We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money but location lets it down”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #261 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Value for money but location lets it down”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for our London stay. Have to say was not expecting a hotel of this kind of quality when I was booking or when we were getting to the hotel. The hotel itself is brand new, the rooms were spectacularly clean and the staff was very friendly. They even had our Eurail passes received for us upon request. The bar is cozy and cheerful and there is a complimentary swimming pool and a gym. The rooms had good WiFi.
However, the location is horrible if you are visiting London by Heathrow, Gatwick, or taking the Eurostar. Takes less than an hour from Victoria station and is at zone 3 in the London underground map. It's connected to the Prince Regent DLR station so it's very convenient to access the DLR but you have to make a transfer to the Underground. The hotel itself is right next to London Excel, but the nearest restaurants a 15 minute walk around the Excel. You probably wanna take the DLR to Royal Victoria DLR station.
This is the best hotel you can probably sleep in for this kind of money, recommended for value, good rooms, but not for location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholaskim94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Nicholaskim94, thank you for leaving us your review here. Great to hear you liked our stylish hotel and experienced our hotel rooms as spectacularly clean but most of all we are excited to hear you find our Talent very friendly. Our re:mix has a great vibe indeed and our splash pool and re:charge gym are a great way to relax. As you described the hotel is situated in an up-and-coming area but cannot be compared to central London. It’s good to hear though you found your way around and I would definitely recommend to fly on London City Airport instead of Heathrow or Gatwick as this airport is very close by and saves a lot of travel time. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    728
    205
    56
    40
See reviews for
189
600
105
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Amazing. Simply amazing. The interiors of this room is designed so well. The windows, desks and lights have been thought of clearly of where they would be placed and what connection they have to the room. Great shower, good quality sink and taps. These rooms are very well thought of, they use the space well and never ever would you feel crowded. Great furniture with comfortable beds only to be perfected by the use of colours and materials. Great service and incredible building which stands out in Excel. This hotel is modern, trendy, hip, full of character and soul.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yourpandax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi yourpandax, thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear you are amazed by our stylish hotel and well-designed rooms. It’s of great importance to us our guests feel comfortable and relaxed with us and I am excited to learn we have succeeded during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is not the first hotel I've visited in the UK where the bar did not open until 5:00 pm, but it amazes me as to why this is? Can someone explain it to me? With so many people needing jobs, hotels could employee bartenders as well as make a load of money having bars open.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Patti B, thank you for sharing your experience with us. My apologies for the disappointment experienced when you found our re:mix bar closed until 5PM. Being a hotel that is mostly visited by business guests, experience shows that they mostly return to the hotel after work for a drink therefore the afternoon is relatively quiet at the hotel nevertheless if there are any guests that would like a drink or snack our re:fuell is open 24hrs a day. Hopefully our re:mix opening times do not hold you back to visit us again and I appreciate your feedback. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent one night in transit between LHR and LCY. It is a convenient hotel for LCY. It lacks warmth and personal touch. The room was clean, efficient, and small. The swimming pool looked amazing, although I did not use it. the swimming pool is not private at all. food options are simply functional, this is not a foodie place!! As for the location, it is in the middle of nowhere, so to speak, unless yoy count the Excel facility as a draw.

Green Features: It is indeed committed to environmental practices. They provide sparingly towels.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi RabbitVancouver, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are indeed very closely located to London City Airport and with the DLR line on our doorstep it is easy to get to the airport. I am sorry to hear you felt the hotel lacked warmth and personal touch as our aim is to connect with our guest in a vibrant and relaxed environment. Great to hear though you found the room clean and efficient which hopefully provided you with a good night sleep and left you energized. Our Splash pool is indeed a great way to relax and can be used exclusively by our hotel guests. Our hotel is indeed based in an up-and-comming area but our Talent is in the know to give you some fun and refreshing activities and restaurants in the area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

it is the cheaper hotel of the brand W (sheraton, ecc...) a bit expensive than other similar (ibis style, ecc.. ) but the service and all in general is very very good. one sin only the location, in the suburbs, it needs 30 min from the city centre. all good but if you wish, try to buy in advance it will be better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Roberto B, thank you for leaving us your review here. Aloft has indeed much of the W dna but is more focused on giving guests the empowered experience of control. It does take about 30 minutes getting to the heart of London but luckily the DLR stop is right on our doorstep which makes it quick and easy. We hope you will choose us again for a stay in London and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked a 1 night stay on 23/07/14 before are flight to Brussels from Heathrow T5 due to us staying here last July when using London city airport and the Heathrow T5 hotels been fully booked. 60 minute transfer from DLR Prince Regent - West Ham - District line to Acton Town - Piccadilly line - Heathrow T5. £3.00 each with visitor oyster card. (this is the quickest and less busy route avoiding busy London stations) Booked a double room with breakfast and on arrival allocated a fabulous high floor room as requested on floor 8. Modern, extremely clean and
located at the end of the corridor. Had night cap drinks on our return to the hotel on the 2nd floor outside terrace. Lovely setting and atmosphere. Quite nights sleep/no noise at all. Breakfast was hot, wide variety and restaurant is in a lovely setting. Check out was hassle free. Reception, bar and restaurant staff are extremely welcoming and customer service is excellent. Well done to the staff at Aloft London Excel for a pleasant stay. We are flying out of London city in November and have already booked a pre airport stay.

Room Tip: High floor- floor 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davide79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi davide79_12, Thank you for leaving us your review here and returning to our hotel for your pre airport stays. Travelling to our hotel is indeed quite easy as the DLR stop Prince Regent is right on our doorstep. Great to hear your enjoyed one of our stylish rooms on the 8th floor. It is indeed very relaxing to enjoy our terrace which provides a nice view over the docklands. We are very excited to learn you enjoyed breakfast as we have just renewed our breakfast concept but most of all I am very pleased to know you find our Talent extremely welcoming and describe our service as excellent. Rest assured I will share your comments with our teams and we look forward seeing you again in November! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Well run hotel which is clean and comfortable with very pleasant and helpful staff. DLR Station is 2 minutes away so easy for commuting, there is a pub called the Fox behind the Premier Inn opposite which does food from breakfast on if you want to vary from the restaurant. Splendid little snack bar in the hotel itself which is open all hours if you want a light breakfast or a Panini late on. I will certainly use Aloft again, the commute in to central London takes half an hour or so but the Oyster Card makes that cheap and you are in quality accommodation in a quiet area.

Room Tip: have a high one and enjoy the view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Good - waste segregation, efficient electrical appliances etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkThrusst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi DirkThrusst, thank you for leaving us your review. The DLR is indeed located just on our doorstep which makes it an easy commute into central London. Great to know you also appreciated our Re:fuel shop which is open 24hrs a day but we are most excited about your remark concerning our Talent being pleasant and helpful, that’s a great compliment! We look forward to welcome you back and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#291 of 1,069 in London
2,227 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#478 of 1,069 in London
2,011 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#570 of 1,069 in London
1,457 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing