We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Worth the money, rude and dishonnest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #949 of 1,069 Hotels in London
2 reviews
“No Worth the money, rude and dishonnest”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed there on the 06/05/2014 for one night and I am so glad I did not have to stay any longer.
I paid for continental breakfast ( £15.95 ), an expansive one at that price. The waitress asked what would I like for breakfast, hard boiled egg, fruit salad or ham an cheese.

I asked for ham and cheese and was absolutely godsmacked when the waitress put a single slice of cheddar and a single slice of the cheapest ham there could be. The square slice of ham would not be given to an animal by any decent person. I cannot believe at the price this hotel charge that they cannot provide quality food.

When checking out I was asked if I used the mini bar which I had. I was again astonished at the price. 3 cans of soft drinks and a kitkat £14. You could say I did not have to use the mini bar but having worked late that night I didnt fancy going shopping. I pointed to the receptionist that the price was steep and no price list was in my bedroom as if I had seen the prices I would not have bothered. The receptionist did not offer any apologies for the lack of price list and frankly could not care.

If you are going to stay in a London hotel I would avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was very disappointed to read your comments, breakfast was not up to the standard it should have been and there should have been a price list for the mini-bar in your room.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate we can do better and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    243
    220
    217
    521
See reviews for
165
466
118
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we arrived thinking that the hotel was going to be wonderful, but looks can be very deceiving. the Chinese lady (receptionist) didn`t give us the impression that we were welcome. We had booked through Expedia and was told by the lady that we were to have continental breakfast, she was told that we had booked "full English breakfast" and that I had the paperwork to prove it, she said that the contract had changed with Expedia but I stuck to my guns. The room that we were given was next to the lift, it was hardly any daylight in the room. The safe was bolted to the floor, we had to be or knees to get to this but there was no combination, we had to get a "key" from the reception desk. The bathroom looked clean, until we looked closer, there were loose tiles on the floor, the shower head was covered in limescale as was the bath drain, the towels were dirty. I cut my finger on the "handle" of the dressing table. We were wakened at 1.50 in the morning with females running along the corridor outside, it felt like we were in a school dormitory. But to top all this off was the locking of the bedroom door. When we left the room, we closed the door and as usual we always try the handle just to make sure it is locked, but NO the door opened again, after trying a few things we managed to get the door locked and we left for some sightseeing. When we came back to the room, someone had been in the room as the door was NOT secure. I did report this to the housekeeper, but she told me(in broken English) that the door was fine, I argued the point that it wasn`t and eventually we got the door to lock, the next day the same thing happened. Bottom line, at no point did we feel secure in this hotel and would never return again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feefaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was very disappointed to read your comments and you did not have the experience you should have had. We failed you on many many levels.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate we can do better and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

the rooms are very run down
the receptionist woman (CHINA ORIGIN) is RUDE, questioning our every move! I thought I found myself in a a triad's household being questioned!
what's in your luggage
where are you going
breakfast - hotel is obviously maximising cost and lowering the quality = result POOR QUALITY breakfast
overall horrible experience and NEVER EVER again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was very disappointed to read your comments I have spoken to the receptionist you mentioned in your report and reminded her that the highest standard of care and attention is expected at the hotel
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate we can do better and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival there was a few things not in the room which should of been. After speaking to the reception she apologise for the inconvenience and sent a chap straight up with them. The room was fairly clean and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We went for the queen's garden party which is a 5min walk from the hotel no need to pay for taxi's all attractions within easy walking distance the longest walk for us was the london eye (25mins) would recommend this hotel if we return to London in the future this is where we'll stay. Thanks;-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sutton02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

very clean and comfortable room, good breakfast, kind staff , all in order...and the location was excellent for going around, near to Victoria station, we have been going to the most important sites we wanted to visit in the easiest way, so I would recommend for a tour of central London, Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams to demonstrate we can do better and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I choose this hotel for a business trip. I liked the location. I was naturally aware of the
poor reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived early morning and was greeted by
a very professional gentleman. I was tired after a long journey.
I was later informed he was the general manager.
I was offered coffee and a croissant. This was so welcoming and a nice touch.

I was promised my room would be ready as soon as possible, I got my room inside one
hour. This made my day as I could go my meeting all fresh.
I arrived back late evening. I was assigned a room on the third floor.
The only issue was the poor mattress, everything else was good.
I noticed it was freshly painted. This hotel has improved a lot since last year
as a friend had a bad stay.
I would recommend people to give it a try as reviews can be misleading.
Undoubtably, my first impression wowed me.

q

Room Tip: Request a room on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights recently. We booked before reading the terrible reviews, and were understandably a little worried (we booked through a travel site and it was non-refundable). Luckily our experience did not match any of the negative reviews. Our room was small but clean and well-decorated. The staff was pleasant enough, but I don't recommend the breakfast. The "Continental breakfast" was wayyy overpriced (I believe it was included in our room price though) and consisted of toast, corn flakes, and tea/juice. Not really worth it, especially if you are paying. There are plenty of places nearby to get a cheaper/better breakfast.

The only odd/negative thing: I believe the maid stole my deodorant (?!). It wasn't difficult to get more but... that was a little strange, and it meant that someone was poking through my cosmetics bag. Not cool. I didn't bother complaining to the staff, but it's worth noting. If you stay here, lock away your belongings (nothing else of mine went missing). Overall, though, it was a good experience and I recommend this hotel if you can't find a better option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juevosverdesyjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your positive comments.
I have taken on board your comments about breakfast and will ensure we try to provide value for money.
I was disturbed to read about your deodorant going missing, we have a stable team in housekeeping that have been with us for many years and we do not get incidents such as this, I will speak to the hotel Head Housekeeper.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,069 in London
1,585 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#680 of 1,069 in London
968 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#239 of 1,069 in London
4,296 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,069 in London
3,994 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#403 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing