We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel, Ideal Location”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #262 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel, Ideal Location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Whilst visiting an exhibition at the Excel we wanted a nearby hotel to spend the night. well, this was absolutely ideal. As I live north of London this was extremely easy to get to off from the M11.
Parking wasn't a problem as right next door at £15.00 per 24 hours. Really accessible for the O" so plenty of restaurants and entertainment. Hotel was extremely modern, everything you need from a mid-price hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and well appointed. In house restaurant was very friendly and accommodating. Ideal location for a London base visit.

Room Tip: The room we had which was a double was superb and in case of any query just speak to reception staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Cuckie57,
Our East London space really seems to have worked for you! As you mentioned, our location is ideal for a visit to Excel or the O2. We're also close to Westfield Stratford, so in case you have some shopping to do, you know where to stay.
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    713
    202
    55
    38
See reviews for
185
582
103
639
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've been to quite a few hotels, as I do travel a lot, and I have to say: this is the best hotel I've stayed at - ever! Staff? Cordial. Service? Efficient. The check-in and check-out process is smooth and effortless, and it's something that you can do yourself too if you're in a hurry. The bar actually has food you'll love to eat - not the usual junk, but healthy snacks and meals too. Now, the rooms are where this hotel shines (besides the gorgeous design and the funky bar and facilities): sockets are easily accessible, and they have everything you need, from a LAN socket to a port to plug in your USB-enabled devices. The views are lovely (provided that the weather behaves), and the bathrooms are clean, spacious and they're guaranteed to make you stay in the shower longer than necessary because, well, you'll have to see for yourself! I definitely recommend this if you're going to stay in the area - because even though this is a 4-star hotel, it feels like staying in a luxurious 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_D_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Bernardo,
Wow, what a cool review to read! The full five stars and then some - thank you so much for your amazing words. Our showers are indeed super relaxing, especially when paired with the Bliss amenities we offer.
We hope to welcome you again on a future trip!
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a great stay here for our anniversary. We were upgraded to a suite which was very spacious. The room was clean and the bed was fantastic. We could wave at the planes coming in to land at City Airport - but no noise! Ideslly located for the efficient Docklznds Light Railway and, of course, the Excel next door. Public areas unspectacular, but clean and comfortable. Didn't use restsurang of food takeaway. Bathroom superb. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for Sunday night because the rate for Sundays is pretty good. This hotel has not yet had a star rating because it does not meet certain required standards. We were disappointed with the provision of plastic and paper cups. On checking out the receptionist assured me that the management have taken heed of the customers' comments and glasses and proper mugs are on order. I was disgusted at the lack of service at the bar. The barman (called Marty) was engrossed in a conversation with a customer at the bar talking about the merits and demerits of marijuana. I was ignored and then he reluctantly served me a bottle of wine in an ice bucket. I had to carry this to our seats. There was no smile or any courtesy. I would certainly expect service at the table in a hotel. The seats in the bar area are very uncomfortable

Room Tip: Room 824 overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello IndianOxfordshire,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. Let me start by apologising for the service you received in the bar. The experience you describe does not sound like the kind of evening we want our guests to enjoy. I will discuss this so the team can focus on improving for the future.
We are indeed working on getting ceramic cups in our rooms as we noticed many of our guests said they would prefer these. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts - it are comments like this that help us identify areas to improve!
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at 4 other hotels near Excel I have to say this is the best. It has an interesting modern design inside & out. Staff are friendly & helpful & the facilities are great. We had a room at the end of a corridor on the 6th floor overlooking the water. It was very quiet & relaxing as there were never any people walking past our door. What with good soundproofing, a very comfy bed, blackout blinds & efficient air con we had a good night's sleep. Unfortunately did not have time to use pool & gym but they looked good. Breakfast was served until 11.30 which is a bonus at the weekend. We stayed for 2 nights but would have liked to stay longer! Hope to return sometime.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fl0g0_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello there,
Thanks for your review - your compliments mean a lot to us! It's great to see you enjoyed our unique design and our team was able to help you with your requests.
Do come back again for a dip in Splash or a work-out in Re:charge!
We hope to see you soon,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Over the last few months I have stayed in the Docklands area a few times, this was my first stay at Aloft.

Positives:

- Good air conditioning in room
- Comfortable bed
- Excellent wifi, no problems connecting
- Good TV
- Easy access to the DLR

Negatives:

- Only has plastic cups in rooms and no spoons
- No bath
- Shower could be more powerful
- Found the lighting rather dull
- Very little milk provided for tea/coffee (2 small pots)
- No information pack about the facilities or local area
- Blinds let some light through and seem worn

Overall it was a pleasant stay and would have no problems staying again if I was in the area. I can't judge the hotel's other facilities as I didn't get chance to use them (feel an information pack within the room would be useful for this for menus, access info for the gym and pool, along with local information tips etc.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicester_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi Leicester_Daniel,
Thank you for your detailed review - it's messages like yours that really point us in the right direction to further improve our unique style. I completely understand your comment about the take away cups. We are currently working on finding a ceramic mug that would fit our rooms and we are hoping to put them into place a few weeks from now.
In case you want some extra milk next time, just give us a buzz and we'll be happy to arrange it for you. Our Re:charge fitness centre and Splash swimming pool are definitely worth a visit so hopefully you'll get a chance to see them next time. At the moment we indeed don't have the traditional hotel directly, but feel free to stop by the Front Desk or call our team with any questions you may have, they are fully in the know!
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday night as we had tickets for a gig at the O2. Everything was pretty faultless, there was pleasant atmosphere and a funky design throughout. It had an almost Nordic feel in terms of the design. Friendly staff and overall, I'd be happy to recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Occrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hey there,
Thank you for writing something about us! Please do recommend us amongst your friends and family, we never object to people singing out praises!
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#298 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#467 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#572 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing