We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly pub drinks prices reasonable for London”
Review of O'Neill's - CLOSED

O'Neill's
Cuisines: British
Good for: Bar Scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub drinks prices reasonable for London”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I visited O'Neills last night with my boyfriend and two friends. It was overall a good experience. It was relatively quiet for a Friday evening which left me pleasantly surprised as the worst thing is when a bar is so packed you can't get served let alone sit down! We were served straight away and managed to get a table. The overall atmosphere of this pub is very friendly and welcoming. We didn't eat here so I can't comment on the food. The drinks prices are very reasonable for London and there is a lot of choice. We stayed for a few hours. It got pretty noisy towards 10pm as a live band were playing as part of the live music festival O'Neills are running at the moment so it was a little difficult to hear each other speak but it was no problem. Other than that a nice pub, I will definitely be going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice meal, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We went to O'Neill's on July 15. We had a generous helping of fish and chips that were quite tasty and at a decent price. Service was friendly and the atmosphere was nice although fairly quiet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good location, OK pub”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you're going to a gig at the O2, which is what I always am when I go to this pub, where else are you going to have a pre-show drink and bite to eat? It is about 30 yards front the theatre!
There is plenty of seating in the spacious interior but, currently, no hand drawn beers which is a shame. Service is OK and, usually, pretty quick. The menu is quite interesting with standards like fish and chips or steak and ale pie alongside more unusual choices like bison burger or wild boar and chorizo burger. My companion and I had the exotic burgers and were both quite happy with our meals without being delighted. A reasonable pub but I probably wouldn't bother other than for pre or post gig visits.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RacingAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales/great britain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Attempted visit.”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Despite many different atempts to call via telephoe (permanently engaged) a message sent on facebook, and also a post to their wall. the staff refused to respond. This lost them our business for the 14th of Feb.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank debspencardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Value pub fare”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Wanted some quick pub grub and this place fitted the bill. Simple menu, not too much choice and went for the barbecue beef burger with fries. Service was quick and food very tasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluem00ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Neill's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing