho secret tea rooms is like a romantic film”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have visited the Soho secret Tea rooms twice and loved it . Both the traditional afternoon tea and cream tea is delicious. The staff are very friendly and it reminds of a location used in a romantic film of maybe where two secret agents meet . A surreal lovely experience highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leslie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“funky”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place really is secret, you need to know how to find it which adds to the experience (don't worry, not that difficult!). 10 of us had a very enjoyable "Hen Tea" yesterday - I loved the non-matching crockery and chairs which moves the venue away from being twee to more funky. Attentive but not pushy service. My only gripe would be that most of the cakes were very cream-heavy, I would have preferred a wider choice with, for example, flapjack, shortbread or cookies instead of mostly cream-filled cakes. Having said that, in my opinion it's definitely worth checking out. Laid-back atmosphere in a great location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You really have to check this place out”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I'm fairly sure we found Soho's Secret Tea Room through a combination of TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews when we were looking for a place to have a good tea that wouldn't cost what you pay at the top hotels. It was kind of daunting (for me anyway) to walk into a very non-touristy pub and be eyed somewhat warily by the patrons there, only to be escorted up a backroom narrow staircase to the tea room, which turned out to be very inviting. Secret indeed. Anyway, there weren't many people there at the time we arrived and service was a little slow at times, but the scones and sandwiches were delicious and the tea selection very good as well. It feels a little like you've dropped in for tea at someone's home with a mismash of plates and saucers that look a lot like they hail from another era. It reminded me a little of the teas they show people having back during WWII on episodes of Foyle's War. Anyway, scrumptious food and a quirky atmosphere that must appeal to both more traditional people and hipsters at the same time. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family visiting London.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Konafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“High Tea in a Casual Setting”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great experience for my first English Tea. Situated in an upstairs room above an old pub (actually London's only vegetarian pub, if you're interested in tofush and chips- really), and kitsch-ily decorated, it was a great shelter from an afternoon threatening rain.

Make a reservation. People tried to walk in without one in front of us and were turned away. We emailed them and heard back in a day or so.

The sandwiches, scones, and chocolate cake for dessert were all delicious! The star, however, was the best green tea I've had in my life. It had puffed rice in it. I don't understand why, but it was fantastic!

Our service was very good. The two gals working were moving around like white flashes, but took care of everyone.

It's not tea at Fortnum and Mason, but it is actually much more reasonably priced and simply fun!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thaddeus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soho's Secret Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Soho's Secret Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing