We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #958 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was very worried at first after reading the bad comments, the hotel was lovely, the staff are so friendly and ensured our stay was pleasant, but would suggest to change the pillows a bit uncomfortable otherwise breakfast was good but could be better, staff in the restaurant where fantastic, keep up the good work. Differently will come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu196112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    240
    209
    215
    504
See reviews for
157
450
114
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Arriving after midnight at the pre booked hotel we found a very pleasant receptionist, who was polite and friendly, as we were booking in a very drunk man who was being exceptionally rude was butting in and demanding attention, obviously trying to bully the female receptionist, she dealt with him in a very firm and professional manner. Our room had been reserved and was on the ground floor, the room was tastefully decorated, plenty big enough, comfortable and clean and tidy. The bathroom also clean, with hot and cold water had a seperate bath and shower, and was of a very good size. The air conditioning was a godsend as it has been very hot and humid and we, d had a long day. Continental breakfast was beautifully presented, and the waitresses were lovely.

After reading some of these other reviews I'm left wondering what hotel they ve been staying at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tophams is all about location, location, location - convenient for central London and a two minute walk to Victoria Station.

Thanks to fellow Trip Advisors I made darn sure I was in the main building. Luckily I was given 109 on the first floor at the back of the building. For a London budget hotel the room size was okay, the bed was comfortable and it was wonderfully quiet at night. And the big plus was that in London's current heat wave the room was air-conditioned. There was a fridge big enough to store the odd bottle of water plus tea and coffee making facilities.

Okay so there's a crack in the floor tile and the carpet is stained..... the rest of the room was fine and nicely decorated.... I paid £133 a night and for London I've paid more and got less. So I was all for giving Tophams a four star review until the next morning when I came to turn on the shower.... It was a separate shower unlike many other hotels where the shower is over the bath. But only hot water came out of one of the taps and the cold water tap didn't work at all, despite may turning it on full...... So in the manner of a Fawlty Towers sketch I had to run backwards and forwards between the boiling hot shower and cold bath.....

The other Fawltyish aspect to my stay was that when I came back to the hotel in the evening a fellow guest was berating the reception staff for something and it didn't seem to be going in the guest's favour. I don't blame the staff for any of this. They're doing a job to the best of their ability. This is a profit making venture and customer service can't be the owner's priority.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turnerpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had a very good stay i did enjoy it but the only problem its that GM guy he got a bad attitude and no respect for his guests, and thx to the assistant manager lady she was always ready to help with a smile and the restaurant girls, was a good hotel with a good location , merci bien et à la prochaine fois.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward19703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Bad welcome at reception, sordid room in a separate building to the main hotel, no amenities and rated 4*? Really? I am a Brit living abroad and felt ashamed to know that tourists coming to visit London would go through the experience I had there a few weeks ago. As a woman travelling alone, I felt unsafe and very angry to have to put up with such poor service in the UK. please do NOT book a room here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wishyouwerehere_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I will say differently ignore the bad reviews, lovely hotel, staff are so nice, especially Rosie and Sarah who always have a smile on their faces and where helpful at all times, breakfast was lovely and the girls in the restaurant are every pleasant. I would say the Hotel needs a bit more improvements, once this is done it would be a fantastic Hotel. Will differently come back..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONEYB536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hi,

This was the worst hotel experience that I have had in London; first and the last time that we use this hotel, I would not recommentd anyone to stay there.

I travel to London for business several times durning the year and tend to stay in hotels near Victoria Station, we decided to try the Tophams as we had walked pass it before and it looked nice from outside; it turned out to be a huge mistake.

A colleage from work and I arrived at the hotel around 11:00 am; we had each booked and paid over a month in advance for a double room with bathroom, it was too early to check-in, so we left our bags, went for a few meetings and came back at 4:30 pm. When we arrived the hotel staff took a £50 each security deposit and took us to see the rooms to choose from... the first set of rooms look more like a dorm room with a tiny bathroom to be shared, and the second option was a bigger family room for the two of us to share with a bed upstairs. Obviously we were not impressed and ask for what we had paid for, but they were fully booked and said that did not have more rooms available.

Then they offered to send us to another hotel with more rooms available, we understand that mistakes can happen and accepted, so we were sent in a taxi to another hotel that I won't name as I'm not 100% sure if it is the same management. We arrived in the other hotel to find out that they only had one room with two single beds and a sofa bed that we could take. We found disgusting that they would do that to us, when we had been understanding. We didn't accept the offer and asked them to speak with the manager of the Topham, and to say that we wanted our money back, that we would try to find another hotel. The manager of the Tophams mentioned that they have found us individual rooms with bathrooms, so we went back again.

Back in the Tophams they took us to a sister property 50 meters away from the Tophams called Eaton Square Hotel, the rooms that they had for us were disgusting tiny single rooms with extremely small bathrooms that were also disgusting, one of the bedrooms toilet was outside the room, there was no wi-fi, no telephone, the TV was not working, there wasn't a pillow in one of the rooms, so had to request separately.

By this time it was after 7 pm and we had a dinner meeting that we had schedules, so we had no choice but take what we were given. Definetly not what we had been sold at the booking when we paid almost 200 pounds each in advance.

Also needs to be said that there was quite a few people apart from us, experiencing the same problem on the same day; they seem to be over selling their rooms and almost forcing you to take rooms that are not really what you pay for; we will try to get some of our money back, but let's see how it goes. If we do, I will update this review.

Thanks,

Room Tip: Just find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#235 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#662 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#487 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#398 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing