We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #957 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tophams is a very good hotel, nice and cosy. My room on the first floor was refurbished and clean. And If one needs any transfer from Victoria this is the right place to stay at. Good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth_Oijermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    240
    209
    215
    502
See reviews for
157
449
114
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich,uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We were sent here as our original hotel double booked. No welcome or explanation of room location or services. Reception has ripped carpet. Rooms over several houses so a distance from the restaurant. The room was small, bed old, no bin in bathroom, toiletries not replenished. Not to be recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
One of the things we have been trying to improve is the breakfast so thank you for your note.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed at the tophams hotel for four nights and we had a wonderful staying. The room was clean with a large bed and a perfect bathroom. The bathroom had a cubicle shower and a bathtub and both the bathroom and the room were large and confortable. Breakfast was very good and we could have a lot of food of different type. The waitress were very kind. Moreover the manager Sara was always ready to meet our needs and help us everytime we need to sort any problems out.
The location is very convenient and a few minutes walk from Victoria Station which is one of the most important station in London. We absolutely recommed this four star hotel if you want to enjoy London in the best way which is possible. Alex

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights Easter 2014

Pros:
* Cheap
* In a quiet street

Cons:
Too many to mention but here are just a few:

* Paid for Full English breakfast but told we were not getting one even after supply reception with our booking confirmation printout.
* Mattress was done! Springs could be felt and heard when lying on it.
* Rooms and corridors wreaked of damp with visible damp patches on walls and carpets throughout the hotel
* No soap in the bathroom to wash your hands
* Had to phone reception and ask for towels
* Safe in the room was broken
* Half the lights in the bathroom didn't work so enjoyed showers in the dark
* Walls are paper thin.

My advice:
Pay a little extra and stay in a different hotel. This is certainly not a 4 star hotel - 2 star maybe. My wife and I are well traveled and have stayed in hotels from 5 star to total dumps. Any hotel that provides a mattress with broken springs should not be in business.

Room Tip: "help travellers choose a good room"... ...try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed here two nights on business, and nowhere in the booking I made was it advertised that my single room would have no bathroom. Apparently this was shared with one other person, but there were at least 3 people using it, menaing a couple of times in the morning and at night I had to queue to use it - really not what I wanted.

Other negative points about the room:

- Far too hot, meaning the aircon had to be constantly switched on.
- TV remote did not work
- Some old plaster wrappings were in the bedside draw, so this place is not cleaned particularly well.
- Room had teabags and coffee, BUT NO KETTLE! I actually played a game of 'hunt the kettle', going through every drawer and cupboard, as I couldn't believe one wasn't supplied!
-

I stay in a lot of hotels around the Victoria/Pimlico area, and even the grottiest, shabbiest ones will have an ensuite bathroom. At £117 a night, this hotel is hugely overpriced in comparison to some of its competition, and the illusion give nin the lobby that this place is posh couldn't be further from the truth.

I would advise all budget-conscious travellers staying in this area to look at the excellent Z Hotel around the corner, or even the Comfort Inn, where you at least get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Judging by previous reviews our experience could actually have been worse so I have awarded an extra point out of relief and gratitude for the small mercies with which we were clearly blessed.
I had stayed in Tophams a few years ago and was greatly disappointed so had not returned. Prepared to give it a second chance however, hopeful for an improvement and mainly due to the location and my budget, I booked a double room directly with the hotel, my confirmation stated that full English breakfast was included.
On arrival our welcome by the young man on reception was anything but welcoming and I really dislike this trend for hotels to take a deposit on your card, I could see no reason for it but upon checking out we noticed through the window as we left the hotel that there was a hotel bar, unfortunately the young man checking us in had not bothered to mention it's existence, shame because a nightcap in one's hotel is an enjoyable end to the day.
Our room on the top floor was fairly nicely decorated, bright and not too small. Lovely quality curtains but stained, tired lamp shades which spoilt the overall impression and the carpet had a stain. The wardrobe only contained three coat hangers but more were promptly brought upon request. The safe did not operate but I couldn't be bothered to mention it so put my trust in the staff and thankfully it was not misplaced. Iron & board are provided and a kettle which is always welcome, though a very mean offering of tea bags was given, thankfully I had a packet of my own to hand!
The mattress was horrendous! So old, with most of the springs gone, sleep was therefore almost impossible. We turned the mattress ourselves however and slept a little better on the second night, but maybe that was because we were tired from lack of sleep!
At breakfast we were informed that we were not entitled to a cooked breakfast but upon my querying this we were granted a cooked option without quibble. There is a bit of a language barrier in the restaurant so our simple breakfast order was completely mixed up; given the language difficulties & feeling sympathy for the kindly, hard-working but clearly beleaguered restaurant manager we tucked in anyway only to find it was virtually inedible, the cheapest, poorest products rendering the food tasteless and unpleasant. We didn't bother taking breakfast in the hotel the second day!
Upon entering and leaving the hotel during our stay we were never once greeted by staff which felt discourteous and didn't make us feel the hotel values it's guests or cares about them having an enjoyable stay at all.
Such a shame because Ebury Street is a charming, gracious road, the location of the hotel is marvellously convenient for Victoria Station and the Gatwick Express and the hotel itself has great potential. Give your frosty front of house staff customer service training. Give your pleasant and helpful restaurant staff a few English lessons relevant to their job. Improve the quality of breakfast food. Deep clean and decorate the rooms, buy new mattresses and you could have a great little hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnesliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Topham’s 2 nights (12th and 13th April). The location was really good, ideal for Victoria station and only a short walk from the finish of the London marathon, which is why I chose the hotel.

After booking through superbreaks I was concerned when reading reviews on here as wanted a hassle free weekend in the city. I checked with superbreaks that we were actually booked in the hotel which they confirmed. First impressions however were positive.

Check in was quick and easy, they did however want a £50 pre authorisation on my credit card, which they said would cancel on check out (will keep an eye on that) The room was on the first floor number 101, Apart from the mould above the shower and other bits of paintwork which need touching up the room was a good size with a bathroom down some steps and along a corridor, which was also a good size.

We didn’t spend much time in the room the first day, we were straight out to register for the marathon, then back briefly for a quick shower and change before heading out for a meal and show.
When returning a good night’s sleep was had, even though the mattress wasn’t great, if you sat on the edge of the bed the mattress dug into your legs and the springs sprung! The room was quiet though even with the window open.

The next day was when the problems started with water leaking through the ceiling.
When the guests in the room above had a shower we did too. There was existing watermarks on the ceiling where the water dripped through.
We reported this to reception, which weren’t very helpful, saying the manger would be back tomorrow. We were offered another room but the reception staff never came back to us and as we only had one more night we put up with it to save moving.

No plug in bath – after running 26.2 miles I was looking forward to a soak but didn’t have the energy to ask for a plug.

Fire alarm at 7am on Monday morning, not good when you want a lie in!

Breakfast – wasn’t so good on Sunday, was cold. Monday morning it was hotter but not worth £20, we only had as was included in price.

We left, having told the reception about the leek again, and are still waiting for a call from the manager about this.
It’s a shame as it’s a nice hotel and I would stay there again if the customer service was better and attention was paid to little things which niggle that would only take a little effort to put right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merlot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are addressing as a matter of urgency the points you have raised.
Rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#316 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#231 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#653 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#491 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#181 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing