We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and Beer. What's Not to Like?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Tavern Trails

London Tavern Trails
Ranked #101 of 658 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London Tavern Trails operates pre-booked guided walking tours to London's historic pubs. There are 4 classic London tours to choose from in Holborn, Fleet Street, Covent Garden and Wapping. Bespoke tours can be arranged to suit individual requirements. Tours are available seven days a week throughout the year. "The London Pub Tour Specialist".
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History and Beer. What's Not to Like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Tavern Trails tour was one of the most unique tours I have ever been on. History is often covered up and unseen, and Bridget uncovers the history of London for you. The topics went as far back to Roman occupiers and how it shaped the city. Where did the shape of the wedding cake originate? Take the tour and see for yourself. This tour is well off the normal tourist beaten path. I highly recommend incorporating this into your London travels. You'll learn far more than you would even moving to London. And of course, you'll get these lessons while enjoying some fine British beers and who could complain about that?

We found Bridget to be a warm and engaging person with a plethora of knowledge to share. Thanks again Bridget!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaytor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTavernTrails, Owner at London Tavern Trails, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed Bridget's tour. Thank you for your kind words and thank you for posting a Trip Advisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NorCal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"London history and beer!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We hit the jackpot with this tour! We choose the Fleet Street tour and meet John, one of the owners of London Tavern Trails at the Temple Underground station for our 4pm start time. At that point John told us that our party of 6, 2 of which are Londoners, were the only ones on the tour and he then explained to us that we would go along at our pace! Loved that idea! From then on we enjoyed a relaxed and informative walk around Fleet street and many of it's famous pubs. We weaved in and out of the streets, stopping at different points of interests related to our tour of choice, we saw Dr. Johnson's house and learned about the man that wrote the first dictionary. We sampled different ales at each of our stops discussing the differences and choosing our "favorites"! Our tour ended at the beautiful Black-Friar tavern with more ale and some apps. We finally said good-bye to John 3 1/2 hours later!
If we ever go back to London we would take another tour with London Tavern Trails, Thanks John for the fantastic time!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTavernTrails, Owner at London Tavern Trails, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you jimpink for your lovely words. They are much appreciated, we can assure you. Hope to see you again on another tour one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wished for a little bit more....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Took the Dickens tour with Bridget and a girlfriend. The tour was very informative and we saw parts of London we hadn't seen and learned about things we didn't know. Bridget was very nice and tried very hard to ensure we had a good time, which we did. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting London as you feel like you have your own private tour guide for a few hours. I enjoyed myself immensely but both of us didn't feel like our tour specifically was our guide's passion and for the price that was a bit of a let down . I would definitely like to do it again given the chance, maybe with another topic...Regardless, if you get the chance do it! Highly recommended!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pharlap31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTavernTrails, Owner at London Tavern Trails, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you pharlap31 for your frank and honest review. We are sorry that you ended the tour feeling that you wished for a little bit more, but we are glad that you did enjoy it and we thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
“First-rate Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you're looking for an interesting, fun way to see a different side of London, I highly recommend that you book a tour with the London Tavern Trails. My wife and I met Morris on a Friday evening for a tour centering on Charles Dickens. We went to four completely unique taverns and were given a wonderful sense of the streets that Dickens (and others) walked a century and a half ago. Morris was engaging, funny and smart and the three hours flew by. Take it from somebody with high standards (this is my first Trip Advisor review) - next time you're in London, give Morris a call!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Time and Cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I took a Tavern Trails tour of the Covent Gardens area. I booked the tour based on the Trip Advisor reviews before leaving home. The booking was very easy and they were very good about communicating with us. Our guide, Grieg, was very informative and interesting. He was most pleasant and we enjoyed spending time with him as if he were a friend. Our tour was about 3 1/2 hours long and we covered quite a bit of ground. I would highly recommend this to any history buff or lover of beer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Tavern Trails also viewed

 

Been to London Tavern Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing