We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #256 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked this as we were going to the O2. Very modern and very clean. Easy parking-extra cost but very reasonable-and easy to get to. Bed big and comfy, huge shower room. Easy access to DLR and the cable cars to the O2. Highly recommended and a great price.

Room Tip: High floor gives better view. River side view rooms will get some aircraft noise from the very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendycelandine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello there,
Five out of five, thank you! I will make sure to share your comments with our team, it's really nice for them to read you enjoyed your stay.
Have an easy breezy day!
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    703
    201
    53
    38
See reviews for
182
576
102
631
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed on Friday 16th May as we were attending the comedy Gala at the 02 Arena.

Pros
Really modern hotel, rooms are decent size and clean and this place oozes class for the price we paid (£85 including breakfast) we couldn't complain
- Easy access to tube service
- Decent swimming pool

Cons (Me being nit picky)
- Car parking is a bit more expensive than envisaged at £14 a night
- Bar was expensive (But I am midlands person and was astonished at £24 for 2 beers and 2 shots)
- Walking distance to emirates cable car wasn't as close as I thought (My fault)
- Nothing really close by walking distance apart from a pub next to the premierinn

Would I stay here again. Yes for the price I paid and factoring in the car parking charges.

Room Tip: Try and get one that overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello BalUK,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It makes my day reading we exceeded your expectations! We are all about style at a steal here at Aloft and it's great to see you were able to enjoy that. The Emirates cable car is a 10-15 minute stroll along the riverside, or alternatively you can take the DLR for two stops and get dropped just two minutes away. It's a very cool way to get to the O2!
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night at this lovely hotel. Was amazed at its modern appearance outside, and even more so inside. Its located right next to the Excel centre, and 1 minute walk from Prince Regents DLR station.
The rooms, lobby, bathrooms etc were all clean and modern.
The room was slightly smaller than expected, but compensated by the lovely overlook of the Thames river. There's free wifi (a rarity nowadays) and a good sized TV in the room (better than most hotels). There's tea making facilities, hair dryer and iron in the room.
Enjoyed my sleep thoroughly, helped by the blackout curtains.....didnt wake uo till 10minutes to checkout.
Will definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Kreely,
Thanks for leaving a review! It's great to see you were impressed by our unique style and sassy design. We love our space and I'm happy to see our guests do too.
If you're looking for another relaxed lie in you are always welcome to return!
We hope to see you soon,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked this after booking a concert at the 02.Very modern hotel with car park ,rooms and bed were excellent and very comfortable would definitely book at the price we got with breakfast included.Easy access to the tube service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petercharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Petercharl,
Thanks for your review - happy to see you enjoyed your stay!
We hope to welcome you again soon,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Straightforward place right next door to the ExCeL centre, so great if you're in East London. I didn't use any of the facilities other than the room but it was a calm, comfortable and decent value stay. Bed was huge, no problems with the room at all (windows are rather small but it's fine for sleeping). Didn't make any use of the bar, gym etc - strictly in and out quickly, but they all looked great. Staff were efficient and attentive. Very close to DLR so very easy to get into London or across the river via cable car or Jubilee Line. Overall definitely recommended as a good place to consider.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorVoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi MajorVoid,
Thank you for leaving a review here. It's great to see you had such a nice sleep. I hope next time you'll have the chance to use some of our other facilities! Our Re:charge gym and Splash swimming pool are great for relaxing.
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really enjoyed my two nights in this hotel. The rooms are new, modern and immaculate. The breakfast was good quality and tasty, not cheap and greasy like in some hotels. The staff were friendly although nearly missed breakfast one morning as I had been told it finished at 11 at check-in when it actually finished at 10. Liked the location of the hotel too as it was just out of the centre and felt more spaced out and relaxed, but close enough to the centre of London with easy access to DLR. Would definitely stay here again and would rate it as top end four star rather than four star.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sickofripoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for leaving a review here - great to see you had a good time in our hotel. We are very proud of our style at a steal and for someone who doesn't like overpaying, Aloft is certainly the way to go. It does look like we made a mistake on informing your about breakfast, my apologies.
We hope to see you again soon!
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Whilst visiting an exhibition at the Excel we wanted a nearby hotel to spend the night. well, this was absolutely ideal. As I live north of London this was extremely easy to get to off from the M11.
Parking wasn't a problem as right next door at £15.00 per 24 hours. Really accessible for the O" so plenty of restaurants and entertainment. Hotel was extremely modern, everything you need from a mid-price hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and well appointed. In house restaurant was very friendly and accommodating. Ideal location for a London base visit.

Room Tip: The room we had which was a double was superb and in case of any query just speak to reception staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Cuckie57,
Our East London space really seems to have worked for you! As you mentioned, our location is ideal for a visit to Excel or the O2. We're also close to Westfield Stratford, so in case you have some shopping to do, you know where to stay.
Have an easy breezy day,
Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#464 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#560 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing