We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in good location”
Review of Harlingford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harlingford Hotel
Ranked #554 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Harlingford for one night. We knew in advance that rooms would not be big but when you only need to stay for one night you don't need a huge room. It had everything we needed - it was clean, freshly decorated by the looks of things and was very comfortable. Our room was on the first floor overlookuing the road but there was no traffic noise and the only disturbance was from the inconsiderate people in the next room who decided to have a loud and prolonged conversation from 6 in the morning until at least 8.
Breakfast was really good with an excellent choice and friendly service.
We will definitely book again when we need a night in London - the hotel is only about 5 minutes walk from Euston and 10 minutes from St Pancras and Kings Cross.
It is a shame when others are so damning about the hotel - it is a very good, family run and independent hotel and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel has the feel of a dingy youth hostel. The rooms are tiny, shabby, and uncomfortable. The staff treat the hotel guests with suspicion and hostility. If you stay here for more than one night, you'll find yourself wishing to be somewhere cleaner, friendlier, and with a place to sit down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samnoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingford, Manager at Harlingford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

This is such a strange review and so bizarre it should have raised a red flag when being presented. It seems hell hath no fury and the truth is expendable when someone is caught trying to defraud a hotel.
It has been fabricated by someone who wants to harm the hotel but not tell WHY there was suspicion by the staff, there is a reason for this so here is the truth..
The guest in question stayed 4 days last week but on the first night had her bag stolen at a restaurant, with the help of the hotel staff the police were contacted and every effort made to help her, even giving the police breakfast - no doughnuts though! - when they came to interview her. We also gave a new set of keys for free, normally if a guest loses a set of keys we have to charge for replacement as they are security keys and expensive to have made, but we were sympathetic. For 3 days she went out to restaurants, shopping, sightseeing etc but at the end of her stay when asked to pay for the small amount of telephone charges of approx 15 dollars she refused, citing no money, her bag had been stolen and she was so poor, when asked why she couldn't get some money off her 2 friends or use her Amex card, or why not call to get a replacement - a few weeks before a man had his wallet stolen on the tube, next day he had a replacement delivered to the hotel by UPS - but multiple excuses were given. Her lips moved but not an iota of truth came out, it was clear to the staff that she was determined not to pay her bill. So YES there was suspicion that a deception was taking place and that this person was dishonestly trying to avoid a legitimate charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Found the hotel on Late Rooms and was sceptical as was half price of any other hotel in close proximity to Euston. If all you need is a bed in comfortable surrounds and good location and don't want to spend over £100 this is ideal and would recommend!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank ahb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Location is good, but the rooms are quite unimpressive. They look more like dorm rooms, sparse in décor and very depressing. Bed was not comfortable, with a tacky lime green shiny comforter. Thankfully, we only spent one night, any longer would not have been pleasant,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mssqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Harlingford last summer. In spite of its being well located, we found the reception desk staff (actually, one person in particular) to be extraordinarily rude. At check-in, she was belligerent in insisting that we pay for the entire stay in advance. Although we were prepared to do so, her attitude implied that we were refusing to pay. On another occasion, she berated me for having given the room key to the cleaning woman, even though the cleaning woman was the only person at the reception counter when we were leaving and she offered to take the key. After that, we just decided to have nothing more to do with this person. The ground floor room itself was substandard--very cramped and uncomfortable--although the bathroom was okay. Breakfast and the serving staff were fine.

Room Tip: Request a "superior" room. The basic rooms (at least on the ground floor) are inadequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PanamaCityCurtimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingford, Manager at Harlingford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

I remember these people very well and can confirm they did stay with us last year, however, I must point out that the probable reason it has taken them so long to write a review is because I have refused to accept them again this year.
The simple reason for this is that they had used some pretty strong insulting language to my staff and bad behaviour throughout an entire week. It became so bad that I had to tell them that they mustn't talk to my staff in such a manner, in fact that they should not talk to anyone like that.
We know from past experience that some travellers arriving after overnight flights are tired and a little irritable but our payment on arrival policy is clearly written on the confirmation.
I, and others I know who have travelled to the US and every hotel required payment on arrival, so no one could understand their problem and argument.
The short version is that they argued too aggressively and were rebuked for it, unfortunately their anger appears to have resurfaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Although some rooms very small they are always clean and tidy and the beds comfortable. Breakfast is freshly cooked and very tasty. Staff, especially reception staff are very helpful. I Keep on going back so it must be good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have stayed here twice now, and have enjoyed it on both occasions. It is convenient for Euston, St Pancreas and King's Cross, and within easy walking distance of the British Museum. The location is surprisingly quiet for central London. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the showers are smallish but adequate. There is no lift, which is not a problem for us, but would be difficult if you were infirm. The staff in reception and at breakfast are charming. Andrew the owner is very friendly, and there is a lovely tortoiseshell cat who haunts the lounge. The breakfasts are hot and plentiful, and much better than you get in chain hotels. I would recommend it!

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the front overlooking Cartwright Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosemarie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#444 of 1,077 in London
739 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#534 of 1,077 in London
346 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#533 of 1,077 in London
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#570 of 1,077 in London
588 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#79 of 1,077 in London
1,829 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,077 in London
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlingford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlingford Hotel

Address: 61-63 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#164 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £91 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harlingford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Harlingford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlingford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing