We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub, good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Devonshire

The Devonshire
Ranked #8,172 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: also known as The Duke Of Devonshire
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice pub, good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nice pub and good food. It's comfortable and cosy, yet quite large so you can usually get a seat. It has a large outside area as well which is unusual in London!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    12
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Balham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This pub is lovely! Popped in for a pint in the week and so pleased we tried the place. Lovely atmosphere , decoration beautiful and very clean! Served by a polite young chap- must be new at the job as seemed to be struggling but to be fair once he gets some training he will be ship shape. Will certainly be returning and looking forward to it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janineclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Slow service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have lived in this area for over 15 years and due to the wide choice of restaurants had never eaten here before, although have enjoyed the odd pint here.
Probably be another 20 years before I bother to venture back.
Was invited to lunch and we sat at the far end by the garden and personally I thought the seating was a little crowded and a little noisy.
Service started well and we were immediately offered tap water, this was brought quickly and our order for drinks taken. It took over 30 minutes to bring our drinks! despite being assured the drinks are coming several times.
We all ordered a roast dinner at around £15 . two meals arrived after a fair wait and the remaining one about 5 minutes later, not too much of a problem if freshly prepared.
Well the Yorkshire pudding was large and tasty, the TWO slices of thinly sliced beef were fairly tasteless and quite fatty.
The TWO roast potatoes were not crispy and again lacked flavour despite the claim that they were cooked in goose fat. The rest of the meal was no better than okay and the whole plate no better than a £4.99 job in one of the chain restaurant.
Very disappointed and will not return as local choices far exceed the service and value seen here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iprodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW...What an ordeal....might as well go to Weatherspoons!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where do we even start??? Staff CLEARLY hate their jobs, food over cooked completely tasteless and thrown on a plate, terrible management, completely clueless and deranged the 'boss' thinks that he is running the place...he clearly drives the staff up the walls with his rudeness and how I hear him speak to people and then actually has the gall to charge £5 per pint...such a terrible shame seeing as it is such a beautiful pub, get rid of that idiot and the place will run itself

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great night and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited the Devonshire on Friday 20th to socialise and eat with a large group of friends. Am loving the new things on the menu. Order taken promptly and food all arrived at similar time. Food was good quality, well presented and very tasty . We weren't rushed through the courses and had plenty of time to chat and catch up. I had no room for a pudding after the huge fish and chips but my partners tiramisu looked great. A very nice evening in a very friendly pub -we will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing