We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to london”
Review of Jenkins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jenkins Hotel
Ranked #808 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Lancaster,Pa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trip to london”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very nice 4 adult room. Decent breakfast included. Walking distance to Euston station and Kings cross station. Also close to 3 tube stops. Our favorite hotel on our two week trip to the UK. The staff was very nice. Please do keep in mind that this is a city and you will have some noise. We stayed here in April so it was quiet. I would book here if I were to go back to London. Very nice! Staff very accommodating. Put our luggage in a closet for us as we were there early.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a pull out sofa bed and a double. Not the Ritz but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pzooch50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    49
    43
    33
    32
See reviews for
24
53
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely clean and modernly decorated hotel but the size of the room was disappointing. Nowhere to sit apart from the bed, and only the top of a bedside table as a surface to place cups etc. Window wouldn't open either and it was tucked around the side of the room so the felt a little claustrophobic. Couldn't fault the hospitality though, with reception staff and waiter service during breakfast exceptional. Breakfast average but served its purpose. Nice quiet location only 10 mins or so from Kings Cross station and there is Russel Street Underground at the end of the street too. Very close to shops and restaurants. Check out is 11.00am and our train wasnt until 8.00pm that evening but leaving our case with reception was not a problem. Very accommodating!

Room Tip: If you only want the room to sleep in they are fine, but space is very limited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinesuperchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

For arguments sake its ok if what you want is a good location for Euston etc.
The rooms are clean and done to a high standard. However, our room (lower ground) had its window jammed open, we were not able to shut it as there was some kind of safety lock, so I froze most the night.
Breakfast was average, sausage, bacon, undercooked eggs, beans and tomatoes- cereal choice of cheap cornflakes and oats. Yoghurts were a nice addition though.
Staff were pleasant and it was tidy. However, Internet sites need to state that this hotel isn't disabled friendly at all.

As I said, its ok for a cheap hotel, just needs a few tweaks to various things.
would return if at lower cost, there are more value for money hotels out there for lower prices at better standards further away from Euston.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabiiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caersws, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just a five minute walk from London Euston, this hotel couldn't have been more convenient. We arrived early and although our room wasn't ready, we were able to leave our luggage at The Judd Hotel just across the road without any problem at all. Staff were very friendly and went about their business with the utmost courtesy and efficiency. On our return later in the day, we checked in, again at The Judd, and collected our luggage and room keys. I was delighted with our room which was spotlessly clean and very spacious with a sitting room type feel about it. I felt immediately relaxed. My husband was also 'at home' in a very short space of time having dropped his bags, and stretching out on the large double bed proceeded to take control of the TV! I was able to make myself a coffee whilst I unpacked. The two full-length windows of our room overlooked an area of park where there appeared to be a game of tennis in progress as the weather was so fine. Breakfast was also served across the road and downstairs in The Judd Hotel but as it's only a few steps away, it mattered not. A self-serve full English breakfast was on offer as well as the usual cereal/toast/yoghurt/fruit with tea/coffee being served at the table. We left the hanger on the door when we left on the second day to ask for our room to be serviced, and sure enough, on our return our room was in pristine condition once again. We would have no hesitation going back. Well done everybody at The Jenkins and The Judd. Just a couple of observations. As the hair dryer was on one side of the bathroom door and the mirror on the other with the cable being not long enough to reach across, a small mirror above the hair dryer would make a big difference. I was able to use my travel mirror but it then slipped onto the floor and the casing broke. The other thing is that because our room was at street level and the beautiful windows overlook the pavement, we would have benefited from a voile/net panel on the bottom half of the windows just to save our modesty. The weather was so lovely, that we wanted the curtains and the windows open but it did leave us a little exposed.

Room Tip: Our room G04 in The Jenkins was a treat. Although in close proximity to Euston, the location has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed here last minute. I looked for the cheapest hotel close to Euston, where I could have my own bathroom in the room and this was it. Yes the room was tiny, but all I needed was a bed for the night. It was very clean, new bedding, lots of toiletries, breakfast was ok. And the receptionist was a lovely chap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful. I was put in a lower ground room where a very loud and consistent buzzing from outside which I can only assume was an extractor system or generator. I tried to call reception, but it was constantly engaged. Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jobob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Theatre trip and booked on line - good clean hotel , when you can get in they have a reception in neighbouring hotel Judd . Rooms are new and overall very good. Would go back again as very close to Covent garden . Nice restaurants bear by good choice.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happy1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#912 of 1,069 in London
150 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#422 of 1,069 in London
718 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#541 of 1,069 in London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#653 of 1,069 in London
2,171 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
567 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenkins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenkins Hotel

Property: Jenkins Hotel
Address: 45 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jenkins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jenkins is a more traditional English B&B: an episode of Poirot was filmed here. Nevertheless, this Georgian townhouse has a pleasingly informal feel...(timeout) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Jenkins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenkins Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing