We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloft Saturday Stay”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #263 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Aloft Saturday Stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

- Very swift service.
- Fantastic room.
- Great location.
- Modern, clean, expensive feel decor.
- Rooms are better than the website images flaunt.

Query:
- A £25 deposit was required on arrival, with no prior notification.

Room Tip: Shop around, I got my room for £75 pound!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roosterlover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello roosterlover999,
I am delighted to read that our forward-thinking design, tech-savvy features have worked for you. On your next Saturday stay, why not visit our WXYZ Bar, I promise, you will love it and you might even catch a live performance. Until then, please follow us on Facebook and you will always be in the know of what is happening at Aloft London Excel.
We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    720
    202
    56
    39
See reviews for
186
591
104
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

the hotel was a lovely place. nice rooms clean and tidy couldnt really ask for more but for £110 per night you would at least think that the breakfast would be included but oh no. thats another £15 per person.

just a few complaints on the rooms. a double bed with 2 people staying should not only have 3 pillows in the room that just does not work out right in my eyes. the coffee bags were a pain in the backside to use, even if the coffee is nice.

other than these small things no real complaints but for for few quid less there is another big chain 2 mins walk away where breakfast is included etc for less money so for that reason thats where il be staying next time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Great breakfast. Great location. Just has bad design of the safe in the room . kept banging into it..coffee in room bit of a faff but in the whole great..the tube to it is direct but does not tell you at the station you can walk to the hotel.only to the excel. Would stay again if I was to come to London again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mylakehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
845 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 924 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Visiting East London for business at Canary Wharf and shopping at Westfield Stratford.... Aloft is a great hotel choice as an alternative to staying and paying rates in the West End of London.
Handy short stroll from Prince Regent DLR Station and is handy for all lines back into Central London or a short ride to Stratford and the International Terminal and shopping mall.
Impressed with the room, good size bed and comfortable nights sleep albeit there were only three pillows provided!
Reasonable sized bathroom for London hotel, no bath but adequate shower cubicle....no view from the room as there were none with a river view when we checked in. Totally featureless landscape from the window but no problem as we spent hardly any time in the room. Good size tv and excellent window blinds which cut out all the light!
As noted in previous reviews it would be nice if the hotel provided china cups as I hate the cardboard cup option provided in the room for the coffee. I know they want to be seen as green but I am sure there is no problem in providing a cup you can rinse and use again!
Did not explore any where round the hotel and did not get to use any other facilities in the hotel apart from the restaurant for dinner one night...food / drink was excellent.
Would definitely return again and one word of caution is to check for closure of the DLR over the weekend period....we checked out on the Saturday to travel back into London and found the station closed over the weekend for engineering work. Would be good if the hotel appraised guests of this fact too....there are buses next to the station as an alternative plus DLR were running a replacement road service.

Room Tip: River view as an alternative to the featureless vista on the other side of the hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello ExpatKL88

Thank you very much for fantastic review. You are absolutely right, Aloft London Excel is a great alternative to the West End. We are all about affordable luxury and we want our guests to have an amazing experience without breaking the bank! Where else would you get free WiFi, designer furniture and a stunning splash pool?
I am pleased that you were impressed with the room and had a comfortable night's sleep. Positive comments about our rooms, bed quality and pillows are always top of the list.
I am sorry our team did not inform you of the planned engineering closures on the Docklands Light Railway over the weekend. We will continue to work on this with our talents to ensure everyone is savvy and in the know of the local area and general transport closures. Thank you for the feedback.

To tip: Re:fuel, our 24/7 grab&go pantry, is not only available to purchase snacks, sips and sweet treats at any time, allowing you to stock the products you really like but also borrow cutlery, plates and ceramic mugs for those of you who prefer a mug over a paper cup. Next time just stop by on the ground floor.

Anything you need for your next stay, please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Have an easy-breezy day.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here after spending a day in London and en route for London City Airport. The hotel is on the doorstep of the DLR and very close to the airport. Rooms are attractive, clean, spacious and very comfortable. I did not like the paper cups in the room.
The pool is great and there is a sauna and steam room, plus a gym.We had a meal in the restaurant which was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanrobertsforgetmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello jeanrobertsforgetmen,

You are spot on! We’re indeed very close to London City Airport but also not far from the O2, and all the other tourist attractions London has to offer. Our swimming pool Splash is definitely one of the most beautiful places in the hotel. With the long opening hours from 06:00am-11:00pm, there is always time for a quick dip or to relax in the steam room and sauna. Great to read that you enjoyed our sassy space and thought our talents were super friendly.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Have an easy-breezy day!

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Aloft for a rare child free night away and for an event at the O2. From arrival at the hotel to check out I have to say I've never met such fantastic staff. From our check in (Johann I think?) to departing everything went perfectly and all staff were a pleasure to deal with.
The rooms was spacious and I could have happily stayed in the huge shower for a good few hours! The bed was super comfy and the black out blinds a really nice touch.
We were upgraded to the full breakfast and really enjoyed it. There was a great selection of food and again the staff in the restaurant were so friendly.
There's no doubts in our minds that when we visit the area again by ourselves this will be our hotel of choice. My only sadness is that we will be back in the area early next year at the Excel but can't stay as we have our 2 young children and room only accommodate 1 child max :-(

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackelyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Jackelyne,

Super review! Great to read that you loved our sassy space as much as we do, it seems you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel.
I am also thrilled with your comments about our team. Our team is always looking forward to welcoming guests and it seems that their friendly Aloft vibe was certainly felt by you. Thank you for commenting on this, we will definitely be celebrating your comments with team.

Please make sure you come and see us again on your next visit to the area. We have inter-connecting rooms so we will be able to accommodate your young family and there is always something going on in our W XYZ bar.

With Smiles from the Docklands!

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay with my mum for a theatre trip, very impressed with Aloft ,staff friendly and helpful ,beds so comfortable .lovely feather pillows .Walk- in shower was great .Breakfast selection very good , fresh fruit ,yoghurts ,cereal and good choice of items for full English plus croissants and little pastries .will be recommending this hotel to my daughter who often stays in London and would definatly stay again

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better and more interesting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Jude H,

Thank you for sharing your experience of the hotel with the world. It really means a lot to us to read that you were very impressed and that you will be recommending us to your daughter. Our hotel is becoming a firm favourite on the ExCeL campus and positive comments about our rooms, bed quality and pillows are always top of the list.
Next time, why not visit Splash, our pool. It is truly special and a great place to awake in the morning or relax after a long day.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Have an easy-breezy day!

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#297 of 1,067 in London
2,199 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#468 of 1,067 in London
1,989 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#578 of 1,067 in London
1,433 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing