We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft London Excel
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,993)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveller rating
863
779
236
66
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
779
236
66
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince regentdlr stationcity airportconvention centercanary wharfcanning townemirates air lineblack out blindssauna and steam roomdocklands light railwayattending a conferencejubilee linewalk in showercomfy bedbooked this hotelreception deskfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a Superbreak deal on a visit to see our daughter who works in London. The hotel is right next to the Prince Regent station on the DLR so handy if you are struggling with bags.
This is a very modern hotel, lovely rooms with drench showers, spotlessly clean and sleek in design. The corridors are fully carpeted which cuts down on outside noise and all rooms are air conditioned. Large flat screen TV , very nice but took a bit of working out, we are technically challenged so don't be put off! Two bottles of water was a nice and welcome touch and a small empty fridge for drinks also an ice bucket which you are welcome to fill at the bar, very civilised!
Breakfast was a high spot of the visit with everyhing you would expect and more, all fresh, replenished constantly and served with a smile.
The bar is a bit sterile , drinks pricey - it's London after all, but warmed up by the good humour and banter of the two barmen and this is the real strength of the hotel, all the staff are, without exception, friendly, helpful and good humoured.
Be warned, there is nothing around the hotel but two minutes on the DLR and you are in Canary Wharf with more bars, shops and eating places than you could shake a stick at!
All in all, a very pleasant experience, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awayagain45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Awayagain45, Thank you for leaving your review here. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the visit to your daughter whilst staying with us. We are indeed very conveniently located and you are right that with the DLR our guests are very close to plenty of fun. Our facilities are very modern as you say but if any help is required with our technical features our team is in the know and will certainly be able to assist. We are excited to hear that breakfast was the high spot of your stay as we have recently updated the variety on offer. Last but not least you mentioned our staff is the real strength of the hotel which I take as a big compliment, thank you and I will certainly pass you nice words on! We look forward to see you again with us and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Have stayed before and each time a great time was had by all. Fab modern rooms, exceptionally clean and very quiet. Great staff and a good bar at the hotel. They offer a loyalty scheme and if you opt to not have any housekeeping on the first night you get points on your loyalty card or £5 credit at the cafe - good move. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi PantBryn50, thank you for leaving us your review and returning to us upon your visits to London. It’s great to know you enjoy our facilities and loyalty scheme including the Green Choice. We are looking forward to have you around on your next visits to London and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was very easy to find (right next to the Prince Regent DLR station).
We received a nice warm welcome from the staff at check in, which was quick and easy.
Breakfast had a good selection, although I think it's slightly over priced.
Easy to get to the O2 and into London. Plan your day, if you only want one or two journeys on the trains, buy an Oyster card, cheaper than a day travel card.
We used the pool, sauna and steam room while we were there, which was very clean.
The bar was also slightly overpriced compared to other places in and around London and it became very rowdy during the evening, so we left as it wasn't very relaxing.
The surroundings are lovely and quiet and hardly heard any noise whilst in the room, except for what sounded like the aircon all night, which disrupted my sleep, even though I had switched it off. The blackout blinds work very well.
Nice touch to "be green" to select not to have your room serviced, giving you £5 to donate to charity or use against breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Grendel_666_DH, Thank you for leaving your review here! Great to hear you easily found us and you experienced your arrival as welcoming, warm and efficient.
We recently reviewed our breakfast offer and are excited to learn you liked our selection but also take your comment into account about the pricing. How nice you had time to relax in our Splash, sauna and steam room during your stay! Our Re:mix bar is indeed a hotspot and a place where a lot of our guests like to mix & mingle so it can indeed become quite busy. I am sorry to hear that your sleep got disrupted by a sound that sounded like air conditioning although you switched it off. Let’s have a look at a different location of your room in the hotel upon your next visit which may help. Good to know you appreciate our Green Choice which helps our guests being conscious about the environment. Looking forward to having you stay with us again and wish you a easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights recently. Great looking hotel from the outside very modern and clean. Reception and bar very cool and again clean!! Check in went very smoothly and lots of car park spaces,although expensive at £14 for 24 hrs maybe there should be a reduced price for multiple nights stay!! Headed straight for the bar as it was happy hour to be welcomed by a great bar man who told us had only been there three weeks and looked nervous but competent in what he did!! Our first cocktail ordered from the menu and asked if we could add it too the room which our barman promptly went to do only to do be told by his co worker we had to pay cash as it was happy hour and we wouldn't get it at the reduced price. Us and our barman feeling confused exchanged a few glances and then while the co workers back was turned we were told this was rubbish by our barman and of course we could put it on our room!! Our barman then kindly offered to make our next cocktail according to our individual taste...very personal touch we felt!! But it all turned extremely awkward when the co worker returned along with I assume a manager who was waiting for our barman for some sort of key arrangement we over heard. Our poor barman then nervously making our cocktails with the co worker mocking him rolling his eyes and generally belittling him in fact at one point saying "don't get cocky your new remember" when finished the co worker then syphoned a taste out of our cocktail with a straw and exclaimed it was ruined as he added tequila,When we were happy with our cocktails and as customers felt we should nt of seen this cringy power trip of the co worker and the manager should of quietly told the co worker to leave our barman to his job!! Nice rooms great air con,nice touch with bottle of free water. Although four star don't expect paper cups for tea and coffee!! Also no dressing mirror in the bedroom for us girls to straighten and dry our hair!! Also no bath which for a four star would expect!! Swimming pool was amazing to look at but absolutely freezing put us off using again, also shame there is no hot tub. All in all nice hotel would return good location and access to tube!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Allday-grazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Allday-grazer, Thank you for leaving us your review! Great to know you like the design of our hotel and regard our Lobby and Re:mix as cool. Parking in London is indeed pricy, if you could consider an alternative, the DLR drops you right on our doorstep. It is exciting to learn our barman was confident in created a unique cocktail for you, this is certainly the kind of service we expect from our Talent and I regret he was obstructed by a team member in his efforts to provide this service. We will obviously look into this matter.
We appreciate your comments on our bed and bathroom facilities and certainly take these into account. I am sorry to hear our Splash was too chilly maybe the sauna and steam room are a good alternative on your next visit. We look forward to have you staying with us and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely hotel, very modern, great location, we got a real bargain, stumbling distance to Excel and Prince Regent Tube Station. If any criticism, check in was a slow process and we were in a rush, drinks are pricey and maybe not as quiet as we would of liked, but if we could get the same rate again we would stay here for any event in London.

Room Tip: Maybe not facing runway but view was lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rontastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Rontastic, Thank you for leaving your review here! Great to hear you like our hotel and the location. At times it might indeed get busy at the reception desk but do not hesitate to use our check-in terminals in the future in case you are in a hurry. Our Re:mix is indeed very popular with our guests to mix & mingle so it can get busy but we certainly take your comment on the pricing into consideration. We look forward to your next stay and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews