We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Excel but that's about it”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #259 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for Excel but that's about it”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Modern hotel, rooms comfortable. Poor mobile phone reception but free WiFi in the hotel. Breakfast is good but expensive (£15). Plenty of parking but again v expensive. All the hotel staff are young foreigners whose grasp of English is not perfect. Most of the staff on reception act like robots. The location is terrible unless you you are visiting Excel. Absolutely nothing to do in the locality. In short, good for reps on expense accounts visiting Excel but that's about it

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hey Ian,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our stylish space and free WiFi, it's great to see our guests enjoy the freedom to connect anywhere and anytime.
I am sorry to read you were not overly enthusiastic about the service from our team. This will be shared in the hotel so that we can re-focus and to better next time.

If you return to the area, please do consider staying with us again. Our team will be happy to assist with tips of nice things to do in the Docklands and they are also in the know on the travel arrangements to make your journey into the city centre easy breezy.

We hope to welcome you again soon!
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    731
    207
    56
    40
See reviews for
193
606
106
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Well situated, about two minutes from Prince Regent DLR station, and very nice rooms. However, no BT sports, no free breakfast and not much else around the hotel. Staff were very attentive and the hotel has all the mod cons.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Overall a good formula for a business hotel. Well planned rooms, comfortable bed, very clean and all bight and modern. Restaurant decor and food a little uninspiring but good bar! Overall much better levels of service than I would expect from a conference hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hey David J,
I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectation and that you thought we are “a good formula for a business hotel”. Our hotel is becoming a firm favourite on the ExCeL campus for our business guests.

Thank you so much for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next business stay.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend of 25th Jan 2014. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Like other reviewers we were asked to put a £150 refundable deposit on our card at check in but as we're not the sort to smash up hotel rooms this didn't bother me. The hotel is modern and smart. The room we stayed in was very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.
We made good use of the leisure facilities at the hotel which include a small gym (mainly cardio machines, cable machine and a few free weights - only up to 14kg), swimming pool surrounded by nice loungers, sauna and steam room.
We didn't use the bar opting to go to the West End instead which was an easy tube ride (around 35-40 mins).
Breakfast was included in our £79 which I was really impressed with. Full English buffet style, fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, fresh coffee and a nice selection of breads.
Even though this hotel is quite a way out for the West End it's such value for money that I would happily put up with the extra travel for the better service and surrounding.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello SarahBam,
Thank you for your great comments and the perfect score.

Aloft is very much about affordable luxury, we want our guests to have an amazing experience without breaking the bank! And it’s great to read you loved our cool space in east London and made good use of our leisure facilities, especially Splash, our pool. Splash is one of the most beautiful places in the hotel, with the long opening hours from 06:00am-11:00pm, there is always time to take a dip or to relax in the steam room and sauna.

Please continue to explore our Aloft hotels worldwide and we forward to welcoming you back on your next weekend stay!

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I wasn't expecting much from a hotel stuck in the deepest part of the London Docklands, but amongst the myriad of travelodges and novotels this place sticks out like a sore thumb. It's ultra modern and reasonably priced. The decor is sharp and clean, there's a free gym, heated swimming pool that's open until 11pm, sauna, steam room, and a pool table that is also free to use.

The rooms are of a good size, much larger and more welcoming than your standard "business travellers" hotel. The entire place is spotlessly clean, with just a few signs of wear and tear.

The only complaint, and it's not much of one, is that the Bar man was a little lazy.. one cocktail and a coffee took him about 10 mins to make, and myself and my partner were the only people in the bar. The thermostat in the bar could be doing with turned up a notch too, it's a bit chilly.

If you are staying around the excell, i'd fully recommend the Aloft.

Room Tip: ask for the eighth floor "with a view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCECHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hey Craig C,
I am thrilled to read you found Aloft London Excel “Quite a Surprise”. You hit the mark!

Aloft London Excel is a bold hotel featuring industrial-inspired design in the hip East End! Our rooms are inspired by loft-type design; they are spacious, sleek, stylish and inviting. Our motto is “Style at a steal” and it’s nice to know that you valued the design and functionality as much as the cleanliness of the hotel. Like yourself, many of our guests have also commented on the cleanliness of the hotel, and once again we have reason to celebrate with our Refresh team. We don't call them Refresh for nothing, they truly make sure that everything is sparkling clean and we know how important that is for our guests.

I apologise for the service you received in the WXYZ bar. We will take the feedback on board and follow up with the team member and hope this does not deter you from visiting us again.
Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience. The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back again on next business stay.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for one night. Very new hotel, clean, quite and comfortable. Hard to understand the heating system and room abit cold but not a probelm. Very helpful staff. As its new our sat nav did not pick up the post code. Parking very easy £14.00 per 24 hours just outside the door.
Breakfast £15.00 so did not have it but you can buy from a take away shop in the lobby which looked fine. Got on Docklands light railway to Canary Wharf but cost £9.00 for day ticket. As stated by others would have been nice to have abit more tea etc in rooms and cups are paper coffee shop ones. Would stay again. The pool would nice but did not have enough time to try it.

Room Tip: We were at the back less noise from the road and great views as on 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

If you are going to any trade shows at EXCEL, this is the place to stay. Very reasonable priced, less than 100m from hotel to EXCEL. Very convenient and close to DLR. Great staff, modern rooms. If you stray here and going into town on DLR. Please remember to get your Oyster card to save some £ and convenience riding the tube/DLR. If you ride the DLR check when the last train leave so you are sue you are back at the hotel before the DLR last train! If not, it can be a very expensive cab ride ;-).

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello Travelalot724,
You are spot on! We are the only hotel on campus directly connected to ExCeL and we are located right next to the Prince Regent DLR station, so it’s ideal for anyone attending an event at ExCeL.

Next time you stay, come and visit our WXYZ Bar, it’s a great social space to mix + mingle, and I promise, you will love it. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip to the exciting spaces of East London!

With smiles from the Docklands,

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#276 of 1,069 in London
2,260 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#477 of 1,069 in London
2,025 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#568 of 1,069 in London
1,475 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,069 in London
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing