We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft London Excel
Nearby Hotels
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,993)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveller rating
863
779
236
66
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
779
236
66
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince regentdlr stationcity airportconvention centercanary wharfcanning townemirates air lineblack out blindssauna and steam roomdocklands light railwayattending a conferencejubilee linewalk in showercomfy bedbooked this hotelreception deskfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,038 - 1,043 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

a modern clean hotel with good facilities near the excel and london city airport.easy to get to on the DLR,prince regent stop.a taxi ride to city airport is £10.
the room on the 8th floor was modern and clean overlooking east london and considering how close it is to city airport i did not hear any aircraft noise.
the breakfast was excellent.
i did not book the hotel directly,but from a different site.when i arrived,they said that the room i booked was not available.however after some time they could find me a room which was suitable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Maria L, Thank you for leaving your review. Great to hear you like our style and the proximity to London City Airport. We are very excited you described our breakfast as being “excellent” as we have just renewed our formula. Luckily we found a suitable room for you upon arrival and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were very happy with the time spent at the aloft Excel. The room was comfortable. The swimming pool and spa were a welcome relief at the end of a busy day, and the restaurant served a sumptuous breakfast. We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Getty for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franceshic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Franceshic, thank you for leaving your review here. Great to learn you spend a nice time with us and enjoyed our splash pool to relax after a busy day! We are very excited you described our breakfast as "sumptuous" as we have just renewed our breakfast formula. We look forward to welcome you back with us and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the London Aloft at London Excel and had a great time. The English breakfast is way overpriced, but we had a take-away breakfast and that was nice.
The rooms are quiet and clean and the hotel staff is very friendly.
there is very good transport to the city center by taking the DLR just 1 minute from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroma_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi caroma_photography, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great to hear you were in the know about our take-away breakfast from Re:fuel which is indeed a nice budget option. Furthermore it’s good to know you found your way into central London with the DLR line on our doorstep. It’s a real compliment you find our rooms clean and perceived our Talent as being very friendly, rest assured I will share this with my teams. Thank you for staying with us and I wish you an easy breeze day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recommend the Aloft hotel, it is a great value for your money. It’s a clean, casual environment, with helpful friendly staff. Is not in the heart of London, it is set out in the Docklands, however it’s a stop for the DLR with connects to the underground, so it is very accessible especially if you are not driving and rely on public transportation. It has a restaurant which I did not experience and a togo convenience shop. I would probably like to have stayed more in the heart of London but the price was unbeatable. If you a tourist and want to be in the heart of London, this hotel is not for you, If you travel for business in the area, I highly recommend it.

Save travels!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 6bella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi 6bella1, thank you for sharing your review with us and recommending our hotel as great value for money. The Aloft vibe is indeed casual but friendly and it’s great to hear that suited you. With the DLR on our doorstep the hotel is very accessible and it’s great to hear you easily found your way around. We look forward to welcome you back and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This large and modern hotel is situated just minutes from London City Airport, adjacent to the Excel Centre. It is also connected to the DLR (Prince Regent Station) for easy transport into central London.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we had to queue to check-in as they only had 2 people on reception. The time taken to actually check-in was quite quick, but the 15 minute wait to get that far was less than acceptable.

Our room was bright and modern, and a good size for London, although I suspect that the room size does get bigger the further from central London you go.

Room facilities were the norm with no in-room wifi. Wardrobe space was limited; acceptable for an overnight stay, less than acceptable for a week long stay (we were there for 5 days).

We had a buffet breakfast included in our room rate. The breakfast items were fresh and warm, without my visible grease, and were replenished frequently.

The hotel also has leisure facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and gym. Whilst the facilities were spotlessly clean, I did find the unisex changing rooms uncomfortable.

Given that we stayed in this hotel for a break in London, we really only slept here. We left the hotel in the morning and wouldn’t return until late at night, so we didn’t try lunch or dinner in the hotel, nor did we try the hotel bar. We did however try the 24 hour snack bar, which serves tea, coffee, soft drinks crisps, sweets, ice-cream, and a limited selection of hot snacks.

Using the DLR and tube into Central London took between 45-60 mins, apart from the weekend where the DLR was closed for Crossrail works. Whilst the Oyster card provides great value, we did feel that we couldn’t return to the hotel during the day at any point as this would be a waste of nearly 2 hours.

In summary, this hotel is ideally placed for an overnight stay when visiting the Excel Centre, but is less than ideal for a trip to central London.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello David B, thank you for sharing your experience with us. The DLR is indeed located on our doorstep and an easy way getting into central London. Although we are located in an up-and-coming area of London you are right, our location is not city centre but depending on where you would like to go in London it takes about 30-45 minutes getting to the heart of London. I am sorry to hear you had to wait 15 minutes before you were able to check-in, this certainly exceeds our average time to check in and I can understand your patience was tested here. I was surprised about your comment our rooms not containing in-room wife as we have free wifi access throughout the hotel. You might have not been informed upon check-in? Our wardrobe space is indeed more tailored towards the average business guest staying a maximum of 2 to 3 nights but maybe we can assist you in storing some luggage next time. We are excited to learn you enjoyed our breakfast as we have just renewed our breakfast formula. Great to hear as well you had time to relax in our splash pool and re:charge gym during your stay which is always a treat after a day of sightseeing. Hopefully the distance to the city centre does not hold you back visiting us again and I wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews