We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night's sleep...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #256 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Well positioned hotel ... a very short walk from the DLR masking it easy for London and Stratford. Nice aspect, very modern and god amenities. The rooms are well laid out and the beds are so so comfortable... makes it difficult to get up in the morning. Good value and well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    703
    201
    53
    38
See reviews for
182
576
102
631
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed at Aloft Excel for one night as part of myself and partner spending two days being a tourist in London. The Hotel is in a perfect location if you are going to Excel and wish to stay the night and is also a great price (much cheaper the others in the area) Walking distance to the DLR (Docklands Light Rail Way) and the Emirates Airline. The hotel is very modern with are large King size bed, 42" TV and walk in shower. There is a safe in the room and also tea and coffee making facilities. Parking is £14 for 24 Hours. I would recommend this hotel if you are at Excel or a trip in to London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for one night at the weekend.

Very accessible hotel from the DLR train station, 30 second walk away!

Easy check in / out

Lovely rooms

Comfortable beds, great showers, nice coffee!

Was disappointed that the tv had to be paid for if you wanted to watch it... thought that was a bit odd.

The bar was very expensive. We had 1 drink, and decided against another as i though that £15 for a cider and a vodka redbull was too much to pay.

We had the full English breakfast the next morning , it was very nice.

Didn't use the pool, but it looked lovely.

Would stay here again definitely, but would bring my laptop to watch my own tv!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy-shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, very good location near to DLR two mins walk after getting off! Rooms good, grab and go breakfast whilst allowed three items and a drink wasn't the breakfast I was after poor selection really fruit or baked goods. Also asked to pay bill at check out despite it being paid in advance already. All in all decent hotel but paying for location .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Katwak,
Thanks for taking the time to write! It is indeed hard to beat us on location - steps away from the DLR and the ExCeL centre. It's great to hear this worked for you.
If the grab & go option isn't really your thing, try out Fede restaurant next time. They serve a full English breakfast every day, so you can have a proper sit-down and enjoy whatever you want.
Hopefully we will see you back soon!
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year for the bike show so knew what to expect. Check in staff seemed confused by my having booked two rooms in my name ( one was for my colleagues) and also that I had booked an additional night for myself ( arriving one day sooner than first planned). All sorted out in the end.

Had read differing reviews on the restaurant- some excellent, some terrible, so as I was dining there all 3 nights, I was full of trepidation.

First night, service good, food excellent - full marks
Second night (valentines) we dined early as we were tired after the show. Did the valentines menu- excellent a good value with free glass of champagne- full marks again!

Third night ( Saturday). One inexperienced barman on duty...couldn't cope. Restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed. Our dinner reservation was put back by 1 hour to 9pm which turned into 9.15. By 10.15pm we were just getting our nouvelle cuisine starters. As the night went on the Maitre'd apologised and apologised....sent free desserts and a round of drinks, but it was clear that the chef and the serving team were overwhelmed.

Breakfast buffet it excellent, but at £15 it's expensive if all you wanted was some yoghurt and fruit. Can I suggest that they offer a continental at £7.50 for exhibition staff who don't gave time to get their £15 value.

I booked well in advance to secure the rooms but feel unhappy that last minute bookers got rooms for £40 and breakfast included deals.

Great location, easy for Prince Regent DLR and EXCEL

Like the Green option to save washing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Flhrcitwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Flhrcitwotone,

Thanks for taking the time to comment, we really appreciate it.
I'm glad to hear you had some nice experiences in Fede. The evening you described certainly wasn't our best moment and we have reflected on this with the team. Hopefully the other experiences you had where the vibe was right convinced you to give us another try in the future.
Next time, if you're just looking for a quick bite for breakfast, try our Re:fuel grab & go area on the ground floor. It's the perfect space to just pick up a few small things in the morning and be on your way.

It's so cool to see you are a fan of the Make a Green Choice program! We think it's a really creative way to do our bit for the planet and we love it when guests are excited about helping us do this.

It would be great to welcome you back soon!

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am currently staying at the hotel as myself and my boyfriend went to the Brit awards last night. We got reception to book the taxi and it was around a 20 minute journey due to traffic but only cost us 17 pounds which is amazing considering we were in a Mercedes! The hotel decor is very modern and everything is clean. The service could be a little better as we missed breakfast (which we paid for) as no one told us it finished at 10 o'clock (so early!). The tv in the room is massive and the bed is too which is always good. A downside to the room is there is barely any wardrobe space for two people. Thank god we are only staying 2 nights so barely have any clothes. But overall it's a good stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Feb 2014 for the Triathlon plus show and was well impressed with location, hotel is ultra modern, very nice and basically attached to the excel centre so its a 50yard walk over the balcony and you're in the centre.
Coffee was a bit limited in the rooms to start but on requesting more it was no problem at all.
Service was extremely friendly and helpful on all occasions.
My only small gripe was that the swimming changing area was quite confusing and not well laid out, I could not see a way out from family changing room if the other 3 rooms ( which I could not lock the door in) were full as you have to walk through them ?...
Yes a small gripe But on the whole a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firebobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonExcel, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Firebobb,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are excited to hear that you liked our trendy space as much as we do. We're really happy to see our team looked after you, I'll make sure to pass on your compliments. And as far as location gets you're spot on, we're literally just out the door from the ExCeL centre and it's cool to know this worked for you.

Thank you so much for being our guest, we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#464 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#560 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing