We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a tip top experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #975 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Judging by previous reviews our experience could actually have been worse so I have awarded an extra point out of relief and gratitude for the small mercies with which we were clearly blessed.
I had stayed in Tophams a few years ago and was greatly disappointed so had not returned. Prepared to give it a second chance however, hopeful for an improvement and mainly due to the location and my budget, I booked a double room directly with the hotel, my confirmation stated that full English breakfast was included.
On arrival our welcome by the young man on reception was anything but welcoming and I really dislike this trend for hotels to take a deposit on your card, I could see no reason for it but upon checking out we noticed through the window as we left the hotel that there was a hotel bar, unfortunately the young man checking us in had not bothered to mention it's existence, shame because a nightcap in one's hotel is an enjoyable end to the day.
Our room on the top floor was fairly nicely decorated, bright and not too small. Lovely quality curtains but stained, tired lamp shades which spoilt the overall impression and the carpet had a stain. The wardrobe only contained three coat hangers but more were promptly brought upon request. The safe did not operate but I couldn't be bothered to mention it so put my trust in the staff and thankfully it was not misplaced. Iron & board are provided and a kettle which is always welcome, though a very mean offering of tea bags was given, thankfully I had a packet of my own to hand!
The mattress was horrendous! So old, with most of the springs gone, sleep was therefore almost impossible. We turned the mattress ourselves however and slept a little better on the second night, but maybe that was because we were tired from lack of sleep!
At breakfast we were informed that we were not entitled to a cooked breakfast but upon my querying this we were granted a cooked option without quibble. There is a bit of a language barrier in the restaurant so our simple breakfast order was completely mixed up; given the language difficulties & feeling sympathy for the kindly, hard-working but clearly beleaguered restaurant manager we tucked in anyway only to find it was virtually inedible, the cheapest, poorest products rendering the food tasteless and unpleasant. We didn't bother taking breakfast in the hotel the second day!
Upon entering and leaving the hotel during our stay we were never once greeted by staff which felt discourteous and didn't make us feel the hotel values it's guests or cares about them having an enjoyable stay at all.
Such a shame because Ebury Street is a charming, gracious road, the location of the hotel is marvellously convenient for Victoria Station and the Gatwick Express and the hotel itself has great potential. Give your frosty front of house staff customer service training. Give your pleasant and helpful restaurant staff a few English lessons relevant to their job. Improve the quality of breakfast food. Deep clean and decorate the rooms, buy new mattresses and you could have a great little hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagnesliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Topham’s 2 nights (12th and 13th April). The location was really good, ideal for Victoria station and only a short walk from the finish of the London marathon, which is why I chose the hotel.

After booking through superbreaks I was concerned when reading reviews on here as wanted a hassle free weekend in the city. I checked with superbreaks that we were actually booked in the hotel which they confirmed. First impressions however were positive.

Check in was quick and easy, they did however want a £50 pre authorisation on my credit card, which they said would cancel on check out (will keep an eye on that) The room was on the first floor number 101, Apart from the mould above the shower and other bits of paintwork which need touching up the room was a good size with a bathroom down some steps and along a corridor, which was also a good size.

We didn’t spend much time in the room the first day, we were straight out to register for the marathon, then back briefly for a quick shower and change before heading out for a meal and show.
When returning a good night’s sleep was had, even though the mattress wasn’t great, if you sat on the edge of the bed the mattress dug into your legs and the springs sprung! The room was quiet though even with the window open.

The next day was when the problems started with water leaking through the ceiling.
When the guests in the room above had a shower we did too. There was existing watermarks on the ceiling where the water dripped through.
We reported this to reception, which weren’t very helpful, saying the manger would be back tomorrow. We were offered another room but the reception staff never came back to us and as we only had one more night we put up with it to save moving.

No plug in bath – after running 26.2 miles I was looking forward to a soak but didn’t have the energy to ask for a plug.

Fire alarm at 7am on Monday morning, not good when you want a lie in!

Breakfast – wasn’t so good on Sunday, was cold. Monday morning it was hotter but not worth £20, we only had as was included in price.

We left, having told the reception about the leek again, and are still waiting for a call from the manager about this.
It’s a shame as it’s a nice hotel and I would stay there again if the customer service was better and attention was paid to little things which niggle that would only take a little effort to put right.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I bought a Afternoon tea for 2 voucher from Groupon last week. However i was very disappointing with the hotel and the quality. This is NOT a 4 star hotel, and the breakfast areas is really horrible and tiny, no nice or comfortable feeling at all.

The Afternoon tea was really nothing to recommend, cheap Tesco bread with cucumber and tiny biscuits. The scones were nice but what we got on out plate is definitely not the same food as they are advertising on the webpage, Save your money and go somewhere else. The waiter was polite and made sure we were okay, however the receptionist was really rude and refused to even say Hi or Bye, really bad for a "4" star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 539Tantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked on Hot wire, having had good experiences before. I will now be skeptical. We arrived late in the day, around 6pm. We had pre booked the hotel weeks in advance. Regardless we were told to wait, confused as to what was going on, we were essentially waiting for another couple to decide if they were going to take the room or not (they were short rooms). Encountering the disgruntled couple they whispered "good luck".

After the couple ahead of us caused a scene (as we would later find out was justified), we were shown to our room. We were told that there had been a flood, and they were short rooms, therefore our initial hotel room was not available.

The room was comparable to a closet. Thinking my boyfriend and I were going to have one last night in London before he went back to Canada, I quickly realised this was not going to be the case. The room was the size of the bed. The walls were cracked, the room was dirty, the paint was chipped, and on top of all that.. WE HAD NO BATHROOM. We were told we had our own "private bathroom".. which was down the hall, down a set of stairs... dirty and we quickly found out it was actually shared. We asked the front desk is they were positive no one else was using it.. and they said, "well we don't tell anyone else about it". Therefore, it was a general bathroom for whoever came across it.

The staff were far from understanding. Although we refrained from making a scene... we tried to explain to them that this was unacceptable (but we did not have time to try find another place). They were indifferent, they acted like we were crazy for thinking it was awful. The female at the front desk was actually condescending.

What was shocking to us was that there were older couples that looked quite posh who were also staying at the hotel, and did not seem bothered. So we are uncertain if we got shafted, and if perhaps they put all people who book on hot-wire in the same closet of a room.

We are lucky that we are easy going, we simply decided we had no other option, so we spent the night on the town and spent minimal time at the hotel.

Needless to say, I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel. You are better off staying in a hostel, probably a better accommodation and friendlier staff.

I have picture evidence that I would be happy to share.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked the Knightsbridge Green Hotel and, looking at their reviews, had a lucky escape! We were 'upgraded' to Tophams after arriving at Knightsbridge and being told there was a problem with a guest the night before and they didn't have any double rooms left. The receptionist took our deposit before informing us of the switch. Even better a phone call to let us know to go to the right hotel would have been appreciated, so we didn't have to drive round London on a Saturday afternoon trying to find the place and some parking - after having driven down Knightsbridge road about four times trying to find the first hotel.

The reception is nice and check in easy but rooms are damp, small and NOTHING like the photos the hotel has posted. The toilet/bathroom was minuscule (shower door was cheap and didn't shut properly so water went all over the floor), bed cheap and uncomfortable. Nothing like the four star hotel we believed we had booked.

The worst bit was undoubtedly the breakfast - £20 for a completely microwaved, tiny portion of food. Our mushrooms had been zapped for so long that they were actually smaller than our baked beans. No one asked how our food was when they took our, almost full, plates away - probably because the poor girl is used to the same responses. The waiting staff in the restaurant were very attentive although the restaurant is so small, and there were at least six staff waiting to serve you, that you felt watched whilst eating rather than being given any privacy.

Overall I would strongly advised not to stay here. I had better accommodation at university.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked through ammoma to stay on the night before the marathon. I booked a standard double with ensuite even as a single female traveller.. On arrival, eventually, I was led down the road to number 54 or 24, can't remember, to a cupboard in a basement which I declined. After a further half hour wait in reception I was given room 4 . The curtains were disgusting with bird poo on them. I stayed but will not come back. Shame as the hotel looks good and is in great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is not a hotel but a house conversion with the owners playing hotels. It is set up for tourists. The rooms are in basement! The smell of bowels and dampness were the first thing we experienced on entering the Room! The bathroom was not even finished looked like a builder had just up and left! We were right under entrance and the room was not sound proofed so it sounded like herds of elephants throughout the night. Breakfast was something else also. When we asked for the English breakfast we were told it was not included even though it clearly stated it on our booking form. We asked for coffee and they brought a thimble full at bottom of cup. There were four staff in this small restaurant which was over the top. Amateur to say the least. We are tolerant people who would normally let things go but this place was a disaster . We gave them the chance to speak to us about this but they never called. DO NOT BOTHER WITH THiS HOTEL move on and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayneleephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#328 of 1,077 in London
1,676 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#206 of 1,077 in London
4,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#474 of 1,077 in London
135 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#408 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing