We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for those sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #948 of 1,068 Hotels in London
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location for those sightseeing”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival there was a few things not in the room which should of been. After speaking to the reception she apologise for the inconvenience and sent a chap straight up with them. The room was fairly clean and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We went for the queen's garden party which is a 5min walk from the hotel no need to pay for taxi's all attractions within easy walking distance the longest walk for us was the london eye (25mins) would recommend this hotel if we return to London in the future this is where we'll stay. Thanks;-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sutton02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    243
    220
    217
    519
See reviews for
165
464
118
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

very clean and comfortable room, good breakfast, kind staff , all in order...and the location was excellent for going around, near to Victoria station, we have been going to the most important sites we wanted to visit in the easiest way, so I would recommend for a tour of central London, Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate we can do better and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I choose this hotel for a business trip. I liked the location. I was naturally aware of the
poor reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived early morning and was greeted by
a very professional gentleman. I was tired after a long journey.
I was later informed he was the general manager.
I was offered coffee and a croissant. This was so welcoming and a nice touch.

I was promised my room would be ready as soon as possible, I got my room inside one
hour. This made my day as I could go my meeting all fresh.
I arrived back late evening. I was assigned a room on the third floor.
The only issue was the poor mattress, everything else was good.
I noticed it was freshly painted. This hotel has improved a lot since last year
as a friend had a bad stay.
I would recommend people to give it a try as reviews can be misleading.
Undoubtably, my first impression wowed me.

q

Room Tip: Request a room on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights recently. We booked before reading the terrible reviews, and were understandably a little worried (we booked through a travel site and it was non-refundable). Luckily our experience did not match any of the negative reviews. Our room was small but clean and well-decorated. The staff was pleasant enough, but I don't recommend the breakfast. The "Continental breakfast" was wayyy overpriced (I believe it was included in our room price though) and consisted of toast, corn flakes, and tea/juice. Not really worth it, especially if you are paying. There are plenty of places nearby to get a cheaper/better breakfast.

The only odd/negative thing: I believe the maid stole my deodorant (?!). It wasn't difficult to get more but... that was a little strange, and it meant that someone was poking through my cosmetics bag. Not cool. I didn't bother complaining to the staff, but it's worth noting. If you stay here, lock away your belongings (nothing else of mine went missing). Overall, though, it was a good experience and I recommend this hotel if you can't find a better option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juevosverdesyjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I have taken on board your comments about breakfast and will ensure we try to provide value for money.
I was disturbed to read about your deodorant going missing, we have a stable team in housekeeping that have been with us for many years and we do not get incidents such as this, I will speak to the hotel Head Housekeeper.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My dad booked this hotel for a special treat for my mother and I as we were making a trip to the Chelsea Flower Show. As it was for a special occasion, he booked the hotel through a reputable local travel agent who recommended the hotel and booked it as part of a Superbreak! They clearly don't do their research. I wish I had looked at Trip Advisor before I went. The hotel has had a very basic cosmetic overhaul but is still damp, cramped and dirty. The overpowering smell of air fresheners as you enter is a clue to what lies behind the cheaply tarted up entrance area. Our "twin" room was a double with a fold up bed. On querying whether we had been sent to the correct room, we were informed that there were no twin rooms at this hotel!! Luckily I didn't mind sharing a bed with my mother but this would not have been acceptable to many travelers and was not what we had booked. The room was like a rabbit warren with clean sheets and filthy carpets.
We had a free afternoon tea as part of our Superbreak and really if it had not been free I would not have paid for it. Very basic sandwiches that has clearly been sitting around before being served plus defrosting Iceland cakes and an ok scone, £19?
Breakfast was similar quality, poor and the breakfast room was so hot even in May that it was virtually unbearable to eat in. Every guest seemed to be in dispute with the staff over whether their breakfast was included. I felt sorry for the young mainly Eastern European staff who were dealing with unhappy guests in their second language.
People should be warned not to stay here. £18 a night would be a reasonable price for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmasM462NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams so it is good to receive your constructive criticism.
We are currently refurbishing a number of rooms at the hotel.
We would welcome an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved, please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings and I will take care of things personally.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

East Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our doubleroom - 4ft bed pushed against the corner, polycotton sheets, no mattress cover, heavily stained bedthrow, broken furniture, peeling paint/damp & worse + miserable staff - all that glitters.!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival the receptionist looked moody and refused to smile. The reception area is decorated nicely though. The room had mould on the ceiling and cracks down the wall and across the skirting board. The ventilation cover fell off whilst we nipped out - exposing the fact it was held on by blu tac. The cold tap didn't work - it was only hot. I was shocked the room was in such a state seeing as though it cost a couple of hundred to stay and we were in a nice area of London. Atleast the bed was comfy and that's the most important part!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I have recently started at the hotel and we are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at Tophams so it is good to receive your constructive criticism.
We are currently refurbishing a number of rooms at the hotel.
I am very glad you found your bed comfortable.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate that things have improved, please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings and I will take care of things personally.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,068 in London
1,580 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#683 of 1,068 in London
965 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#239 of 1,068 in London
4,291 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#191 of 1,068 in London
3,982 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#402 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing