We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basil Fawlty would be proud”
Review of Wild & Wood Coffee

Wild & Wood Coffee
Ranked #257 of 850 Coffee & Tea in London
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Cosy, wood-panelled cafe with church pews for seats, serving artisan coffee, cakes and savouries.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty would be proud”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We came back to have coffee here after a really wonderful experience a couple of months ago. What a mistake that was. The espresso macchiato was more like a latte - milky and awful. When we asked (very nicely!) to please replace it with a macchiato the waitress gave us the stink eye and produced an evil brew of bitter espresso which was truly undrinkable. Twice we asked (nicely !) for a glass of water to go with the coffee and finally with a face like thunder the waitress slammed two glasses of water down. We decided to pay and leave as the atmosphere was getting really ugly. The two women serving were bad tempered, unpleasant, rude and incapable of making coffee of any kind. While we were waiting to pay, a gentleman was ordering coffee to go, and asked for a bag to carry the cup in. The waitress refused, telling him it was pointless and a waste of time to put the cup in the bag and refused to give him one. We left our money on the counter and left, to the sound of the woman yelling after us that we 'couldn't just leave like that'. The whole experience was so awful it was funny - I could only wish Basil had witnessed it - he would have been proud.

Helpful?
9 Thank melangedevise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    7
    5
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best espresso I ever had.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent coffee shop for coffee lovers. Their espresso is superb and cakes are delicious.
The barista girl is working so hard from the early morning till the late night - bravo!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
743 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“The hunt for the cronut”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Having heard about cronuts, I searched for where I could get one in London and found this place. We went here on a Saturday afternoon. It is a small eclectic cafe on the edge of theatre land. Inside there is a tiny little wooden nook, plus the main serving area with a few more tables and a couple more outside. The coffee is good and the sandwiches look very appetizing. The cronuts available were all salted caramel, which were very sweet, but you do get a sense of the cross between the croissant and the doughnut. They are not cheap at over £4 each, but I can stop searching now.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chance find”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Never heard of this before even though I have been in this area lots of times.
Blurb in the window proclaimed it as a Time Out favourite. What really attracted me in was the rosemary focaccia, avocado and mozzarella sandwich. Looked great. Well, it tasted great too. Coffee was good. The latte tasted great and was really smooth.
The place itself is tiny and cosy.
Definitely will be back now I know it's here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank g4Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,691 helpful votes
“A life-saver”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A life-saver if you're weary and stressed out after a visit to the British Museum, where the old Reading Room seems to have disappeared. Welcoming, intelligent, laid-back people, warm wooden furniture, dog-eared pictures of Captain Mainwaring, Dick Emery, and the like on the walls, comfortable and away from the crowds. Good coffee, too. (Monmouth.) You can get cakes, pies, buns and so forth as well.

It's tiny, about like a medium-sized bedroom, so even with the table sharing policy (just sit down where there's a spare place - a good thing) I suspect it might get a bit busy at some times of the day. There was no problem in the early afternoon.

Prices very reasonable, esp. compared to the museum. If it's sunny you can sit on the pavement outside. Take away if you want.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild & Wood Coffee also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Wild & Wood Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing