We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But not perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #975 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly, check in was
Quick and efficient.
Room ok, little shabby but still nice.
Breakfast was a bit stingy and obviously microwaved, would not have paid £20 for it!!!! (Was Included in room rate)
Housekeeper was clearly trying to get us out the room, knocked 3 times before 11 (check out 11.30) which irritated me! We were there to relax and I felt rushed to leave.
Receptionist stored our bags for us whilst we went shopping, our coach wasn't until 6pm.
No real complaints, wouldn't pay more than £80 a night for it tho!
Room 108 (16/3/14)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Solou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on Tripadvisor.
I have noted your comment about breakfast and housekeeping, I have spoken to the head housekeeper about this and the maid should not have knocked on the door three times before 11am. We do provide 'Do not disturb' notices so as we know guests are in their rooms and will leave them alone if this is on the door.
I sincerely hope we'll have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

A few minutes from the Victoria station, this no-frills straightforward property is perfect for the traveler on the go. It is efficiently managed by knowledgeable staff who willingly gave out travel, entertainment and good eats advise. We plan to return next summer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thephantomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back next Summer.
Best regards
Sean R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was very worried about staying here after reading all the bad reviews, i even rang up and asked if these were true and if so I would like a refund. The receptionist was very honest and told me it was the twin hotel that was recieving bad reviews, she also upgraded me and my partner to a dulexue room on the bottom floor as it was my partners 23rd birthday. When we arrived 5 mins walk from Victoria Station the hotel was bright and boutique. We waited 10 mins for the room to be cleaned and when it was ready I got my partner to open the door fiest as the staff kindly went to the trpuble of getting a helium balloon, cake and candles and set it up beautifully in the stunning room! It was perfect! I can not fault the room at all, and the location is great! The only thing I would say disappointed us was the breakfast it was in our room price but I agreed with my partner we would not pay £19.95 for the full English breakfast very basic. Overall ☆☆☆☆ we will be recommending to friends and family and staying here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorpa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I will pass your comments on to the staff at the hotel.

I have noted your comments about breakfast.

Best regards
Sean R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I just want to say that booking the afternoon tea for my friends hen do in this hotel left me a bit worried when I read all the bad review but I have to disagree with the comment
The staff was extremely lovely and kind
A gentleman called Jeff in particular was so attentive and friendly and very accommodating
The champagne,food and tea was delicious and it was worth it
Maybe we got lucky but I felt I had to give at list the restaurant tea a break from the awful comment
Marina

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lasagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us on Tripadvisor. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Tophams in the very near future for Afternoon Tea.

Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I had booked a 2 night stay at this hotel through work. When I arrived on the first night after dinner, I was told there was a problem with the booking, and after some whispered conversations was told I needed to get in a taxi at my own expense to be sent to a hotel on the other side of London where I would be expected to pay £225. As a woman travelling on my own I was alarmed to be sent out into the night to an unknown destination. The hotel also stated they could not pay my taxi fare as "they didn't have any cash in the hotel". Allegedly, any cash spent in the bar is "immediately banked". The following day my work confirmed that there was no problem with the booking and that I should return for my second night's stay. My room was adequate, but the hotel was extremely noisy. I was given a complementary full English breakfast the next morning, but I wish they hadn't. Most of it was stone cold, the hash brown was stale, and I have no idea what pre-war substance the 'eggs' were made from. I have been promised a refund on the taxi fare to the alternative hotel, but it has not appeared. I can see of no reason why I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A truly dreadful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cceb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor and I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

Unfortunately we experienced some problems with our front office system giving us the wrong availability.

I have taken up your comments with our Chef about the breakfast and we have taken steps to improve this.

I was a little surprised that you found the hotel noisy, we are situated in a very very quiet area of Belgravia and have many comments about how quiet the hotel is for Central London.

The taxi fare has been refunded to your credit card and I sincerely hope we have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams in the near future.

Regards
Sean H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I bought the Time Out discount offer for afternoon tea - apparently reduced down from £60+ to £24 for two. I have no idea who would pay over £60 for this tea!! Empty, silent dining room, inedible cakes, zero atmosphere or attention from staff. Avoid at all costs. (One star for the English breakfast tea)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kazhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to wrote a review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your afternoon tea experience at the hotel, obviously business in the restaurant varies from day to day and some afternoons are busier than others which will of course affect the atmosphere.

I was a little surprised to read your comment about our home made cakes but I have spoken with our chef and passed on your remark

I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back soon on a busier day.

Regards
Sean H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I'm giving Tophams 4 stars, because when I arrived, they told me the room was not up to their standards, so they moved me to Knightsbridge Green, paid for both both nights I would have been at Tophams. Their customer service on this was actually great (can't say the same for Knightsbridge, that review will come later). I'll give Tophams another chance in the future, but I appreciate what they did to find a room for me so quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Tophams.

I am sorry we were not able to accommodate you at the hotel on this occasion and I am delighted with your positive comments about the service.

We sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Sean H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#328 of 1,077 in London
1,676 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#206 of 1,077 in London
4,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#474 of 1,077 in London
135 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#408 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing