We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A loft ,it is not !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #268 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A loft ,it is not !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a spur of the moment hotel selection,a last minute desicion to stay overnight and make a short informal business meeting ,into a bit of our time weekend ,with it being a 3-4 hour drive down from our home.
The hotel was a breath of fresh air,very modern /boutique type hotel ,with nice decor of furnishings and colour. The use of space and design of the bedroom was such a pleasant change to the same old familiar layout you generally get in most hotels.
We had an evening meal which was very nice and the service good as with all the staff.
Breakfast was even better , although they did seem to keep on running out of things ( maybe there should of been more staff ) but it was one of the best breakfast we had ever eaten.
Reception was plain sailing when booking in and out, very quick, informative and helpful ......overall very good. The only let down was that the bar did not open till 5pm ,which meant that if you wanted a drink of any kind you had to go to the self service type cafe area bit,which spoilt it for me,but i would still visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi janet b, thank you for sharing your experience with us. How great to learn you like our stylish decor and appreciate our modern set up. You also visited our FEDE restaurant for dinner and we are excited to hear you had a nice meal and received good service but even more so because you are so enthusiastic about our breakfast which we have recently renewed. More of our guests rediscovered our breakfast which creates a nice vibe in the mornings but at peak times it does gets a bit busy. Great to hear our Talent at reception was in the know and able to help you quick and efficiently. My apologies though for the disappointment experienced when you found the bar closed until 5pm, as we have a lot of business guests the hotel tends to be very quiet during the day but obviously we have to take of our weekend guests into account as well so I appreciate your feedback. We look forward seeing you again with us and wish you an easy breezy day. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    692
    199
    53
    38
See reviews for
177
564
101
620
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel is very modern and stylish with excellent links to central London (Prince Regent DLR is 2 minutes walk away). It was near the airport and although we could see the planes fly past the hotel very nearby we never heard them as the sound insulation was so good. Room was very clean and modern and the free bottled water was appreciated (I recently stayed in a 5 star hotel and they wanted to charge me for room water). Beds very comfy. Breakfast was superb with a very wide selection and all well cooked/presented. Parking is right outside the door (payable, eg £14 for 24 hours) but was reasonable considering London's usual high charges. Bar was comfortable with friendly staff. I'd definitely recommend it especially if you need the Excel which was right next door.

Room Tip: Don't drive into London from here as too far and London has huge traffic problems. The DLR (Metr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristoltravellers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Bristoltravellers100, thank you for leaving us with your review. Good to know you found your way easily into central London during your stay with us! As you mentioned our hotel is indeed very sound proof so our guest can fully relax during their stay. We appreciate your remark on our modern and stylish interior of the hotel, thanks!
We are very excited to learn you found our breakfast superb as we have just renewed our breakfast formula. Great to hear you had comfortable time at Re:mix and you would recommend us. It would be great having the opportunity to see you again with us. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. What a treat. Firstly I arrived here after 24hrs of travelling, I was under the weather and not feeling my most pleasant which completely changed when I was greeted by Nick at the front desk!! Nick has exceptional customer service skills and could not have been more lovely, helpful, warm, professional and accommodating!! Check in was just seamless with him and his attention to detail is the start to making your stay at this hotel just lovely. We stayed in a twin which was a lovely big room. The room was spotless and everything worked. Free wifi was terrific. The showers are huge and powerful which is a must for me. Rooms are kept well maintained by house keeping through your stay. Pool and gym were perfect. Breakfast, although pricey at £15 each, had a fantastic selection and how nice to finally find a hotel that does not cook scrambled egg into rubber!! The hotel is about 2hrs from Heathrow via the DLR / underground lines but is well worth the journey as the comfort awaiting you here cannot be beaten. It's a stones throw from London City airport. Honestly cannot wait to be back here and again a huge thank you to Nick for your outstanding customer service!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissImelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Misslmelda, thank you for leaving us with your nice review. I am delighted to know that Nick made you feel right at home with us. This is certainly the level of service we are trying to achieve at Aloft London Excel. Rest assured I will share your comments with Nick. You also mentioned you enjoyed our big rooms including our huge and powerful showers, free wifi and our Splash pool and Re:charge gym which, I am sure, left you feeling energized. Great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection which we have recently updated. If you prefer to spend a bit less I could also recommend our Re:fuel which provides individual breakfast items. I can definitely recommend flying on city airport next time you visit to reduce your travel time and we look forward seeing you again! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A one nights stay for a trip to the Theatre and Sightseeing. Rooms & Breakfast Excellent. The one thing that really shone out were the Staff, with everyone from Reception to Bar Staff being so friendly and helpful. We all wished we could have stayed longer than one night. The only down side was that Black Cab Drivers did not know where it was without using sat nav which caused mega problems when returning from The Lyceum when we had a tour of a housing estate at night and the driver had to get out and ask where we were! Bless him, he only charged the £30 it should have been and not the £52 on the meter! Hope he got home alright!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Carol B, Thank you for leaving a review here. I am delighted to hear our Talent made such a positive impact to your stay by being so friendly and helpful. This is definitely the level of service we like to be known for. Just an advice regarding transport for your next visit, use our Driving4You taxi service and they can pick you up anywhere in London and surely know how to find their way to us. Hopefully you will be able to stay a bit longer with us next time but in any case we look forward seeing you again! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this hotel. Lovely comfy beds. Room looked good. Modern with nice decor. Friendly helpful staff. Couldn't find plug to plug in hair dryer so it would be helpful if this was made clear but apparently there was one under sink unit. Able to get breakfast from the on site shop. I will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnytrip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Sunnytrip17, thank you for leaving us your review. Great to hear you loved our comfy beds and stylish decor but even more importantly your appreciation for our Talent which you described as friendly and helpful. Thank you for your comment on the hairdryer, this is certainly a room feature which we will need to highlight so our guest will be able to find it more easily. We look forward to see you again on your next trip to London. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a convention hotel that is in no man's land. You do not want to tour London and then have to take two trains (if You can get on them) to go rest. I would pay more money and stay in central London, particulary if this is your first time in London. There is nothing around this hotel, not even a restaurant. The hotel restaurant closes early. We had to eat crackers. It is an expensive hotel and you get nothing. The staff is robotic

Room Tip: Not a chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefaud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi mikefaud1, thank you for leaving a review here. We are indeed located in an up-and-coming area next to the Excel Exhibition centre and about 30 minutes by tube from the city centre. The DLR and Jubilee line run every 5-10 minutes but early morning and late at night less frequently. For our business travellers we also have a shuttle service to Canary Warf running every half an hour in the morning and evenings (weekdays only). One tube stop from the hotel there are quite a few restaurants but the variety on offer is indeed less than central London. Our restaurant closes at 22.30 o’clock (last order at 22.00), was it closed earlier during your visit? As an alternative we have our Re:fuel which is opened 24hrs which provides snacks and sandwiches or our WXYZ Bar offering snacks and burgers. My apologies for the fact you experienced our staff as being robotic. We strive to create an authentic and genuine experience for our guests leaving them with an unique impression. I regret we were unable to accomplish that during your visit. If we have the opportunity of welcoming you back it would be a pleasure to provide you with some ideas on local attractions and restaurants and create some excitement for the Docklands. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Overall, not a bad hotel and I wanted to give it 4 stars.

+ comfortable bed and good night's sleep
+ blackout blinds were effective
+ large TV and good positioning
+ friendly service

- dinner menu is overpriced compared to competitors in that area. Truffle macaroni was watery and spinach was drowning in salt water. Very unappetising.
- cooked breakfast was average at best. Sausages had very touch skins, bacon was fatty and under cooked. Few staff around to order bespoke eggs. Had to wait for a seat at 7.30 am.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 7RAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi 7RAC, thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and had a good night sleep. Unfortunately your visits to our FEDE restaurant for dinner and breakfast have been somewhat of a disappointment. Rest assured I have addressed your comments with our Food & Beverage manager as well as the Head Chef and we are currently looking into improving our food quality and breakfast selection. Our buffet breakfast is indeed very popular and at peak times waiting times are slightly longer. If you are in a hurry I would recommend our Re:fuel opposite the reception desk where breakfast items are available as well but it tends to be less busy. I hope our comfortable beds due convince you to stay with us again and we will have the opportunity of letting you re-live our FEDE restaurant experience after the improvements made. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#300 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#449 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#547 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing