We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some have painted but could tweak it up a bit more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #957 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as bad as some have painted but could tweak it up a bit more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked this hotel within fairly tight timescales so didn't read the reviews until after I paid for the 2 nights upfront. Later, speaking on the telephone with a member of staff, I felt a little more relaxed when she told me the bad reviews related to an annexe down the road. That said, I made sure booking in and checking the room were my first port of call!

On first glance, all was okay and I felt relaxed enough to go and fulfil my day's activities. The carpet was a bit stained but the bed had clean white linen, the bath and toilet was clean and all seemed in order.

No towels though. So I mentioned it to an assistant as I was going out again. She spoke to the maid while I was there and cue everyone smiling. (They were all very friendly though none were indigenous.)

Unfortunately, when I got back much later there were no towels. But a quick call down to reception and some were promptly brought up along with a hair dryer (also asked for while on phone).

Feeling a bit tired from the travelling and day's activities I thought I'd grab something in the hotel. Unfortunately, it was either peanuts and crisps or sandwiches. All on my verboten menu.

Fine. I had had a big meal at lunch but could manage a nice glass of red wine pre-bed.

The girl looked at me as if I was speaking a foreign language. After waiting (and, it seemed, more waiting) someone else came to tell me she hadn't understood me and that there was no wine, only Becks' beer.

Great. Not. I decided to go to bed without vittels or anything to drink when another assistant said why not have a vodka and tonic?

I agreed and she brought up a rather tiny glass of vodka and tonic with no nibbles or finesse. That little added description is because that tiny glass of vodka and tonic ended up costing me £12.50!!!

And you'd think they'd have read the multiple reviews and actually bought in some red wine for non-beer drinkers!

So, the initial higher points got systematically reduced by the lack of towels and having to ask twice for them, the humongous cost of a teensy glass of vodka with or without nibble, the hairdryer conking out after it dried just the top of my head and the TV having a mind of its own.

Oh and yes, on my last night I woke to the really vile smell of someone smoking really vile cigarettes.

PS I only had the included breakfast on one day as 'continental' consisted of pastries and fruit salad (and possibly cereal). As I don't eat pastries (or cereal) that was a minute bowl of not particularly exciting fruit salad and coffee.

Seems a bit mean not to feed a guest with the things they actually CAN eat but I think the waitresses have had it drummed into them to be sparing.

Didn't bother insulting my palate on the second morning and treated myself to a delicious cooked breakfast in one of the many cafes in Westminster. At a fraction of the horrendous prices in this hotel.

PPS But at least the bed was clean and so was the bathroom and it was easy to get to my conference and back at night.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parasiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    240
    213
    215
    505
See reviews for
158
453
114
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was moved to a room in the Tophams hotel after I made a complaint about the Belgravia Mews hotel, which is under the same management and shares the reception. This is a separate review on my stay at Tophams; for Belgravia Mews please see my earlier-posted review.

After a horrible experience at Belgravia Mews, I was provided a single-bed room with shared shower and toilet. It is astonishing to have a shared shower/toilet for such a pricey room.
Bed mattress was acceptable. I was able to have some decent sleep.
The room had a TV but without a remote controller, which I didn't receive for three days (see Service section for details). The room was small but clean (at least compared to Belgravia Mews).
My room did not have a hanger at all, for which I had to call the reception.
The shower/toilet room was also clean but there was no ventilation.

Service... this was perhaps the worst part of this hotel (as also described for Belgravia Mews). The staff were unprofessional and unfriendly, except for one South (or West) Asian gentleman.
I asked for a TV remote controller because there was none in my room, but I didn't receive it until the 3rd night after complaining several times. They had twice brought controllers that doesn't work for the TV in my room before finally receiving a functioning one.
The hotel also lacked shower gel supply although I needed a refill. A staff told me on my second day that the delivery has been delayed. I never got the refill during my 5-days stay.
I also never got a new towel supply. One day I found a folded towel on my bed, but that was the old one I hung on a chair. my pajamas were always thrown on the chair, unfolded. I never had such a treatment in a hotel where bedmaking is provided.

Overall, they don't seem to care much for the comfort of customers. Astonishingly unprofessional hotel, I'd never ever come back to Tophams and Belgravia Mews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkutrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

A friend and I booked for a 2 night stay. We booked a twin room but on arrival we were told there were no twin rooms available and put In a "deluxe" double. Thankfully we know each other well, however in other circumstances this may not have been suitable. The room itself was not exactly "deluxe", the paint work was chipped and the furniture needed some attention. However it was clean and comfortable.
We had a full English both mornings which was included, it was terrible, it had obviously been cooked earlier and been left sitting out, cold rubbery toast, tasteless scrambled eggs, at £20 a massive rip off. There are plenty of places nearby which serve breakfast which I'm sure provide better value for money.
We also had afternoon tea which again carried a hefty £32 price tag! Hard bread which had been sitting out. Shop bought French fancies and dry inedible (again shop bought) scones! Go around the corner there are other hotels offering afternoon tea which certainly will be better.
The reception staff were friendly and were available to assist with any requests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vodkalemonade2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a terrible experience based on such promise! Afternoon tea promoted on the Time Out London website, reduced from £64 per couple to £26. This consisted of sitting in an empty room set up for breakfast the following day, completely inattentive service, plastic ham sandwiches, plastic cheese sandwiches, Mr Kipling French fancies, Tesco or similar tray bake, a jar of jam with a dry plain scone and zero atmosphere. We were in and out in 20 minutes, didn't even bother with the bubbly and resorted to chips in Victoria Station to fill ourselves. A complete waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TillyandBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

On Sunday 16th September a group of four from jaccede.com had afternoon tea at the hotel. we were representing a French charity working for and disabled people to help them find the places best suited to their needs. At first glance the Tophams is not obviously accessible however the staff went out or their way to help us. Sam, Kullicka and Maria helped us carry the electric wheelchair up the stairs, we were allowed to leave it in a safe area. The furniture was moved in the dining room so that it was easier for us to sit at the table, a bedroom was opened on the ground floor to give us access to a bathroom. Without their help, their sensitivity and the delicious afternoon tea, this wonderful afternoon could have turned into a nightmare. Find out more on jaccede.com and enjoy the wonderful setting of this boutique hotel for a traditional afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Please call beforehand if you require a special room for example wheelchair accessible. The staff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaccede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked this hotel through an Expedia hidden hotel deal. We were concerned after reading the reviews. However, I took a tip from another reviewer and e-mailed the hotel ahead of time, confirming our reservation and telling them we had read their reviewed and required a nice room and could not be moved to the other hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with our room on the 3rd floor. We had a cozy room, nicely decorated and then steps going down to a closet and bathroom. There were obvious water damage and was a little shabby, but otherwise was clean. The mattress was very poor, but actually slept well. It appeared that there was supposed to be a water heater because there was coffee and tea, but we did not have anything in our room to heat water with. Also, the woman at the front desk told us breakfast went until 10:30 on the weekends, but when we showed up at 10am on Saturday they told us breakfast was done already. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel by American standards. The location is excellent as we were able to walk to most of the main sights in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were quite nervous about our stay in this hotel after reading the bad reviews. However we were pleasantly suprised. Our room was really rather nice maybe a little shabby round the edges but the sheets were clean and the bed was comfy we both slept really well which is rare for me in a hotel room. Usually they are too hot and stuffy because the windows dont open and noisy, but this was quiet with good ventilation because the windows open.
When we got there after 3hrs on the Mega bus we wanted to make a cup of tea but there was no kettle, I went down to reception where the staff were lovely and accomodating and actually made us a big pot of tea and carried it to our room.
We would stay here again the reception area was very stylish and it is in a good position.
Tip: ring before you go and ask for a nice room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peache1002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#312 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#650 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#238 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,084 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#399 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing