We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #261 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

What an excellent hotel. Booked in 13/2/14 and wanted to change room type as I incorrectly booked a double instead of twin. It was no problem and staff are really helpful. Room is one of the best I've stayed in, clean, spacious, huge tv and free wifi. Normally I stay in Novotel for the Excel, but will definitely choose aloft now. It is easier to access the Excel. Cannot fault breakfast either so fresh and tasty. Went to Fox pub for drinks and evening meal, only a 5 min walk away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello swanlee,

Thank you for taking the time to write, I am thrilled you had fantastic stay with us and to see we were able to make your check-in and room change easy breezy. So many of our guests and reviewers have commented on the great location and clean rooms. You hit the mark with your review, Aloft is about sassy space and free WiFi is a given in our hotel.

Top tip: if you want something different for dinner next time and prefer to stay indoors, try our Fede Restaurant & Bar on the second floor.

I hope to see you again soon!
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    728
    205
    56
    40
See reviews for
189
600
105
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is our second time visiting this property and we really have enjoyed both visits. The plus points for staying here is that it's very new and modern, has free wi-fi (although we couldn't connect for half the stay) and the rooms are very large. It has great amenities, I love the Bliss products, and very comfortable beds. It's also right off the DLR and handy for going into London or Canary Wharf.

There were a few things the hotel could attend to, one of which was the service at FEDE, we had breakfast there the first morning but we weren't handed any menus so I had no idea if there were a la carte options for breakfast and the coffee included in the buffet wasn't very nice but since no one was around to take our drink orders I just got on with it. Also, the doors to the rooms slam shut so all your neighbour's doors can wake you in the wee hours.

All in all, we had a lovely time, didn't get to try the pool but we expect to make another trip back!

Room Tip: SPG members are put on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hey msmandam,

Thank you for your review - it’s always great when we come across someone who loves our cool space as much as we all do and it is a big compliment when guests decide to return.
We will share your comments with the Fede team so they can check on the coffee.

Do pop in to our swimming pool Splash next time. It's the best for a refreshing dip and we also have a sauna and steam room if you're in for some relaxing downtime.

I hope to see you soon for round three!
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for two night on our first visit to this location and hotel. Staff are welcoming and extremely helpful. Room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Location is great for visiting London and all of its attractions. Breakfast was included in our stay and the dining room staff were very attentive and pleasant. The variety on offer was extremely good, our only criticism was the apparent lack of co-ordination in getting all components ready at the same time. On the first morning we had to wait for chef to cook us our requested fried eggs before we could eat...this wasn't too much of an inconvenience and the eggs were soon brought to the table. However on the second morning there was no bacon or sausages available either so, having requested fried eggs again...they arrived but there was no bacon or sausages ready....a further wait whilst the eggs got cold. Such a shame as everything else was perfect. The only other observation was that there were only two sachets of milk , two teabags and one sachet of coffee and one sachet of decaf coffee given for tea/coffee in the room each day so if you had a cup of tea in the morning you had nothing to put in the coffee or vice versa. I daresay if we'd gone down to reception to ask for more it would have been forthcoming, but this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel offering tea and coffee making facilities where there was so little actually provided. The other downside was that there were no cups/saucers, only cardboard versions with plastic lid and wooden stick stirrer. This is obviously catering for the "on the go" fraternity who make their drink and take it with them, but is a pretty poor substitute for those wishing to drink in their room.
The shower was great and the overall impression of the facilities was excellent. The swimming pool looked very inviting although unfortunately we didn't get the time to try it out. The blinds in the room were of the blackout variety and worked a treat! All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others visiting London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the O2 otherwise you are overlooking the DLR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentLassKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello KentLassKent,

Thank you so much for your review, we could not ask for more details! You have definitely equipped all our future guests with the knowledge about our hotel's facilities and I am thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay and will be passing on your compliments to your friends.

We get your comments about the coffee and tea facilities. They are indeed a favourite for the grab & go fans, but next time you are with us, just pop down to Re:fuel where our team would be happy to get you some ceramic cups and additional sachets.

I will make sure to share your compliments about our service with the team - it is always exciting to see our sassy style really worked for you.

We hope to see you soon again,
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

PLUS SIDE: Very polite staff (apart from one greasy guy on the night shift who was rude and argumentative), excellent location in relation to DLR and ExCeL. Good value for money, nice bar area with free pool table. Swimming pool, gym and sauna/steam room.

DOWN SIDE: No room service, no mini-bar, sauna/steam room were "not working" (although there was no signage and for 2 days in a row, no works were being done to solve the problem. I think the staff were lazy or told not to switch them on, which is VERY poor if you ask me. Rooms are quite small and basic (no toiletries, bring your own). The self-service breakfast is OK, although at peak times in the morning sometimes there would be no staff manning it (!?)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberto_villani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi roberto_villani,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

I am glad you liked the w xyz bar and our cool leisure facilities. Sorry to hear about the issues with the functioning of our sauna and steam room and our communication around it - we definitely dropped the ball here, my apologies.
As you mentioned, the refrigerators in the rooms are indeed empty so that you can use them to store the drinks and snacks you prefer, either from home or from our Re:fuel grab & go area. Our stylish rooms have soap, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion and we also offer a full English buffet in our Fede restaurant, should you prefer that over the self-service option.

We will take the feedback on board and follow up with the team to make sure that next time, your experience will be spot-on. Please let me know when you are next in the Dockland's area as would value the opportunity to welcome you back to show you how we live life Aloft.

With smiles from the Docklands,
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed one night with a friend as part of a hotel/theatre deal, but liked the hotel so much we didn't bother going to the show!! Main attraction was the pool/sauna/steam room - could have done without the snogging couple in the pool, you have a room, use it, HAHAHA! On arrival we found we had been allocated a room with a double bed - we are friends, but not that good friends! However, the staff could not have been more helpful, they moved us to a twin room with a lovely view of the river, very spacious and the beds are to die for. We needed extra tea, coffee sugar etc but hey, we have legs, it was no hardship to go downstairs where we were invited to help ourselves. The only drawback was the size of the towels in the room - bath sheet would have been nice. Other than that we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hey Elaine,

We couldn't agree with you more - why bother leaving the hotel with all the cool spaces that are here to enjoy? I'm glad to see we were able to get you the room type you preferred straight away, it showcases the easy breezy and helpful attitude of our team.
The Docklands really treat us to some great views, I am happy to see you were impressed.

Top tip: should you be feeling the urge to explore next time, just pop down to the Front Desk for some advice from our team. You can also try out our new virtual concierge screen with lots of details on things to enjoy in the area.

With smiles from the Docklands,
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I've reviewed this hotel before, just a quick update
- the DLR is super close to the hotel (200m) and is very convenient
- the free morning/afternoon shuttle to/from Canary Wharf is perfect for business travelers if they don't forget to take you (happened to me once in a week)
- the sip bar is a mini supermarket for snacks
- it's great to have Miele equipped laundry on site

Cons
- the Fede restaurant breakfast is the same every time and offers almost no healthy options

Room Tip: On each level, x16, x26 are great corner rooms to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Compare to another hotel just stayed in central London few days earlier. Aloft staffs are very helpful and friendly. They helped and arranged everything per your request. I need a 0530 early taxi to central London during the tube strike. They managed it on time and it is highly appreciated how they got thing done. It is impressed that is all managed few staffs at front desk without so call concierge. It is a great place for attending event happening in ICC/ Excel and it is far away from central London even by tube (expensive with transportation cost) for these travelers who wants to do sightseeing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MsEL_Espia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#291 of 1,069 in London
2,230 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#478 of 1,069 in London
2,011 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#570 of 1,069 in London
1,457 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing