We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent at Excel”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #261 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent at Excel”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for one night at the Aloft whilst visiting a trade show at Excel. Having done the same a couple years ago I had an idea of what to expect.

Really convenient for the DLR and Excel exhibition centre both of which are just a few feet away.
Quick and efficient check in and checkout in a very informal reception area.
Good sized very modern room with a huge walk in shower and bathroom area.
Didnt try the restaurant in the evening as went to a nearby Chinese but did have breakfast which was your standard hotel buffet offering - nothing special but certainly no issues.

Wont hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hey Simon,
Thank you for returning to our hotel! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us again. We are indeed unbeatable for proximity to Excel - we are directly connected to the exhibition centre!
We hope to welcome you soon for your third visit.
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    728
    205
    56
    40
See reviews for
189
600
105
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I like to be in this hotel again , very modern style and lovely staffs , the hotel In quite place recommended for those who looking for nice quite break . There is one of the biggest mall nearby (Westfield). The O2 is very nice place to be visited.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talal_3Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello Talal_3Sal,

Thanks for review! It seems like our sassy space in the Docklands really worked out for you! As you mentioned, we are indeed very close to Westfield Stratford and the O2 - perfect for a nice break.

We hope to see you again soon!
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is a nice property adjacent to Excel. There's a DLR station that's right next to the station. It's real convenient and rooms are quite large and stylish. Breakfast was also plentiful. The only problem was that the hotel's own restaurant was expensive and lacking in choices, there's not too many restaurants around. I would recommend the hotel in the Premier Inn next to us. I would not recommend the food court in Excel. But it was a nice hotel and had very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yehdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi there!

Great to read you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are very proud of our spacious rooms and their unique style! Your comments about the restaurant have been shared with our team so that we can focus on improving this.
If you are looking on information on our surrounding areas and advice on where to go, just pop down to the Front Desk - our team is in the know about East London and would be happy to point you in the right direction.

With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Arrival at Aloft reception during a change of shift for the reception staff. My colleague was checked in and I was left waiting for the next shift to take over, no one appeared to let the next staff know I was waiting! Check in, apart from the delay getting served was itself very quick and efficient.

The room I was allocated was a large room, 2 double beds.Large TV, Safe, TCMF and all the usual its and bobs. No sign of the advertised iron and ironing board though. The room has a large, powerful shower however when the steam builds up it does show that the high level cleaning of the tiles and glass is a bit cursory! There were also large areas of residue on the metal surrounds.

The beds proclaim to be the ultimate in comfort and they do deliver a very good night sleep.

Breakfast in the restaurant is an entirely self service affair. Good selection of hot & cold as well as several drinks available all from self serve machines.

I was attending an event at the attached Excel venue, so the Aloft is ideally situated. I booked on a discount rate and would do so again, however if only full rate rooms available I would have gone to one of the budget chains only yards further away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stomper0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Stomper0161,

Thank you for your detailed review! Information like this really helps us in taking our unique style to the next level.

My apologies for the wait at check-in; you should never have been affected by a change in shift and I will make sure to follow up with the Front Desk team to ensure this will not be repeated. We do have an iron and ironing board in every room, they are tucked away inside the headboard of the bed - sometimes a bit tricky to find! The Re:fresh team has gone over the cleanliness details you pointed out and will re-focus the team to keep an eye on this.

Thank you for your compliments on the breakfast and our beds, they are indeed super comfy!

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back again when you're next in East London.

Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had been recommended to the hotel by relatives as they found it good value and very clean. After staying here, we can fully agree. The hotel is modern and the rooms fairly minimalist but everything works well, the beds are comfortable and the showers excellent.

The hotel is very convenient for the O2 Arena without being too close to the bustle. The hotel is a short walk from Prince Regent DLR station (turn right at the top of the stairs) and only a few stops from the O2. We went there via Royal Victoria DLR (two stops) and the Emirates Air-Line (quite fun but fair sized queues). We came back via the Jubilee line to Canning Town DLR (one stop - I think?) and then back to Prince Regent DLR (three stops). Both were very easy and short journeys.

The only glitch in our stay was 'reception'. On arriving at the hotel entrance, we found that we had to go down to get to reception. Options to get there did not seem to be well signposted and we ended up walking down quite a long flight of steps. On leaving, we had a similar problem in that the lifts only work with key cards and we had handed ours in when we checked out … so steps again. I did try going back to reception to comment on this, but there were quite a few people checking out and only two staff, so decided to just go. The staff on reception were very polite but there seemed to be no way of managing 'who was next' as guests just bunched and the pushiest got to the front.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Calabria, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Aloft is a modern, efficient hotel in the old victorian dockyards. The room where I stayed with my wife (1 night) was clean and well sound-insulated and we had a confortable sleep. The self-service breakfast is a bit messy but reasonable. In brief, this a Spartan Hotel with a price that matches what you get there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Carmine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a message here. We are happy to see you enjoyed our stylish space in the Docklands.
Top tip: in case you prefer a sit-down breakfast, our Fede Restaurant on the second floor serves a great full English buffet every morning!

We hope to see you again soon here in East London!
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rare stay in london and this hotel is four star on the outside and three star on the inside. The hotel in a great location and the pool table located near the bar is a great addition. The gym is great and a great steam room and pool area. The rooms are not as nice as the pictures on the site. We had a modern room, not bad on size and the bathroom areas was modern and clean. The actual rooms have dull and dirty carpets and was stained. The room has good device compatibility so make sure you take HDMI cables etc.
The room overall was a big let down, staff are very helpful and friendly and make sure you have breakfast, as is a nice pleasant area too have some food.
Sure you can find another better hotel, but maybe hard to find a better price...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Taz,

Thank you for your review here! We are happy to see you were impressed with our location and style. Our Re:charge is indeed a great spot to have a good work-out!

I am sorry to hear the room was not fully up to standards. If you come back, please drop me a line before your arrival so that I can personally double check your room is a hundred percent.

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#291 of 1,069 in London
2,227 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#478 of 1,069 in London
2,011 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#570 of 1,069 in London
1,457 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing