We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience.”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #261 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Masonville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were very happy with the time spent at the aloft Excel. The room was comfortable. The swimming pool and spa were a welcome relief at the end of a busy day, and the restaurant served a sumptuous breakfast. We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Getty for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Certainly environmentally aware. We were given a number of options.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franceshic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Franceshic, thank you for leaving your review here. Great to learn you spend a nice time with us and enjoyed our splash pool to relax after a busy day! We are very excited you described our breakfast as "sumptuous" as we have just renewed our breakfast formula. We look forward to welcome you back with us and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    720
    202
    56
    39
See reviews for
186
590
104
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the London Aloft at London Excel and had a great time. The English breakfast is way overpriced, but we had a take-away breakfast and that was nice.
The rooms are quiet and clean and the hotel staff is very friendly.
there is very good transport to the city center by taking the DLR just 1 minute from the hotel.

Green Features: You can choose if you want your room cleaned up or not while you're away. If you choose to skip housekeeping, they donate 5£ to charity.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroma_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi caroma_photography, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great to hear you were in the know about our take-away breakfast from Re:fuel which is indeed a nice budget option. Furthermore it’s good to know you found your way into central London with the DLR line on our doorstep. It’s a real compliment you find our rooms clean and perceived our Talent as being very friendly, rest assured I will share this with my teams. Thank you for staying with us and I wish you an easy breeze day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recommend the Aloft hotel, it is a great value for your money. It’s a clean, casual environment, with helpful friendly staff. Is not in the heart of London, it is set out in the Docklands, however it’s a stop for the DLR with connects to the underground, so it is very accessible especially if you are not driving and rely on public transportation. It has a restaurant which I did not experience and a togo convenience shop. I would probably like to have stayed more in the heart of London but the price was unbeatable. If you a tourist and want to be in the heart of London, this hotel is not for you, If you travel for business in the area, I highly recommend it.

Save travels!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6bella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi 6bella1, thank you for sharing your review with us and recommending our hotel as great value for money. The Aloft vibe is indeed casual but friendly and it’s great to hear that suited you. With the DLR on our doorstep the hotel is very accessible and it’s great to hear you easily found your way around. We look forward to welcome you back and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This large and modern hotel is situated just minutes from London City Airport, adjacent to the Excel Centre. It is also connected to the DLR (Prince Regent Station) for easy transport into central London.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we had to queue to check-in as they only had 2 people on reception. The time taken to actually check-in was quite quick, but the 15 minute wait to get that far was less than acceptable.

Our room was bright and modern, and a good size for London, although I suspect that the room size does get bigger the further from central London you go.

Room facilities were the norm with no in-room wifi. Wardrobe space was limited; acceptable for an overnight stay, less than acceptable for a week long stay (we were there for 5 days).

We had a buffet breakfast included in our room rate. The breakfast items were fresh and warm, without my visible grease, and were replenished frequently.

The hotel also has leisure facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and gym. Whilst the facilities were spotlessly clean, I did find the unisex changing rooms uncomfortable.

Given that we stayed in this hotel for a break in London, we really only slept here. We left the hotel in the morning and wouldn’t return until late at night, so we didn’t try lunch or dinner in the hotel, nor did we try the hotel bar. We did however try the 24 hour snack bar, which serves tea, coffee, soft drinks crisps, sweets, ice-cream, and a limited selection of hot snacks.

Using the DLR and tube into Central London took between 45-60 mins, apart from the weekend where the DLR was closed for Crossrail works. Whilst the Oyster card provides great value, we did feel that we couldn’t return to the hotel during the day at any point as this would be a waste of nearly 2 hours.

In summary, this hotel is ideally placed for an overnight stay when visiting the Excel Centre, but is less than ideal for a trip to central London.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello David B, thank you for sharing your experience with us. The DLR is indeed located on our doorstep and an easy way getting into central London. Although we are located in an up-and-coming area of London you are right, our location is not city centre but depending on where you would like to go in London it takes about 30-45 minutes getting to the heart of London. I am sorry to hear you had to wait 15 minutes before you were able to check-in, this certainly exceeds our average time to check in and I can understand your patience was tested here. I was surprised about your comment our rooms not containing in-room wife as we have free wifi access throughout the hotel. You might have not been informed upon check-in? Our wardrobe space is indeed more tailored towards the average business guest staying a maximum of 2 to 3 nights but maybe we can assist you in storing some luggage next time. We are excited to learn you enjoyed our breakfast as we have just renewed our breakfast formula. Great to hear as well you had time to relax in our splash pool and re:charge gym during your stay which is always a treat after a day of sightseeing. Hopefully the distance to the city centre does not hold you back visiting us again and I wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here for the London triathlon. And slept amazingly on the super comfy beds. Really clean and very friendly/helpful staff. The facilities are also top notch, we used the gym and pool more than once. A must stay place for anyone using the EXCEL centre.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phildenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Phildenby, Thank you for leaving us your review here. Great to here you enjoyed our beds and had a good night sleep but we are even more excited you complimented us on our cleanliness and friendly Talent. You also visited our splash and re:charge during your stay which is indeed a great way to relax and re-energize. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If all hotels in London gave this level of service to guests companies like Last Minute would go bust. Absolutely fantastic first class service from young European staff from reception, shop, bar to breakfast. Checkout was slick and professional. Many chains could learn a lot from aloft.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Pretronas, thank you for leaving your review. What a great compliment! It is a real pleasure to know you have appreciated our Talent so much during your stay and we look forward to welcome you back with us. Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

From the off the staff were very helpful with directions and with our queries.

Rooms were lovely, big king size bed, modern layout and amenities. Pillows were too soft for my liking but mattress was great. Would be nice to have proper shampoo and conditioner instead of the 2in1 stuff they provide. Blackout blinds were great.

Breakfast was lovely with a good variety. Drinks at bar were good and reasonably priced for London. Very close (2 min walk) to Prince Regent DLR.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello gimme_wings, thank you for leaving us your review here. Great to hear our Talent took good care of you during your stay and you enjoyed our stylish rooms and amenities. We are excited to learn you loved our breakfast as we have just renewed our breakfast formula. You also had the opportunity to relax at our WXYZ Bar for a drink, which is good to hear. If you visit us again do not hesitate to check with our front desk Talent on the upcoming Live at Aloft gigs during your stay as these events are a real cool way to spent your evening. We look forward to welcome you back and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#297 of 1,067 in London
2,198 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#465 of 1,067 in London
1,989 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#575 of 1,067 in London
1,432 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing