We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”
Review of The Corner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Corner House
Ranked #292 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I spent four lovely days at "The Corner House".
I arrived late in the evening and Joanna gave me biscuits and fresh fruit, it made me feel at home straight away.
The room is cosy and comfortable, with a lovely view of the park and breakfast is delicious and very filling, I only needed a sandwich at lunchtime!

Joanna parla perfetto italiano e tutte le mattine a colazione mi ha fatto compagnia e mi ha dato tantissime informazioni su Greenwich e sulle attrazioni di Londra.
Quando sono andata via ha prenotato il taxi per me, assicurandosi che la tariffa fosse buona: é stata davvero gentilissima!

Se torno a Greenwich torneró senz'altro alla "Corner House"!

Emilia V.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
Thank EWV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have stayed here on a number of occasions on business and find Joanna very welcoming and accommodating. House is centrally located in Greenwich and is walking distance to the train station and off course to the beautiful Greenwich Park. Breakfasts are amazing and the decor is something between vintage and chic. Would suit couples wanting to get away for a romantic weekend...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A big thank you for all your hospitality. You extended me a very warm welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble - like the time Bill brought me breakfast in bed because i wasn't feeling well. I loved your well-appointed rooms and the fact that the corner house is in the centre of Greenwich. Obviously, you take great pride in your establishment and I really appreciated it. Like the famous general, I will return.
Dave Bradshaw,
Clitheroe

Room Tip: Go for the room opposite the huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights just a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it, the location and the hospitality.
The decor of this bed and breakfast is stylish and chic, with very expensive travertine flooring which can adds lots of charachter to the room. To the less sofisticated eye the natural veins in the "marble" could look "shabby". We went on reccomandation from friends and the place was spotless and had a great will definately go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I stayed in November 2011 and liked it so much we returned for a mini break in January 2012. Rather like settling into a comfy pair of slippers the accommodation is cosy, warm and inviting. Breakfasts that burst my new year resolutions....lovely!
Joanna, the owner, is very knowledgeable regarding local sights and exhibitions, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The location is perfect, opposite Greenwich park, and a short stroll from the centre of Greenwich and the Maritime museum, River cruises can be made from the local pier, and there are many lovely restaurants in the area.
This is a definite "must stay" place for us, and we hope to be back to sample the delights in the summer..

Room Tip: All rooms that we have stayed in were comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 510Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My partner and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Corner House now on two occasions. The property is perfectly located for exploring the beautiful surrounding area of Greenwich. We found our rooms extremely clean and well equipment - the antique furniture adding a special touch. The proprietor Joanna, was very welcoming, friendly and happy to suggest places of interest to visit during our stay. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection, hearty portions which kept us well fuelled during the day. The memory of our stay is at odds to the adverse comments made by 1 or 2 previous guests. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely, well positioned property, its a superb place to relax, within easy walking distance to Greenwich Park and many local restaurants where you can enjoy a lovely romantic meal. 10 out of 10 Joanna!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in early December occupying the top floor en suite bedroom. The floor of the en suite was absolutely filthy. We had to cover it with towels to walk on it. No guest soap of any kind was provided. The water in the hot tap and shower ran either tepid and scalding by turns at an inconstant pressure. On exiting the shower cubicle, the door handle came away in my hand.

The room itself was inadequately heated although we did find an elecric heater to plug in which helped to certain extent. There were no shades on either bedside lamp. Neither were any tea of coffee making facilities provided inspite of this being offered on the web site.
We were not given a key to our room and returned on the second evening to find the door locked. It took the Propietor twenty minutes to locate a key to let us into the room.

As for breakfast, well I've eaten at "greasy spoons" with higher standards! All in all our stay was a dismal experience and certainly not worth the price of £85 per night. The Corner House failed to meet even to most minimal standards I would expect from a B&B.

Room Tip: Don't bother "good" rooms non-existant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 28 Royal Hill | Greenwich, London SE10 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* star tourist board registered b/b situated in royal hill.greenwich.s.e.10 8rt in the heart of greenwich, 3 minutes walking distance to the park main gates,and all historical sites .cutty sark and river 5mins walking distance.a beautiful period propertyfurnished to a very high standard.excellent breakfast cooked or continental provided.tv/wireless/coffee making facilities/hairdryer.all rooms ensuite.3 bedrooms 1 twin/i single/1family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing