We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for the O2”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #271 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had been recommended to the hotel by relatives as they found it good value and very clean. After staying here, we can fully agree. The hotel is modern and the rooms fairly minimalist but everything works well, the beds are comfortable and the showers excellent.

The hotel is very convenient for the O2 Arena without being too close to the bustle. The hotel is a short walk from Prince Regent DLR station (turn right at the top of the stairs) and only a few stops from the O2. We went there via Royal Victoria DLR (two stops) and the Emirates Air-Line (quite fun but fair sized queues). We came back via the Jubilee line to Canning Town DLR (one stop - I think?) and then back to Prince Regent DLR (three stops). Both were very easy and short journeys.

The only glitch in our stay was 'reception'. On arriving at the hotel entrance, we found that we had to go down to get to reception. Options to get there did not seem to be well signposted and we ended up walking down quite a long flight of steps. On leaving, we had a similar problem in that the lifts only work with key cards and we had handed ours in when we checked out … so steps again. I did try going back to reception to comment on this, but there were quite a few people checking out and only two staff, so decided to just go. The staff on reception were very polite but there seemed to be no way of managing 'who was next' as guests just bunched and the pushiest got to the front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Aloft is a modern, efficient hotel in the old victorian dockyards. The room where I stayed with my wife (1 night) was clean and well sound-insulated and we had a confortable sleep. The self-service breakfast is a bit messy but reasonable. In brief, this a Spartan Hotel with a price that matches what you get there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Carmine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a message here. We are happy to see you enjoyed our stylish space in the Docklands.
Top tip: in case you prefer a sit-down breakfast, our Fede Restaurant on the second floor serves a great full English buffet every morning!

We hope to see you again soon here in East London!
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rare stay in london and this hotel is four star on the outside and three star on the inside. The hotel in a great location and the pool table located near the bar is a great addition. The gym is great and a great steam room and pool area. The rooms are not as nice as the pictures on the site. We had a modern room, not bad on size and the bathroom areas was modern and clean. The actual rooms have dull and dirty carpets and was stained. The room has good device compatibility so make sure you take HDMI cables etc.
The room overall was a big let down, staff are very helpful and friendly and make sure you have breakfast, as is a nice pleasant area too have some food.
Sure you can find another better hotel, but maybe hard to find a better price...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Taz,

Thank you for your review here! We are happy to see you were impressed with our location and style. Our Re:charge is indeed a great spot to have a good work-out!

I am sorry to hear the room was not fully up to standards. If you come back, please drop me a line before your arrival so that I can personally double check your room is a hundred percent.

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a top floor room which was pleasant enough with good views. The style was minimalistic and different to most hotels, the room was small, but the bed was huge and quite comfortable.
There are no frills or personal touches and just about squeezed a hot drink each out of the pack. The TV was slow to navigate and hotel and room info was non existent.
A pleasant enough environment, more like a corporate building than a hotel.
Plus side is easy access by the DLR, close to Docklands facilities and fairly quiet.
Things to note, City Airport final approach passes your window (literally), if you don't like heights, beware the rooms have full length windows.

Room Tip: Bear in mind this is a fair trek to the city, although trains are regular and easy to navigate, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your review! I'm happy to see you were impressed with our beds, hopefully they helped you in having a great night's sleep!
We don't have a traditional printed room directory - I'm sorry to hear you missed this. Next time, please do just pass by the Front Desk or give us a ring for any information you would like; our team is very in the know about the hotel and the area so we would love to help you with any information you may need.

With smiles from the Docklands,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have visited London March 29, 2014 for Saudi Career Fair hosted my Saudi Arabia Cultural Bureau. I found this hotel few feet away from ExCeL London Exhibition and Convention Centre where the event was organized. The hotel was so nice and clean, and the furniture was cool and comfortable. I like the way the rooms designed, which applied more comfort.

Room Tip: Enjoy London and go out ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaleelya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hey Khaleelya,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. Our location is unique when you are visiting the Excel centre - we are literally just outside the door and the walking bridge on the 2nd floor is even directly connected to Excel.
Our Re:fresh team is very proud of our clean rooms and it's great to see you were impressed with this.

We hope you found some interesting job opportunities on the fair and please do visit us again when you're next in the Docklands!

Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Second time staying at Aloft London Excel & it was another excellent stay. Rooms were perfect & clean with a good view over to the o2 & Canary Wharf. Had breakfast included in this stay & it didn't disappoint, plenty choice which was replenished on a regular basis.

The bar is also nice, if a little pricey, the bar staff appear to enjoy making cocktails & were able to make ones not on the menu should it be requested.

It's about a 30minute tube & DLR journey to Waterloo from the hotel but you 100% will not get a nicer hotel any closer to the centre for the price you can get Aloft for. A little out the way but I'd always compare any deal you get in the centre of London to what you can get here.

Room Tip: 7th floor over looking the docklands also had views over the Excel towards the o2 & Canary Wharf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hello Andrew,

Thank you for coming back to us! It's always a compliment when our guests return and are impressed again. I'm happy to see the W XYZ bar team went out of their way to get you the drink you wanted - it's a really cool place to have a drink!

With smiles from the Docklands,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

POSITIVE:

The hotel is lovely, the room with great furniture and the most perfect pillows that I have ever tried! My neck use to be soar, I felt like new person after few nights there :)))) I was very quiet too.

NEGATIVE:

The steam bath is not working, the swimming pool is veryyyyyyyyyyyyyy small and the water was very cold. You could warm up if you swim...but there is no place to that :D
The restaurant is small too and closes at 10 pm!!!! With poor ''pub'' menu.. We tried to find another, close the hotel, all of them were terrible. If you want a proper dinning, you need to go in the city center.. just run away from the area around the hotel, if you are looking for nice restaurant. The only choice that you have is to visit the other hotel's restaurants..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hello Venera,

Thank you for taking the time to write something here. We will definitely check the Splash' temperature to make sure all is ok.
It's great to hear you enjoyed our pillows! A good night's sleep is so important to get a fresh start into the new day and we're happy to see you had a good rest.

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#273 of 1,077 in London
2,347 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#578 of 1,077 in London
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,077 in London
1,489 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £68 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing