We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for conferences”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #266 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights prior for a business conference. It was fine - the 'loft' aspect is illusory - the bedrooms are just like any other hotel. The worst aspect were the window blinds - they don't work and let the light in - very irritating for the tired business traveller! Good buffet breakfast (apart from the coffee). Staff are pleasant and helpful - although struggle to deal with more than say three people in the reception queue. Showers are great - wifi is good and rooms comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prehistoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hello there,
Thank you for leaving a review. I would like to apologize for the hick-up with the blackout blinds you experienced with us. I completely understand that a good night's sleep is important, especially if you have to be on top of your game all day. Should you be returning to us, please do reach out to me so that I can ensure your room is double checked next time!
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We very really impressed after spending 3 nights at Aloft London Excel.
Initially it took a bit of chopping and changing on and off trains,but we soon got to know the best routes to take and therefore this wasn't and issue.Generally took 20 minutes to get into Central London.
Very modern decor throughout.On check in staff were very welcoming and this friendliness continued throughout our stay.
Rooms were very clean and were cleaned on a daily basis.
Tea and coffee available in the room,only fault here was there was only a little milk and it was takeaway cups.
The bed was so comfortable and selection of different sized pillows too,so a wonderful nights sleep.
Good selection for breakfast in the restaurant with a choice of hot and cold foods.As before staff were very cheerful.
In all we thoroughly enjoyed our staff and would definitely return and be happy to recommend others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi Julie,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It's great to see you enjoyed yourself in our hotel. As you mention, Central London really isn't that far away! I love reading that our team took good care of you - it makes me proud to see they made a difference.
We are actually working on getting ceramic cups next to our take-away cups to ensure all our guests can get their sips the way they like it.
Do spread the word and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

stayed here recently on a bit of a whim, wasn't exactly cheap but did include breakfast which was good with a vast selection, not the best I've had but not bad.
Room was nice with a large TV and had a lovely view of the old mill and canary wharf in the background. strangely quiet considering its next to an airport and convention centre. Lovely shower behind the bed although the layout causes the large door not to fully close in the bathroom, which may be awkward for some people.
Bed was large and slept quite well, added with blackout blinds it was a good sleep. Used the pool facilities although its a very shallow one. Gym looked good although only walked through.
Receptionist on check in seemed rather 'beige' with very little character, as my booking had not gone through correctly so had to sort that issue out. No upgrades whatsoever which is a nice touch i think particularly to hard working NHS staff...:) hotel du vin do this all the time for free!
Check out staff were lovely, can't remember her name but was fantastic and polite, chatty.

Room Tip: high up levels have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottyboy_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Scottyboy_1986,

Thanks for your review. It's great to see our soundproofed windows, black-out blinds and comfortable bed helped you have a good rest. I will go over your comments with our Front Desk team to make sure that we work on the consistency of our service level. Next time do spend some time in our Re:charge fitness centre if you feel up to it, it's a very cool place for a workout!

Have an easy breezy day!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed 26th & 27th April in room 333.

This was a short break for my best man's wife's birthday weekend. The hotel is a bit quirky and caters well for travellers, although I'd recommend taking some of your own tea, coffee, sugar and milk - it'll make your stay more relaxed.

Wi-Fi seemed to work pretty well everywhere and the hotel is generally clean and tidy throughout. Buffet breakfast was very busy, but there was no shortage of anything. My only complaints would be:
1) Dress / conduct code in the restaurant; there was a variety of shorts (very tight, short shorts on grossly overweight people) and even one girl who came to breakfast each morning in her dressing gown! There was also a chap who had clearly been on the tiles all night and was actually sprawled out along a bench-seat asleep! Ill-mannered folk!

2) The waiting staff take your plates away from under your nose - sometimes before you've finished eating - but always before everyone else on the table has finished, or had an opportunity to go back for more.

It'd be wrong of me to grade this hotel as average, just because of these issues; it is what it is. It's a good hotel in a capital city, doing the basics pretty well and with the DLR right next door.

Would I stay again...? Not sure. I'd probably have a look at a few of the others nearby and compare prices....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello Jim,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I am sorry to hear you were not overly impressed with the tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. We have a complimentary set-up for all our guests and I would love to get some detailed feedback about these products in case you have time to share so we can work on improving this. The team from Fede Restaurant has reviewed your comments about the breakfast experience - this is certainly something we can work on.

It is great to see that you enjoyed the rooms and that you were impressed by how clean our Re:fresh team keeps everything; we are really proud of our sassy space so we do our best to keep it in tip-top shape.

I do hope you will come back to us for a second visit!

Martijn Mulder
martijn.mulder@alofthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a work related stay in April for 4 days. The rooms were excellent, clean modern, and very comfortable. Staff very obliging - nothing was too much trouble.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Cathyp22,
Thank you for leaving your comments here. We are very happy to see you enjoyed staying with us and we really appreciate you spreading the word!
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights for a show at Excel. The rooms are large and well equipped, the bar and restaurant were all as expected. I would recommend this to anyone especially as it is close to the o2 and docklands.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank UK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello there,
It seems we have another Aloft fan! It's great to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and had a nice stay. Thank you for spreading the word on our hotel!
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is my second time at The Alfot Exc. and unlike the previous time my stay was much better.

First they have changed the use of Breakfast , now is not a very very poor breakfast as it was in the past, but they have organized in the restaurant with a full English Breakfast, and this is for me a great improvement .

Rooms are as always very clean , and still very pristine.

Person on reception very helpuf, nice bar and a very good restaurant if you want to eat there.

The DLR is very helpful and in front of the hotel

Also fitness center was very helpful , what remain not jet improved is the upgraded for the SPG Platinum member, also this time no upgrade , but this is a little issue.

So comparing my last stay I can say that I am very satisfied and I'll come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoalebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello Anguilla,

It is really cool to see we made noticable improvements! It is only because of our guests taking the time to provide us with feedback that we learn what to focus on and what to change. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us so that we can further improve our sassy space.
We have made major steps on the breakfast offering and the team in Fede Restaurant is happy to see this is getting noticed, thank you for your compliments.

It would be great to see you back for a third time.

Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#273 of 1,077 in London
2,350 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#578 of 1,077 in London
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
The Westbridge Hotel
#96 of 1,077 in London
1,492 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £68 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing