We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room good location”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #260 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice room good location”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, very good location near to DLR two mins walk after getting off! Rooms good, grab and go breakfast whilst allowed three items and a drink wasn't the breakfast I was after poor selection really fruit or baked goods. Also asked to pay bill at check out despite it being paid in advance already. All in all decent hotel but paying for location .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Katwak,
Thanks for taking the time to write! It is indeed hard to beat us on location - steps away from the DLR and the ExCeL centre. It's great to hear this worked for you.
If the grab & go option isn't really your thing, try out Fede restaurant next time. They serve a full English breakfast every day, so you can have a proper sit-down and enjoy whatever you want.
Hopefully we will see you back soon!
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    712
    201
    55
    38
See reviews for
183
582
103
638
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year for the bike show so knew what to expect. Check in staff seemed confused by my having booked two rooms in my name ( one was for my colleagues) and also that I had booked an additional night for myself ( arriving one day sooner than first planned). All sorted out in the end.

Had read differing reviews on the restaurant- some excellent, some terrible, so as I was dining there all 3 nights, I was full of trepidation.

First night, service good, food excellent - full marks
Second night (valentines) we dined early as we were tired after the show. Did the valentines menu- excellent a good value with free glass of champagne- full marks again!

Third night ( Saturday). One inexperienced barman on duty...couldn't cope. Restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed. Our dinner reservation was put back by 1 hour to 9pm which turned into 9.15. By 10.15pm we were just getting our nouvelle cuisine starters. As the night went on the Maitre'd apologised and apologised....sent free desserts and a round of drinks, but it was clear that the chef and the serving team were overwhelmed.

Breakfast buffet it excellent, but at £15 it's expensive if all you wanted was some yoghurt and fruit. Can I suggest that they offer a continental at £7.50 for exhibition staff who don't gave time to get their £15 value.

I booked well in advance to secure the rooms but feel unhappy that last minute bookers got rooms for £40 and breakfast included deals.

Great location, easy for Prince Regent DLR and EXCEL

Like the Green option to save washing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Flhrcitwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Flhrcitwotone,

Thanks for taking the time to comment, we really appreciate it.
I'm glad to hear you had some nice experiences in Fede. The evening you described certainly wasn't our best moment and we have reflected on this with the team. Hopefully the other experiences you had where the vibe was right convinced you to give us another try in the future.
Next time, if you're just looking for a quick bite for breakfast, try our Re:fuel grab & go area on the ground floor. It's the perfect space to just pick up a few small things in the morning and be on your way.

It's so cool to see you are a fan of the Make a Green Choice program! We think it's a really creative way to do our bit for the planet and we love it when guests are excited about helping us do this.

It would be great to welcome you back soon!

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am currently staying at the hotel as myself and my boyfriend went to the Brit awards last night. We got reception to book the taxi and it was around a 20 minute journey due to traffic but only cost us 17 pounds which is amazing considering we were in a Mercedes! The hotel decor is very modern and everything is clean. The service could be a little better as we missed breakfast (which we paid for) as no one told us it finished at 10 o'clock (so early!). The tv in the room is massive and the bed is too which is always good. A downside to the room is there is barely any wardrobe space for two people. Thank god we are only staying 2 nights so barely have any clothes. But overall it's a good stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Feb 2014 for the Triathlon plus show and was well impressed with location, hotel is ultra modern, very nice and basically attached to the excel centre so its a 50yard walk over the balcony and you're in the centre.
Coffee was a bit limited in the rooms to start but on requesting more it was no problem at all.
Service was extremely friendly and helpful on all occasions.
My only small gripe was that the swimming changing area was quite confusing and not well laid out, I could not see a way out from family changing room if the other 3 rooms ( which I could not lock the door in) were full as you have to walk through them ?...
Yes a small gripe But on the whole a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firebobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Firebobb,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are excited to hear that you liked our trendy space as much as we do. We're really happy to see our team looked after you, I'll make sure to pass on your compliments. And as far as location gets you're spot on, we're literally just out the door from the ExCeL centre and it's cool to know this worked for you.

Thank you so much for being our guest, we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

very very disappointed with this hotel you can't get a good nights sleep as the rooms are so stuffy no air what so ever two small windows that can't be opened, air conditioning that makes the rooms even more stuffy and just air con is not the best thing to leave on i had to sleep with the door open so air from the corridor came into my room very disappointed with my stay

Room Tip: there are no good rooms apart from the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Mark M,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
I am really sorry to hear our rooms were not to your liking. Our sassy rooms have windows that do not open to ensure our guests are not disturbed by noises from the nearby airport and the DLR line. Most of our fans like this soundblocking, but it seems that unfortunately it was a disappointment for you.

I do hope you will give us a second chance and return to our hotel. If you give me a heads up, I can ensure our engineers double check that the A/C is flawless and that we cool down your room before your arrival.

Jill van Rest
jill.vanrest@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here in February for two nights to visit an exhibition in the Excel. The location of the hotel if you are visiting the Excel is excellent - 2 minute walk.
On arrival, the reception staff were really friendly and checked us in double quick time. Talked us through all facilities in the hotel and made sure we were happy with everything.
The rooms are great - king size bed; large, powerful shower; tea, coffee and water supplied; fridge in the room and a safe. But the best thing was the soundproofing! We had a room at the rear of the hotel on the 2nd floor - where the DLR went straight past - but we didn't hear a thing. It was quite weird watching the train whizz past without a sound. Also excellent were the black-out blinds. They were lowered on their fixed rails and did not let any light in at all! The hotel was full but remarkably quiet - heard one door slam and the blinds being lowered once over the two nights. Great hotel, great location -very short walk from the DLR station. And we had this at a bargain price of £40 pp per night and this included breakfast. Can't beat it.

Room Tip: Remember your swimming costume - nice plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi PantBryn50,

Wow! Thank you so much for the five star score, this really makes our day! Our hotel is becoming a firm favourite on the ExCeL campus for our business guests and it is indeed hard to beat our location.
We know a great night's sleep can make or break your day, so it's really cool to read that our black-out blinds and soundproofed windows helped you relax.

We are really proud that you were impressed with the value for money - Aloft is all about style at a steal!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spent 2 nights here for a corporate function I was attending at a different hotel. Felt compelled to write this review as I was so impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Check in & check out were fantastic - genuinely friendly and efficient. Room was lovely - well spaced out, lovely coffee & amazingly comfortable bed. Breakfast great - all tasted hot & good. Overall loved this hotel. Great experience & would definetely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#468 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#564 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing